• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

The Book of Zogross Hardscale

Taeblewalker

Will Ultimately Face the Evil Black Dragon
Site Supporter
The Book of Zogross Hardscale



C3V Wave 1 – "Thormun's Reprieve"



zogross_hardscale___master_original.jpg

TRIBAL PROTECTION
An opponent's figure that is engaged to one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar may not attack Zogross Hardscale.

OPPORTUNITY STRIKE 15
If an opponent's figure that is engaged with Zogross Hardscale targets any other figure you control with a normal attack, roll the 20-sided die. If you roll a 15 or higher, no dice are rolled for this attack, no defense dice are rolled, and the attacking figure receives one wound.


The figure used for this unit is Lizardfolk Rogue figure from the D&D Giants of Legend set. Its model number and name is #35 Lizardfolk Rogue.


The PDF for this card can be downloaded here:​


_________________________________________________________________​

Character Bio:
Spoiler Alert!
Spoiler Alert!
Spoiler Alert!


_____________________________________________________________


-Rulings and Clarifications-
  • Q: If a figure adjacent to Zogross Hardscale is attacked by a unit that can hit multiple targets (i.e., Deathwalker 9000's Explosion Special Attack or Othkurik's Acid Splash Special Attack), can Zogross be affected?
    A: Yes! If, for example, an Armoc Viper adjacent to Zogross Hardscale is attacked by Othkurik's Acid Spray Special Attack, the player controlling Othkurik may in fact choose Zogross Hardscale as a secondary target. Zogross simply can't be the primary target of such an attack.

    _________________________________________________________________
-Combinations and Synergies-



Synergy Benefits Received
  • - ACOLARH : Ullar’s Amulet
    As a follower of Ullar, Zogross Hardscale may benefit form Acolarh’s ULLAR’S AMULET movement bonus
    - ARMOC VIPERS : Ullar Warlord Bonding

    As a Warlord that follows Ullar, Zogross Hardscale may benefit from Armoc Vipers’ ULLAR WARLORD BONDING activation bonus.
    - GREENSCALE WARRIORS : Loyalty to the Lizard King and Lizard King Bonding
    As a Unique Lizardfolk Hero, Zogross Hardscale may be chosen as a Lizard King and may benefit from Greenscale Warriors' LIZARD KING BONDING activation bonus

    - ROMAN LEGIONNAIRES : Warlord Bonding
    As a Warlord, Zogross Hardcale may benefit from Roman Legionnaires’ WARLORD BONDING activation bonus
Synergy Benefits Offered





-TRIBAL PROTECTION: Warriors and Protectors who follow Ullar
  • *Armoc Vipers
    *Atlaga
    *Greenscale Warriors
    *Jotun
    *Protectors of Ullar
    *Saylind the Kyrie Warrior
    *Warriors of Ashra
-OPPORTUNITY STRIKE: All units you control

_________________________________________________________________









-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
  • N/A
-Heroscapers Community Contributions-
Power Ranking and Master Index
Zogross Hardscale - A tough and effective Lizard King, but doesn't bring quite as much to the table as the big dragons. B
Unit Strategy Review
- TBA

zogross_original.jpg

 
Very good work on this and the other two revealed today! I'm very much looking forward to using Zogross; I get the feeling that my Armocs and Protectors of Ullar will have the dust knocked off of them very soon!

As a simple, themed army, how about:

Zogross 120
Armocs x4 380
Awasome 500 / 14

Or, for a slightly thicker army:

Zogross 120
GSW x4 360
Aubrien Archers x2 500 / 19

Wave 14 is going to be fun! Keep up the great work folks!
 
I really like how much Zogross ties together Ullar. Between Zogross and Mittens, every squad besides the Shaolin Monks (they have Woo) has a bonus. He seems like a great addition to classic 'scape.

Also, Atlaga the Kyrie Warrior is a Warrior and should be listed under Tribal Protection.
 
I take it this guy can still be affected by splash damage from area effect special attacks even if the attacker is adjacent to a protector etc..?
 
I take it this guy can still be affected by splash damage from area effect special attacks even if the attacker is adjacent to a protector etc..?
Since they aren't attacking him directly, yes he can be affected by the attack, just not directly attacked with it.

EDIT:
Ninja'd
 
I take it this guy can still be affected by splash damage from area effect special attacks even if the attacker is adjacent to a protector etc..?
Yep, he just can't be the target for an attack in that case.
 
Yup, they just can't attack Zogross directly (i.e. target/select him).
Hmm. Yeah I think that pushes the terminology a tad but I get it. Cool custom.
IMO, this should be in the Rules/Clarifications portion of the OP. It could come up quite a bit in games and such.

Other than that, he looks great! Nice job C3V!
I just think it is odd tosay that a figure cannot be attacked and yet he can be affected by an attack. It's like saying that because I had a flu shot, I am protected against the flu.... Unless the flu comes to me by way of a sneeze in which case I am not protected.
 
Yeah, it's an odd case, though, of course, there are few times when this is actually possible. Only a handful of Special Attacks can bypass this power in any way.

The goal is to avoid being able to purposefully target him. Collateral damage is tougher to control (and much more rare).

Thanks noting the possibility, GBob, and I agree that we should add a note in the Clarifications section.
 
Yup, they just can't attack Zogross directly (i.e. target/select him).
Hmm. Yeah I think that pushes the terminology a tad but I get it. Cool custom.
IMO, this should be in the Rules/Clarifications portion of the OP. It could come up quite a bit in games and such.

Other than that, he looks great! Nice job C3V!
I just think it is odd tosay that a figure cannot be attacked and yet he can be affected by an attack. It's like saying that because I had a flu shot, I am protected against the flu.... Unless the flu comes to me by way of a sneeze in which case I am not protected.
I don't look at the power as a "magical effect" against attacks like a flu shot would be.

I see it as the whole theme of the card depicts. The Warriors or Protectors draw concentrated fire to themselves in order to protect Zogross, like jumping in front of the bullet. But if there is an explosion, it affects the whole area so the Warriors can't jump in front of the bullet to protect Zogross.
 
Yup, they just can't attack Zogross directly (i.e. target/select him).
Hmm. Yeah I think that pushes the terminology a tad but I get it. Cool custom.
IMO, this should be in the Rules/Clarifications portion of the OP. It could come up quite a bit in games and such.

Other than that, he looks great! Nice job C3V!
I just think it is odd tosay that a figure cannot be attacked and yet he can be affected by an attack. It's like saying that because I had a flu shot, I am protected against the flu.... Unless the flu comes to me by way of a sneeze in which case I am not protected.

In retrospect, we should have used "target" instead of "attack" there. I take responsibility for missing that one.

Also, I think the OP should link to the gallery image here at 'Scapers.
 
Yup, they just can't attack Zogross directly (i.e. target/select him).
Hmm. Yeah I think that pushes the terminology a tad but I get it. Cool custom.
IMO, this should be in the Rules/Clarifications portion of the OP. It could come up quite a bit in games and such.

Other than that, he looks great! Nice job C3V!
I just think it is odd tosay that a figure cannot be attacked and yet he can be affected by an attack. It's like saying that because I had a flu shot, I am protected against the flu.... Unless the flu comes to me by way of a sneeze in which case I am not protected.
I don't look at the power as a "magical effect" against attacks like a flu shot would be.

I see it as the whole theme of the card depicts. The Warriors or Protectors draw concentrated fire to themselves in order to protect Zogross, like jumping in front of the bullet. But if there is an explosion, it affects the whole area so the Warriors can't jump in front of the bullet to protect Zogross.

Oh absolutely! The theme is totally there and that's what makes this wording worth risking the oddity. You guys nailed the theme on all of these. Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen.
 
Oh absolutely! The theme is totally there and that's what makes this wording worth risking the oddity. You guys nailed the theme on all of these. Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen.

Thanks GB, that compliment means a lot coming from someone with your pedigree.
 
Yep, he just can't be the target for an attack in that case.
The goal is to avoid being able to purposefully target him.
In retrospect, we should have used "target" instead of "attack" there.

Attacks which doesn't target a figure.
Rhogar Dragonspine's Dragon Breath, where you don't target a figure, but must choose 3 spaces.
Mimring's Fire Line, where you don't target a figure, but must choose 8 spaces.
Can you hit Zogross with those attacks if engaged with him and one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar ?

Earth Elemental's Earth Slaw, where you don't target nor choose anything.
Can it be used if engaged with Zogross and one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar ?

Pelloth's Lolth's Wrath, where there is no targeting involved (read QA in his book);
Can it be used against Zogross if Pelloth is engaged with Zogross and one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar ?
 
Off hand, I'd say in the first three cases, he can be affected, but not in the last. But I'd like to see what others say.
 
From the most recent FAQ.

Who is the target of Lolth's Wrath Special Attack? Can Pelloth use Lolth's Wrath while engaged?
There is no targeting involved because the Drow is “chosen” not “targeted”. While Pelloth is engaged, he can only use Lolth’s Wrath to affect figures he's engaged with. Once Pelloth is no longer engaged, he can apply additional skulls to other figures

Well, it doesn't say that it attacks the affected figure either.
One at a time, for each skull rolled, you may inflict 1 wound on a small or medium figure...

I don't see why Lolth's Wrath would not bypass this power.
 
Yep, he just can't be the target for an attack in that case.
The goal is to avoid being able to purposefully target him.
In retrospect, we should have used "target" instead of "attack" there.

Attacks which doesn't target a figure.
Rhogar Dragonspine's Dragon Breath, where you don't target a figure, but must choose 3 spaces.
Mimring's Fire Line, where you don't target a figure, but must choose 8 spaces.
Can you hit Zogross with those attacks if engaged with him and one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar ?

Earth Elemental's Earth Slaw, where you don't target nor choose anything.
Can it be used if engaged with Zogross and one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar ?

Pelloth's Lolth's Wrath, where there is no targeting involved (read QA in his book);
Can it be used against Zogross if Pelloth is engaged with Zogross and one or more Warriors or Protectors you control who follow Ullar ?

My personal opinion is that if it ain't targeted, it can be damaged (and, in fact, if I had another shot at this power, I would push for "target" being right there in the wording). But don't take that as authoritative.
 
First, can Braxas target Zogross with her Acid Breath ability since it is not an attack?

Second, let me come up with some examples to make sure I understand this.

A) Syvaris is completely unengaged, six spaces away from Zogross, who is surrounded by friendly Armoc Vipers. Syvaris may attack and potentially inflict wounds on Zogross.

B) Siege is adjacent to and engaged with Zogross. Two Protectors of Ullar are adjacent to Zogross, but not adjacent to Siege. Siege may attack and potentially inflict wounds on Zogross.

C) Agent Carr is engaged with Saylind, four spaces away from Zogross, who stands alone. Agent Carr may not attack Zogross because he is engaged with the Saylind (standard rules of engagement).

D) Sgt. Drake Alexander is engaged with and adjacent to a Warrior of Ashra and Zogross. Sgt. Drake Alexander may not attack Zogross per Tribal Protection.

E) Othkurik is engaged with and adjacent to a Greenscale Warrior and Zogross. Othkurik may not target Zogross with his normal attack, but he may use his acid breath attack on the Greenscale Warrior and select Zogross as a secondary target, thereby potentially inflicting wounds on the Greenscale Warrior.

Is that about right?
 
5/5, capsocrates. :D

Braxas can target Zogross because it's not an attack.
 
Okay, cool. I really like how that works. It's really unique, but (very importantly) it is very specific in such a way as to not be overpowered (custom cards lack such a level of specificity).
 
Back
Top