• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Not sure where you're getting needing only the figure in range from, as it's incorrect. Distance is always measured from and to bases.

Adjacency is the same as engaged, but both are described as figures being on a hex within 1 space of each other and not an amount of levels higher equal to or greater than the lower figure's height.

The reason I said adjacent and not engaged is that technically you can only engage opponent's figures, whereas you can be adjacent to your own and can attack your own. So they're *mostly* the same thing, but not completely.
 
I have two Attacking questions:
  1. Dorim the Bulkhead Brawler is next to Loviatäk the Kyrie Warrior, not engaged because Dorim is 5 tiles higher than Loviatäk. Both have Line of Sight to each other. Can they still do (normal/special) attacks on each other if they have Line of Sight even if they are not engaged? ...or (normal/special) attacks with a range of 1 can only be used against figures they are engaged with?
  2. Bok-Bur-Na is using his range of 5 to attack Xenithrax the Vineweaver. Bok-Bur-Na has Line of Sight to Xenithrax's tail that is at range of 5. Xenithrax's base is 6 tiles away from Bok-Bur-Na. Can Bok-Bur-Na attack Xenithrax still because Xenithrax's tail is at the 5 tiles range from Bok-Bur-Na? ...or ranges are measured from the attacker to the defender's base?
    1. If not, why does Xenithrax get the advantage that no one can engage him from the back because his tail is physically blocking that space?
So everyone knows, I submitted these questions to Renegade on 12/25 with no response so far. Why I am asking here.
 
They're probably not going to jump to answer a bunch of rules questions on Christmas or right after lol
 
I have two Attacking questions:
  1. Dorim the Bulkhead Brawler is next to Loviatäk the Kyrie Warrior, not engaged because Dorim is 5 tiles higher than Loviatäk. Both have Line of Sight to each other. Can they still do (normal/special) attacks on each other if they have Line of Sight even if they are not engaged? ...or (normal/special) attacks with a range of 1 can only be used against figures they are engaged with?
  2. Bok-Bur-Na is using his range of 5 to attack Xenithrax the Vineweaver. Bok-Bur-Na has Line of Sight to Xenithrax's tail that is at range of 5. Xenithrax's base is 6 tiles away from Bok-Bur-Na. Can Bok-Bur-Na attack Xenithrax still because Xenithrax's tail is at the 5 tiles range from Bok-Bur-Na? ...or ranges are measured from the attacker to the defender's base?
    1. If not, why does Xenithrax get the advantage that no one can engage him from the back because his tail is physically blocking that space?
Xenithrax's tail may spill over to a space that is 5 spaces away, but the tail does not occupy that space. The tail is part of the figure that occupies only two spaces, one that is 6 spaces away and another (I presume) that is either 6 or 7 spaces away.

I know to be able to attack another figure, the attacking figure must have the defending figure (not base) within Range and have LOS of the the defending figure's hit location (love zombies because their hit location is just the head).
1. But do the figures need to be engaged?
2. This needs to be a rule clarification from Renegade from them introducing a figure that extends into other spaces.
I agree, an illustrated clarification would be helpful, but this is not a new situation introduced by Renegade. It goes all the way back to the beginning (2004) with Grimnak's tail.
 
Last edited:
Let's pretend that the front half of Xenithrax is 5 spaces away, the back half is 6 spaces away, and the tail spills over a space that is 7 spaces away. Now let's pretend Bok-Bur-Na can only see the tail, because Xenithrax is mostly hiding behind a big obstacle, like a Fortress wall or something. Because Xenithrax occupies at least one space that is in range, Bok-Bur-Na can use his ranged 5 attack.

The tail is not 7 spaces away. The tail, and the entire hit-zone of Xenitrax, is both 6 and 5 spaces away. The same would apply to any two-space figure. This has been addressed in the FAQ:

Heroscape FAQ said:
Q: I have range to one side of a double-space figure, but Line of
Sight is obstructed because of a cliff or other obstacle.
However, I have Line of Sight to another part of the figures
hit zone. Can I still attack the figure?

A: Yes. The instructions state you need to be able to "see" any
part of the targeted figure's hit zone. So if you have range to 1
of the figure's 2 hexes, and you have LOS to ANY part of that
figure's Hit Zone, you can attack.
 
Last edited:
Let's pretend that the front half of Xenithrax is 5 spaces away, the back half is 6 spaces away, and the tail spills over a space that is 7 spaces away. Now let's pretend Bok-Bur-Na can only see the tail, because Xenithrax is mostly hiding behind a big obstacle, like a Fortress wall or something. Because Xenithrax occupies at least one space that is in range, Bok-Bur-Na can use his ranged attack.

The tail is not 7 spaces away. The tail, and the entire hit-zone of Xenitrax, is both 6 and 5 spaces away. The same would apply to any two-space figure. This has been addressed in the FAQ:
Thank you for finding this. Based on this, it is implied that an attacking figure must have range to a defending figure's hexes (base) to be in range. The darn rulebooks (past and current) only say the figure and not the figure's base for determining if something is in range.
 
The reason I said adjacent and not engaged is that technically you can only engage opponent's figures, whereas you can be adjacent to your own and can attack your own. So they're *mostly* the same thing, but not completely.
I was getting tripped up with the words of Adjacent, Adjacency, & Engaged. Must been drinking too much Wellspring water that has been tainted. I am all good now after reading the rules for the nth time. Now need wait for some game to happen in my area, preferable within 100 miles. Waiting of course is not fun.
 
I have two Attacking questions:
  1. Dorim the Bulkhead Brawler is next to Loviatäk the Kyrie Warrior, not engaged because Dorim is 5 tiles higher than Loviatäk. Both have Line of Sight to each other. Can they still do (normal/special) attacks on each other if they have Line of Sight even if they are not engaged? ...or (normal/special) attacks with a range of 1 can only be used against figures they are engaged with?
  2. Bok-Bur-Na is using his range of 5 to attack Xenithrax the Vineweaver. Bok-Bur-Na has Line of Sight to Xenithrax's tail that is at range of 5. Xenithrax's base is 6 tiles away from Bok-Bur-Na. Can Bok-Bur-Na attack Xenithrax still because Xenithrax's tail is at the 5 tiles range from Bok-Bur-Na? ...or ranges are measured from the attacker to the defender's base?
    1. If not, why does Xenithrax get the advantage that no one can engage him from the back because his tail is physically blocking that space?
If anyone was curious, below is Renegade's response:
Here's what the developers sent to answer your questions.
  • Attacks with a range of 1 can only be performed against an engaged target.
  • Range is measure to the space(s) the figure occupies, so to the base. Not being able to fit behind Xenithrax is a different thing and her tail doesn’t get to count as being in a different space from her body. If you could fit in that space you could stand there.
 
What would it take to boost an Orc's attack to 12 while within Ornak's aura so that you could use all 12 Utgar Valkyrie dice in a game?
 
What would it take to boost an Orc's attack to 12 while within Ornak's aura so that you could use all 12 Utgar Valkyrie dice in a game?
I think the answer is (sadly) that it's impossible unless your scenario allows for multiples of the same glyph (Or Mindshackling an extra of one of these guys). The best I could do is 11.

Here's how:
Brute Gruts (from VC): 3 base attack.
Their ability, Bully: +1 attack against a common figure.
Adjacent to Finn the Viking Champion: +1
Adjacent to Tornak and Grimnak: +2
Within Taelord's aura: +1
Height advantage: +1
Controlling the Glyph of Astrid: +1
Controlling the Glyph of Ulanvia: +1

I'm really hoping that I forgot something, cause that is frustratingly close! Treasure glyphs only work on unique heroes so that won't work. My only other thought was that there is some official scenario that can give them an extra attack, but I doubt that scenario would also have Astrid and Ulanvia. Is there a way I'm unware of to give a unique squad figure a ranged attack, somewhere in VC perhaps? If so, we could get that extra +1 for extreme height advantage.
 
Last edited:
I think the answer is (sadly) that it's impossible unless your scenario allows for multiples of the same glyph. The best I could do is 11.

Here's how:
Brute Gruts (from VC): 3 base attack.
Their ability, Bully: +1 attack against a common figure.
Adjacent to Finn the Viking Champion: +1
Adjacent to Tornak and Grimnak: +2
Within Taelord's aura: +1
Height advantage: +1
Controlling the Glyph of Astrid: +1
Controlling the Glyph of Ulanvia: +1

I'm really hoping that I forgot something, cause that is frustratingly close! Treasure glyphs only work on unique heroes so that won't work. My only other thought was that there is some official scenario that can give them an extra attack, but I doubt that scenario would also have Astrid and Ulanvia. Is there a way I'm unware of to give a unique squad figure a ranged attack, somewhere in VC perhaps? If so, we could get that extra +1 for extreme height advantage.
Bahadur's spirit would get you there
 
Forgetting Extreme Height, and also Finn's spirit and an adjacent Finn (if in team game and both you and teammate have)
 
Forgetting Extreme Height, and also Finn's spirit and an adjacent Finn (if in team game and both you and teammate have)
Yeah, I was going by just what could be done by a single player, without any duplicate effects or characters.
As for extreme height, it's not possible for a melee unit. Extreme height counts spaces above the defending figure's height, not their base, so you would never be adjacent.
 
What would it take to boost an Orc's attack to 12 while within Ornak's aura so that you could use all 12 Utgar Valkyrie dice in a game?
Could go the route of using an arrow grut.

Arrow Grut - 1
Surrounding swogs - 6
Taelord - 1
Glyph of Astrid- 1
Glyph of Crevcor -1
Height - 1
Extreme Height - 1
 
Could go the route of using an arrow grut.

Arrow Grut - 1
Surrounding swogs - 6
Taelord - 1
Glyph of Astrid- 1
Glyph of Crevcor -1
Height - 1
Extreme Height - 1
Prefect! This is probably the exact scenario Hasbro had in mind when they placed 12 dice in the box. Just in case.
 
Yeah, I was going by just what could be done by a single player, without any duplicate effects or characters.
As for extreme height, it's not possible for a melee unit. Extreme height counts spaces above the defending figure's height, not their base, so you would never be adjacent.

So actually, Renegade's ruling on extreme height is different from the classic ruling:

Renegade clarified this rule on page 18. Here is a copy grab of the rule:
Height Advantage: If the base of one figure is on a higher level than the base of the other figure, no matter their actual Size or Height, the figure on the higher level has a Height Advantage and rolls one extra die for either attack or defense. If the base of the higher figure is 10 or more levels higher than the base of the lower figure, the higher figure instead rolls two extra dice for either attack or defense.
Hope this helps during your next gaming session.

So now 11 is the highest possible in classic, using a Heavy Grut with extreme height, attacking some figure with >10 height, plus all the modifiers I mentioned before. You could go arbitrarily large if you allowed teammates or mindshackle or whatnot.
 
I'm sure it's been answered elsewhere, but I can't find it for the life of me: I wanted clarification about when the only figures in your army are not on the board.

1. Airborne Elite. If your last figure is destroyed before the Airborne Elite drop, you lose correct? Even in a multiplayer game?
2. Ataraxis the Starlich. In a 1v1 game, if Ataraxis is on an opponent's army card, nobody is around to destroy her so I lose the game. What about in a free for all with multiple players? In a team game?
3. Vorid Glide Striker. Since you are guaranteed a placement every time you reveal an order marker on the strikers, my instinct says that you don't lose until all 4 have deployed and been destroyed.
4. Wing Commander Tuck Harrigan. I assume he would match the Airborne Elite's ruling, but wanted to include him here for completion's sake.
 
I'm sure it's been answered elsewhere, but I can't find it for the life of me: I wanted clarification about when the only figures in your army are not on the board.

1. Airborne Elite. If your last figure is destroyed before the Airborne Elite drop, you lose correct? Even in a multiplayer game?
2. Ataraxis the Starlich. In a 1v1 game, if Ataraxis is on an opponent's army card, nobody is around to destroy her so I lose the game. What about in a free for all with multiple players? In a team game?
3. Vorid Glide Striker. Since you are guaranteed a placement every time you reveal an order marker on the strikers, my instinct says that you don't lose until all 4 have deployed and been destroyed.
4. Wing Commander Tuck Harrigan. I assume he would match the Airborne Elite's ruling, but wanted to include him here for completion's sake.
I guess it would depend on the victory conditions for each player.
The usual default is when all figures have been destroyed. I would read that as if all the figures for your army have been destroyed.
I think this was thought of because the Airborne Elite came out in first Heroscape product release.​
Where some of the above might apply if the victory condition for the opponent is "when all figures on the battlefield have been destroyed.

NOTE: I would also check with the group you are playing with to see if there are house rules.
 
Back
Top