• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

The Book of Thanos

.... uhhh..... yeah, we know. :p

Also, Iron Man has double attack because he has repulsor blasts on each hand. :D
 
Yep, Confred, that is the theme behind it. He has also come back to life at least once in the comics because of that too.
 
It's not as obvious as Iron Man's double pulsors :p

I assumed he was an eternal bad ass that kept coming back, which is an expected trope of some guy, surely, in the villain world - which is where I left it. The tidbit learned was worth sharing. Tis clever, the power naming.

And yes, Davies, from a certain movie. But in coolness, that cameo wouldn't have meant anything if not for Heroscape - which introduced the character to me.
 
If Thanos is mindshackled before he dies, who rolls the Rejected by Death Roll and who gets him if he returns?

~Z
 
I would think that the person who controlled Thanos originally would, since after taking a turn with Thanos, control over him returns to the player who controlled him before the Mindshakle.
 
Mindshackle is the permanent one so it would be the person who took control of him.
 
Oops, yeah, I agree with Griff. I thought Mindshackle was a "permanent control" power. I haven't played Classic lately. Does it show? :razz:
 
Sorry, I had Doctor Doom and his Mind Exchange on the brain. Yep, Margloth and Tickle's points seem right.

EDIT: :ninja: you were right Margloth :lol:
 
Your answers are a bit confusing to someone perusing this thread. Here is the summarized answer:

After a successful Mind Shackle, Thanos is now "controlled" by the Mind Shackling player, so that player, not the original owner, would roll for Rejected By Death.
 
Not that Marvel Heroscape is compatible with Valhallascape. ;-)
 
So what you are saying is that, in a scenario, per say Dr. Doom mind exchanges Thanos, Thanos attacks a counterstroke unit and is counterstruck and killed, at the end of that turn, would I roll for RBD, and if that is correct and I roll a 19/20, would I keep Thanos?

First off, I don't think the above scenario would happen because it (RBD) only comes into play on future turns, and the ownership of Thanos goes back to your opponent.


Although, if that were possible, that would be cool...:twisted:
 
Rejected By Death triggers at the start of turns after he's been destroyed, so it'd never trigger during a Mind Exchange turn. Also, with Mind Exchange, control returns to the original owner after the turn is over, so even if you were able to get Thanos to come back during that turn, as soon as that turn ended, control would revert. It wouldn't suddenly become permanent mind control.
 
These books need updated too, much like the Valhallan figures. :ponder:
 
On the old Hasbro site in the charector pic of Thanos, there seems to be something on his hand like a ball of ice or energy or the like. Anyone else seen this/know what it is?
 
That's a picture of the prototype miniature that they didn't end up using.

Welcome to the site!
 
I actually thought about this - an official "turn" involves the turning over of the turn marker - you might end up having multiple "turns" on the activation of one turn marker (frenzy), but that initial turn marker activation is required for it to be a turn. If your figure is dead, you reveal and remove the turn marker without activating it. Thus you don't ever have the activation part of the turn, thus you cannot perform *any* actions, including rolling for Rejected by Death.
That said, if your #2 turn marker were on, say some Venoc Vipers, and your #3 turn marker were on a dead Thanos, and you got that 19 roll from the Venocs during their activation with the #2, then your #3 turn marker would be useable once again, IMO.

Sorry for being a joker, my dear Batman, but I must disagree about the Heroscape use of the word "turn". Before taking a "turn" with blade gruts, take a "turn" with an orc champ... "turn" means "turn", not activation or flipping order markers. This is why game designers said the Marvel-scape does not jive with the regular-scape. Note that Blastatrons or Nakitas let you move with other squads but not take a "turn" with them. Anything with the bonding ability is clear about the wording... "take a TURN".

When Dr Doom takes a "turn" with another fig, you don't activate anything new or flip any markers but you do take a "Turn" and yes you do roll for Thanos at the start of that additional "Turn". So when Dr. Doom and Thanos are drafted together, you can possibly roll up to 6 times per round for Thanos to return. Ornak or Red Skull have abilities that say "instead of taking a turn" so you wouldn't roll for Thanos after revealing those order markers but you would at the start of the "turns" you take instead.

Kurrok is where the wording gets tricky: "take A turn with up to 3 elementals"... so with those 3 elementals (who all move first then all attack - it doesn't say take up to 3 turns with any elemental) you take ONE fancy super-turn. That would only be one roll for Thanos.
 
I see @King_Buyer's logic, but I would keep with the spirit of the rules if combining Marvel Classic/C3G and and ERRATA rejected by death to say, "After revealing an order marker on an in play army card you control After Thanos has been destroyed..." Otherwise yes, Bonding and Frenzy and Kurrok would be multiple turns.

Also see Hasbro's official FAQ at in the opening post:
- REJECTED BY DEATH : Rolling for 'dead cards'
If I have a turn order marker on an Army Card, but every figure on the Army Card has been destroyed, can I still roll for Rejected By Death?
No. If the every figure on the Army Card is destroyed, you cannot take that turn, and Rejected By Death would never activate. (Hasbro FAQ)

- REJECTED BY DEATH : Using Order Markers after Thanos is revived
If I have a turn order marker on a destroyed Thanos, but he is brought back onto the board by Rejected By Death before I would have used that Turn Order Marker, can I take that turn with him when the time comes?
Yes. The turn order markers are not removed from the cards once a figure is destroyed. If Thanos is on the board when his turn would come up (even if he was destroyed the turn before), he can take that turn. (Hasbro FAQ)
 
Pretty ballsy to roll in with 8 posts and call out someone with 80,000+. :)
 
Last edited:
Maybe King_Buyer should roll in to the Taelord book and speculate about what his weird version of flying means. :)
 
Back
Top