• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

Rules questions to Hasbro

Status
Not open for further replies.
GaryLASQ said:
Question: In scenarios, when a start zone space is also a landing space for a ladder, can more than one figure start on the ladder, if more than one will fit?
I do not see why they couldn't. They are legally placed, they are in the start zone, and so on. Scenario or tournament wording to the contrary, such as "you are limited to 24 hexes of figures" instead of "24 starting hexes" would be a good reason to argue against it. Aside from that, why not?
 
Marduk said:
GaryLASQ said:
Question: In scenarios, when a start zone space is also a landing space for a ladder, can more than one figure start on the ladder, if more than one will fit?
I do not see why they couldn't. They are legally placed, they are in the start zone, and so on. Scenario or tournament wording to the contrary, such as "you are limited to 24 hexes of figures" instead of "24 starting hexes" would be a good reason to argue against it. Aside from that, why not?

I disagree, they aren't in the start zone, they are above the start zone. The start zone is the highlighted spaces, the ladder rungs are called rung spaces, so if they aren't highlighted, you can't start there, unless the scenario text says otherwise.
 
netherspirit said:
Marduk said:
GaryLASQ said:
Question: In scenarios, when a start zone space is also a landing space for a ladder, can more than one figure start on the ladder, if more than one will fit?
I do not see why they couldn't. They are legally placed, they are in the start zone, and so on. Scenario or tournament wording to the contrary, such as "you are limited to 24 hexes of figures" instead of "24 starting hexes" would be a good reason to argue against it. Aside from that, why not?

I disagree, they aren't in the start zone, they are above the start zone. The start zone is the highlighted spaces, the ladder rungs are called rung spaces, so if they aren't highlighted, you can't start there.
I agree with nether.
 
netherspirit said:
I disagree, they aren't in the start zone, they are above the start zone. The start zone is the highlighted spaces, the ladder rungs are called rung spaces, so if they aren't highlighted, you can't start there, unless the scenario text says otherwise.
All the rung spaces in the castle scenario appear to be highlighted.
 
GaryLASQ said:
Please move the discussion about Ladders in Start Zones to this thread HERE. Thanks.
Thank you for doing that, I should have split those posts to their own topic earlier. :duh:
 
1) When using Jotun's Wild Swing or Deathwalker 9000's grenade attack on the door, do figures adjacent but behind the door get affected?

2) Jotun is adjacent to the door and to an opposing figure which is outside also adjacent to the door (essentially the door, Jotun and the figure are all adjacent to each other).

Jotun Wild Swings at the door, is the figure affected?
Jotun Wild Swings at the figure, is the door affected?

(I guess the answers also apply to the grenade ability of Deathwalker 9000 and the AE?)

3) Does height advantage / extreme height advantage apply against the door?

4) Does Q9, adjacent to the battlements , use the battlement for his LOS? The rulebook says that a figure can use the spaces as the origin of LOS instead of what is printed on the card.

What if he is adjacent (to the battlement), but this time with his back turned to the battlement? Does he get the battlement LOS regardless since he's adjacent?



Hey again! I've got your answers, and thanks much for your patience.

1) Yes, these attacks will hit someone behind the door because they are adjacent to the door - being behind the closed door does not stop the ability from affecting them.

2) If Jotun is adjacent to the door, and the enemy figure is on the other side of the door, adjacent to the door, then the wild swing can hit the enemy figure. If the enemy figure is adjacent to the door and Jotun using his wild swing on the figure, the door will also be attacked.

3) Height advantage and extreme height advantage do apply against the door.

4) Q9 could use the battlement points of line of sight, even if he was facing the wrong direction.

I hope that clears things up. Have fun and good gaming!

Trevor
Customer Service Representative
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST
 
Response (Support Agent) 09/28/2007 11:14 AM

Thank you very much for your patience Homba. I have an answer for you regarding Finn's "Warrior Spirit" ability.

Question: Can I place Finn's "Warrior Spirit" on the Airborne Elite Army Card even though the Airborne Elite have not yet Dropped?

Answer: Yes, you can place it on any unique army card, yours or your opponents, on the battlefield, or not. This includes the Airborne Elite before they drop as well as the Retchets.

In response to jdozs's question:

You may also place an order marker on a figure that is not on the board, either because they are destroyed, or not called yet. HOWEVER. You do not get to use any of the special powers on that Army Card if the order marker is turned over and they are not on the board.


---

Here is the thread:
http://heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=11027
 
Questions

Some of these seemed to only be answered by consensus so i thought i'd send them to wizards and see what they said (I'll post in the appropriate Army books the relevant question) Just got the reply today:


Hello,

On the army unit Marcu Esenwein his ability of Eternal Hatred activates when i reveal an order marker then: on a roll of 17 or higher target opponent gains control of him "for the remainder of your turn".


Question 1:

If i have only Marcu left in my army and the victory condition is to destroy all opponents armies. Do i lose the game as soon as this guy rolls a 17+ and i give him away as he is now under my opponents control and i in effect have all units "under my control" dead?



Hasbro Answer 1 :

If the win condition for a scenario requires the destruction of your opponents characters, you will lose if you lose control of Marcu when he is your last figure.



My Question 2 :

For Marcu Esenwein's Eternal Hatred ability, it states "After revealing an order marker on this card, you must....." Using Ornak's Red Flag of Fury, you can activate two Utgar Unique Heroes without them having an order marker. If I use Ornak's Red Flag of Fury power to take a turn with Marcu, am I still forced to roll for Eternal Hatred?


Hasbro Answer 2:

As Ornak's ability is not revealing an order marker, it will not cause you to roll a die and possibly lose control of Marcu.

My Question 3:

Who is the "you" in his Life Drain ability of "If Marcu destroys an enemy figure you may remove a wound marker from this army card" does that mean "you - Marcus current controller" ?




Hasbro Answer 3:

The "You" does indeed refer to Marcu's current controller.


I think only number 1 seems contradictory to what the consensus on these questions seems to be.
 
Homba said:
Response (Support Agent) 09/28/2007 11:14 AM

Thank you very much for your patience Homba. I have an answer for you regarding Finn's "Warrior Spirit" ability.

Question: Can I place Finn's "Warrior Spirit" on the Airborne Elite Army Card even though the Airborne Elite have not yet Dropped?

Answer: Yes, you can place it on any unique army card, yours or your opponents, on the battlefield, or not. This includes the Airborne Elite before they drop as well as the Retchets.

Finn just got slightly cooler. And Thorgrim for that matter...
 
Re: Questions

Troy Spiral said:
I think only number 1 seems contradictory to what the consensus on these questions seems to be.
Yeah, that's weird. Contradictory to the "finish the turn before deciding victors" ruling for DW7K.
 
stff

Question:


Customer (Troy Crayson) 10/15/2007 06:35 PM

If you have a figure on a Lava Field that is also on a Glyph such as the Wound glyph: Both the lava field rules and the wound glyph rules require you to roll a dice at the "end of round" how do you determine which to roll first?

We've wrangled with this one on and off for quite awhile on Heroscapers.com and the consensus seems to be that there is no answer for this one currently.







Answer:


Hi there Troy,


Thank you for contacting Wizards of the Coast game support.

I've passed your question along to the rules manager for consideration. I will be able to send you the answer as soon as he gives me a response. Thank you very much for your patience!



Take Care and Good Gaming! :)

Sam
Customer Service Representative
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST
 
done

Got an updated answer, looks like this is the official boss-man answer! :)



Question:

If you have a figure on a Lava Field that is also on a Glyph such as the Wound glyph: Both the lava field rules and the wound glyph rules require you to roll a dice at the "end of round" how do you determine which to roll first?

We've wrangled with this one on and off for quite awhile on Heroscapers.com and the consensus seems to be that there is no answer for this one currently.



Answer:


Hi again Troy,

I just got the answer from Craig. It is that the player rolls a 20-sided to see which happens first.

Thank you ever so much for your patience.

Take Care and Good Gaming! :)


Sam
Customer Service Representative
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST
 
Rechets Lethal Sting vs. Ninja vanish

This question came up nearly two months ago and was going on at the same time in two differnet threads. There was lengthy conversation and debate in both threads, found here: Debate 1

and here: Book of Rechets

Here are the abilities of both:
Code:
Lethal Sting
When rolling attack dice against a small or medium figure, if a Rechet of Bogdan rolls a skull on every die, the defending figure cannot roll any defense dice and is immediately destroyed.

Disappearing Ninja
If a Ninja of the Northern Wind is attacked with a normal attack and at least 1 skull is rolled, roll the 20-sided die to disappear.  If you roll 1-11, roll defense dice normally.  If you roll a 12 or higher, that Ninja of the Northern Wind takes no damage and instead may move up to 4 spaces.  Ninjas of the Northern Wind can disappear only if they end their disappearing move not adjacent to any enemy figures.

Now in these dicussions a member of our board, Tyrnix, said s/he was sending the question to Hasbro. Tyrnix appears less than frequent in his appearance.

To sum up the discussion, some felt one power took precidence over the other. Many felt there was no way to determine which power came first unless you rolled a d20 or got an official Hasbro answer.

I was going to submit the question to Hasbro if we in fact have not gotten an answer on this issue yet.
 
I'm with the 'ninja can disappear' camp. The Lethal Sting will still auto-kill the Ninja on a 1-11.
 
From the first post in this thread...

bunjee said:
Please discuss views on questions about specific rulings with in their own threads. Once there is an answer, we will updated that thread with the official ruling.[/color]
 
When rolling for the Airborn Elite's The Drop power, and you roll less than 13 do they remain off the board and you roll again at the begining of the next round or do you just place them in your starting zone?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top