• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

The Book of Acolytes of Vorganund

Heroscaper Guy

3 GIFs in a Trenchcoat
Site Supporter
The Book of Acolytes of Vorganund
Scourge of Apollyon - C3V Wave 22 - Blood and Smoke

full

Basic Side Army Card
Spoiler Alert!

PDF download for printing.

The figures used for this unit are Pathfinder figure. The figures name are : The first two are from the Deadly Foes set. Their names are Thrune Enforcer and Priest of Asmodeus. The third is from the Legends of Golarion set. Its name is Thrune Agent.


Biography : Figures stand in a circle around a glowing red pentagram inscribed on the floor. Shadows dance as candle light flickers.

Using their teachings from the Demonomicon, the Acolytes start a ritualistic chant. One calls forth the Demon Lord, using his truename.

"I summon thee Corvor the Tainted One, Champion of Vorganund. Come forth and release your destruction upon this world in the name of Valkrill"

The pentagram glows and with a flash of light a large looming figure appears, dead eyes look around, large feathery black wings extend.

One of the Acolytes sways and then falls to the ground.

"Let Chaos Rule!" is muttered by an Acolyte, and the rest repeat it.

No thought is given as one of them falls, their life given for the birth of a monster. Blood for Blood.


Blood Summoning
At the start of the game, you may choose any or all Unique Demon Heroes you control to be Bound Heroes of the Acolytes of Vorganund. Place those Heroes on this card. Once per turn, instead of moving normally with an Acolyte of Vorganund, you may destroy that Acolyte and place a Bound Hero from this card on the space that Acolyte occupied.
Dark Pact
After taking a turn with the Acolytes of Vorganund, you may take a turn with a Bound Hero you control. If you do, and a figure other than the Bound Hero received wounds or was destroyed during the bound heroes turn, nothing happens. Otherwise, destroy an Acolyte of Vorganund you control.
_____________________________________________________________________​
- Rulings and Clarifications -
Q: If the Fortress Door receives a wound during the Bound Hero's turn and no other figures received wounds or was destroyed, do you have to roll to destroy an Acolyte due to Dark Pact?
A: Yes.
The Fortress Door is only considered a figure when attacking and for special powers that only give wounds.

Q. What happens when replacing an Acolyte with a double-spaced Bound Hero using Blood Summoning?
A. The Bound Hero must be placed in a legal position for a double-spaced figure.
The Bound Hero must be placed on the space the destroyed figure occupied; the other space the Bound Hero occupies after placement may be any adjacent, same-level space. If there is no legal space, the Bound Hero cannot be placed.
_____________________________________________________________________​
- Combinations and Synergies -

Synergy Benefits Offered:
Blood Summoning-Unique Demons




Synergy Benefits Received:
  • SKULL DEMON : VALKRILL ATTACK AURA
    As Valkrill followers with a Range of 1, Acolytes of Vorganund may benefit from the Skull Demon's VALKRILL ATTACK AURA 1 ability.
  • FATHER CAYLUS: BRUTAL TASKMASTER
    As Clerics, Acolytes of Vorganund may benefit from Father Caylus' BRUTAL TASKMASTER special power.

_____________________________________________________________________​
-Heroscapers Community Contributions-

Power Ranking and Master Index
TBA.

Unit Strategy Review
TBA.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
The C3V Rules Team would like to add the following R&Cs:
Q: If the Fortress Door receives a wound during the Bound Hero's turn and no other figures received wounds or was destroyed, do you have to roll to destroy an Acolyte due to Dark Pact?
A: Yes. The Fortress Door is only considered a figure when attacking and for special powers that only give wounds.

Q. What happens when replacing an Acolyte with a double-spaced Bound Hero using Blood Summoning?
A. The Bound Hero must be placed in a legal position for a double-spaced figure.
The Bound Hero must be placed on the space the destroyed figure occupied; the other space the Bound Hero occupies after placement may be any adjacent, same-level space. If there is no legal space, the Bound Hero cannot be placed.
 
OP or a mod, please update this with the official bio.



Figures stand in a circle around a glowing red pentagram inscribed on the floor. Shadows dance as candle light flickers.

Using their teachings from the Demonomicon, the Acolytes start a ritualistic chant. One calls forth the Demon Lord, using his truename.

"I summon thee Corvor the Tainted One, Champion of Vorganund. Come forth and release your destruction upon this world in the name of Valkrill"

The pentagram glows and with a flash of light a large looming figure appears, dead eyes look around, large feathery black wings extend.

One of the Acolytes sways and then falls to the ground.

"Let Chaos Rule!" is muttered by an Acolyte, and the rest repeat it.

No thought is given as one of them falls, their life given for the birth of a monster. Blood for Blood.
 
Does Morgoloth still give the Demon bonus while on the Acolyte card, before he’s summoned?

I asked this a few months ago in Morgoloth’s book, haven’t heard an official answer yet.


If Morgoloth starts the game on the Acoloytes card, do Demons in your army still get the move bonus?
That's a darn good question. I don't think there's another case like this in the game yet. Are powers active if a unit is not on the battlefield? I'll discuss with the C3V Rules Team.
 
I don’t have a dog in the fight, but the rules nerd in me is still curious to see what the rules team decides! I find weird rules questions like this absolutely fascinating.
 
There are some capitalization and spelling discrepancies in the OP:

Blood Summoning
At the start of the game, you may choose any or all Unique Demon Heroes you control to be Bound Heroes of the Acolytes of Vorganund. Place those hHeroes on this card. Once per turn, instead of moving normally with an Acolyte of Vorganund, you may destroy that Acolyte and place a Bound Hero from this card on the space that Acolyte occupied.
Dark Pact
After taking a turn with the Acolytes of Vorganund, you may take a turn with a bBound hHero you control. If you do, and a figure other than the Bound Hero received wounds or was destroyed during the bBound hHeroes's turn, nothing happens. Otherwise, destroy an Acolyte of Vorganund you control.
 
I don't think Skull Demon should be listed under Blood Summoning, they are Uncommon, not Unique. I may be forgetting some rule about uncommon heroes though. The Skull Demon's book does not list this synergy so this is a bit confusing.
 
Hey @Heroscaper Guy There was a slight error with the card. Somehow the word "points" is doubled up under the stats. Here's a fixed picture
C3V_Acolytes_of_Vorganund.png

and a fixed PDF
If you could edit these into the OP that would be appreciated.
 
Last edited:
The C3V Rules Team would like to add the following R&C:
Q: If Morgoloth is chosen as a Bound Hero, does Demon Leadership apply before Morgoloth is summoned to the board?
A: No.
Special powers do not apply when a figure is not on the battlefield (except for powers that clearly imply otherwise, e.g. The Drop).
 
With Blood Summoning, since it says "you control", technically you would place all of your figures and then choose your Bound Heroes to be placed on the card. Is that correct?
 
@Sheep Yes, but you may have Demon heroes in your army you can optionally not do Blood summoning on, but you can't do Dark Pact with any you optionally don't do Blood Summing with.


@Heroscaper Guy add to Synergy Benefits Received:
FATHER CAYLUS : BRUTAL TASKMASTER
As Clerics, any Acolytes of Vorganund that start their turn within 4 clear sight spaces of Father Caylus may add 2 to their Move value and add 1 to their Attack value.
 
These guys are really good with Father Caylus giving them a boost right to move. Two games I bonded Corvor the Tainted One to them with Blood Summoning and used the extra moves and positioning to basically drop a nuke in a spawn zone when activating summoning and using Dark Pact.

Acolytes of Vorganund x5
Corvor the Tainted One
Father Caylus
480 Points, 17 Figures, 18 Hexes
 
Finally picked up 3d prints of the infamous Ram Army Box from temple of the west this week, only to find these guys are also unobtainable now. The only Corvor I could find is also over $60. The demon army has got to be one of the hardest if not the hardest army to build in all of Heroscape.
 
Last edited:
Unfortunately, that is the case for a number of figures. It feel like it's even more common with newer figures. 3D printing is the only thing keeping a lot of figures obtainable.
 
Question on Dark Pact (specifically on the word "Otherwise"): Does this mean that if a Bound Hero takes a wound on its Dark Pact turn, you must destroy an Acolyte? E.g., say I have Corvor bound to the Acolytes and he attacks an Izumi Samurai, gets counterstricken.
 
Damage done to the bound hero during its turn does not count towards letting the acolytes of the hook.

But it doesn’t cancel other damage done. So if Morgoloth leaves engagement (taking a wound), he can still prevent acolyte damage by making a successful attack or two. But if his attacks whiff, the LEA damage (or counterstrike) done to him doesn’t save the acolyte from having to die.
 
Back
Top