• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

Figures that can't go through the door - The Definitive list

Krug and gruts at Jandar's castle

Orc1: How are we going to get in there?
Krug: Krug smash!!!!!
Orc2: Wow he opened the door just by hitting it once.
Krug enters and gets stuck
Orc1: Do you think you can get thruogh?
Krug: Yaaaarrrggghhh!!!! Krug stuck.
Orc2: Do you think he can get through?
Orc1: We'll make him go through.
Orc2: Oy You!!!! Don't eat the butter yet!!!!
 
I do believe, however, that with the "new" flip rule, all the Templars can get through the door...and without a house rule in sight.

Doesn't the flip rule also allow Brunak to go through? I haven't tried it but I seem to recall he was the example used in the long "flip through the doorway" discussion.
 
I like the list, but can,t flying figures fly over the door? Or have I misread the rules?
Sure they can. But they cannot fit through the door. There are times and reasons that this is a factor in game play.
Whoops! I interprited it as in who can get past the door! But when would this factor in a game? The only time I can think of is if the glyph that stops flying is in play.
 
I'm a bit lost as to how you figure out who can fit through the door.

I don't have the castle set, so I don't have the exact rules either.

I made a map with some high bridges (6 levels high), and they were very restricting to Jotun (who is 10 tall). We ruled it that he must be able to stand where he ends, so he can "limbo" under the bridges without any problem.

Is this right? Because it doesn't sound right based on the point of this thread.
 
I'm a bit lost as to how you figure out who can fit through the door.

I don't have the castle set, so I don't have the exact rules either.

I made a map with some high bridges (6 levels high), and they were very restricting to Jotun (who is 10 tall). We ruled it that he must be able to stand where he ends, so he can "limbo" under the bridges without any problem.

Is this right? Because it doesn't sound right based on the point of this thread.
Nope, it is not right. A figure must be able to fit on every space from point A to point B.

Chompy cannot go under the bridge to get to the yellow hex:
ChompyCant.jpg
 
I'm a bit lost as to how you figure out who can fit through the door.

I don't have the castle set, so I don't have the exact rules either.

I made a map with some high bridges (6 levels high), and they were very restricting to Jotun (who is 10 tall). We ruled it that he must be able to stand where he ends, so he can "limbo" under the bridges without any problem.

Is this right? Because it doesn't sound right based on the point of this thread.
Nope, it is not right. A figure must be able to fit onevery space from point A to point B.
I'll have to be more careful with my bridges then :|. Thanks Cav.

EDIT: I suppose the way we were playing you could move Jotun under a 1 high bridge, and that doesn't seem right ;).
 
EDIT: I suppose the way we were playing you could move Jotun under a 1 high bridge, and that doesn't seem right ;).

Yes, you are correct, that does not seem right and it is not, in fact, right. Sorry.
 
So, my question is, Zelrig and the Aquallian set. Whats the status on them? As far as I can tell, Zelrig won't fit...
 
So, my question is, Zelrig and the Aquallian set. Whats the status on them? As far as I can tell, Zelrig won't fit.

Good question. I will check and update the list later today.

Edit: I will update in a few days. RL just took priority.
 
Of course he can, Harlax, but he cannot go through the castle doorway as the title of this thread implies.

I do believe, however, that with the "new" flip rule, all the Templars can get through the door...and without a house rule in sight.

Doesn't the flip rule also allow Brunak to go through? I haven't tried it but I seem to recall he was the example used in the long "flip through the doorway" discussion.

I'm still curious about the flip-flop move through the doorway. Is this a legal solution?
 
Re: krug and brunak

I've made the door big enough for jotun to fit out the door by placing tiles under the door frame

Is that legal? I thought the spaces had to all be the same level... Maybe I read the rules wrong.

He means under the two parts where the door bases on the map, raising the arch and leaving a little gap under the door.
 
Of course no one can go Through the door they'd just run right into it! Although this could be an experiment for the shades...
 
Re: krug and brunak

I've made the door big enough for jotun to fit out the door by placing tiles under the door frame

Is that legal? I thought the spaces had to all be the same level... Maybe I read the rules wrong.

gate_sample.jpg

Great Gatehouse Concept Image

I'd say its legal. I've used a similar idea in this conceptual image of my great gatehouse. Even Jotun looks small compared to the arch.
 
Of course he can, Harlax, but he cannot go through the castle doorway as the title of this thread implies.

I do believe, however, that with the "new" flip rule, all the Templars can get through the door...and without a house rule in sight.

Doesn't the flip rule also allow Brunak to go through? I haven't tried it but I seem to recall he was the example used in the long "flip through the doorway" discussion.

I'm still curious about the flip-flop move through the doorway. Is this a legal solution?

The way I read it, you do the flip while on two hexes, not midair. So techically Brunak would have to fit "forwards" and "backwards" on the same two hexes. The flip doesn't occur at the same time moving to a new hex.

(I brought this up in a tournament because my Grimnak didn't fit through a crevice. Everyone decided I was being too technical, and that they'd let me put Grimnak there. I never did, being a bit OCD and all, but generally people aren't going to be sticklers about this kind of thing.)
 
Re: krug and brunak

I've made the door big enough for jotun to fit out the door by placing tiles under the door frame

Is that legal? I thought the spaces had to all be the same level... Maybe I read the rules wrong.

gate_sample.jpg

Great Gatehouse Concept Image

I'd say its legal. I've used a similar idea in this conceptual image of my great gatehouse. Even Jotun looks small compared to the arch.
Yes, the rules state that, "The doorway and the four doorway spaces need to be on the same level". IMO the way Qtip is using it as an archway would be ok.

For moving figures through the door, "Only those figures that can fit on and move through space #1 are allowed to pass through the doorway". its up to you and who you play with to decide if its the figure or the entire sculpt. IMO holding up the movement for a weapon/flag held high is a little silly, though dragons can also fold their wings to their body. Personally I would just house rule it but....

I have gotten many multiples of both master sets, if you compare any of the same sculpts side by side. (Ex: Major Q-10, Grimnak) You will notice small differences in posture and how high their weapon are held, etc. I would assume this would also hold true for the large expansions. It would be hardly noticable if you took a heat gun and moved his arm an eighth inch lower.
 
OK, let's set aside for the moment the specific rules of the arch. For my part, I'm interested in putting a bridge across between two sets of walls, as in this map (or as in Dr. Weirdscaper's "Great City" map).

So, two questions:
  1. how high does an overpass have to be, in hexes, before the tallest figure can fit under it? I believe this would be the tip of Jotun's sword (at least among the non-flyers, which is all I really care about for gameplay purposes).
  2. Am I correct in saying there's no offocial ruling on whether you can flip the figure in order to get his tallest part under the door?
 
dok,

Not sure on your first question. For the second, here are the rules from the advanced FAQ on flipping; I've highlighted and/or bolded the relevant portion in red:

Movement (Double-Space Figures)

When can you flip a double-space figure?

You can flip a double-space figure any point before, during ,or at the end of that figure's movement.

If I’m flipping a double-space figure, do I have to be able to have enough room on both sides to slide or spin around?

No. Sliding from one space to another never matters on any movement; it's actually fitting on each space as you go. If you were flipping around, you would lift the figure up, spin it, and then place it back down on those same 2 hexes. As long as it can fit once you have flipped around, you can flip the figure at no movement cost.

While moving a double-space figure to the next space of it’s movement, can I flip it so it can fit?

You cannot flip midair in between movement spaces. You must stop on 2 spaces, then flip on those same 2 spaces and be able to stand facing both directions for the flip to work. (The only exception would be if you were going up or down levels of terrain). After flipping in this manner, you may continue your movement if applicable.

After flipping, do I have to continue with the same leading side (the side that is now facing the direction I just came from)?


No. After flipping, you can decide which end will be the leading side now.
To me, this makes it clear that you can't 'flip your way through' a tight spot.

People do it. But it goes against the advanced FAQ, which I think is as official an answer as we can expect.

I may be missing something, of course.
 
To me, this makes it clear that you can't 'flip your way through' a tight spot.
Well, it depends what you mean by "flip your way through". You could back into a space, barely fit, pick the figure up, put it back down in the same two spots facing the other way, and then slide forward.

In other words, you can't flip in mid-move, but you don't have to be able to fit mid-flip.
 
To me, this makes it clear that you can't 'flip your way through' a tight spot.
Well, it depends what you mean by "flip your way through". You could back into a space, barely fit, pick the figure up, put it back down in the same two spots facing the other way, and then slide forward.

In other words, you can't flip in mid-move, but you don't have to be able to fit mid-flip.

Yes, that's how I read it. Just have to fit before and after the flip, and the flip has to be on the same two spaces.

I think some earlier posters were flipping mid-move, which is a technical no-no.

EDIT: I was using the old rules. (8.3). Please see Hogg's post below for the correct answer.
 
Back
Top