Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 8th, 2010, 05:50 PM
spiteofthedice's Avatar
spiteofthedice spiteofthedice is offline
no baby bump - false alarm!
 
Join Date: September 3, 2007
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 2,372
spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun
The Book of Horned Skull Brutes

The Book of Horned Skull Brutes
Moltenclaw's Invasion - Collection D3 (13) - "Bugbears & Orcs"

If you cannot see the Army Card graphic, check The Heroscapers Gallery for stats and special powers, plus
"character biography" and other non-game unit info.
Character Bio: These goblins are adept at running into battle and causing mayhem. They will toss their fellow goblins under the sword rather than take the damage themselves, but they are also able to whip friendly figures around in order to take their place in melee combat. No matter what, they are a terror on the battlefield and they can destroy a well planned out strategy with just one order marker. (Adapted from the Guru's front-page preview)

_________________________________________________________________
-Rulings and Clarifications-

Q. BARGE INTO BATTLE : "Friendly" figures vs. figures "you control":
BARGE INTO BATTLE may displace any "friendly" figure. Does this include figures controlled by a teammate?
A. Yes.

Q. BARGE INTO BATTLE : "Is it time to barge yet??" :
When using BARGE INTO BATTLE, should each Horned Skull Brute move and displace a friendly figure before the next one begins its movement, or should the entire squad move before using BARGE INTO BATTLE?
A. After revealing an order marker on any army card, the unit gets a turn with a Movement phase followed by an Attack phase. BIB happens after the Movement of all 3, before the Attack. After revealing an Order Marker on the Horned Skull Brutes, 3 should move, then those 3 may use BIB, then those 3 may attack.
Q. OHH: Wait, what?
A. Just read it again. I promise, it makes sense.

Q. EXPENDABLE RABBLE vs. LIFE DRAIN: This isn't what I ordered!
If a figure with the LIFE DRAIN special ability (such as Cyprien Esenwein) wounds a Horned Skull Brute, does activating EXPENDABLE RABBLE deny the attacking figure the opportunity to remove a wound marker for LIFE DRAIN?
A. Yes. The HSB's card instructs the player of the defending Skull Brutes to "destroy" the Goblin Cutter, not the attacking player. Since the attacker technically is not the one destroying the figure, the attacking vampire does not get to remove a wound marker for LIFE DRAIN.
_________________________________________________________________
-Combinations and Synergies-

Synergy Benefits Received
GOBLIN CUTTERS : EXPENDABLE RABBLE
As Small Goblins, the Goblin Cutters may aid the Horned Skull Brutes with their EXPENDABLE RABBLE self-preservation tactic.
Synergy Benefits Offered
N/A
C3V and SoV Custom Synergies
Spoiler Alert!
_________________________________________________________________

-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
  • - TBA
_________________________________________________________________
-Heroscapers Community Contributions-

Horned Skull Brutes Pre-Release Discussion Thread

Horned Skull Brutes-what's your army idea?

Power Ranking and Master Index
TBA
Unit Strategy Review
TBA

Last edited by R˙chean; April 16th, 2015 at 09:48 PM. Reason: vc added
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 8th, 2010, 05:52 PM
spiteofthedice's Avatar
spiteofthedice spiteofthedice is offline
no baby bump - false alarm!
 
Join Date: September 3, 2007
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 2,372
spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

As always, suggestions are helpful. There isn't much for these guys, but if there are any major clarifications I didn't see, please let me know and I'll add them in. They are the most interesting part of the Books, IMHO.

Thanks.

~Spite
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 10th, 2010, 02:20 PM
Wabikishko's Avatar
Wabikishko Wabikishko is offline
 
Join Date: April 7, 2010
Location: USA-MN-Big Lake
Posts: 14
Wabikishko is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

For barge into battle do you have to barge all at the same time before attacking, or do you do it one at a time, barge then attack, then the next one and so on.

Things are always subject to change.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 10th, 2010, 02:24 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,842
Images: 176
Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wabikishko View Post
For barge into battle do you have to barge all at the same time before attacking, or do you do it one at a time, barge then attack, then the next one and so on.
Move + Barge with all and then attack with all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 10th, 2010, 04:12 PM
spiteofthedice's Avatar
spiteofthedice spiteofthedice is offline
no baby bump - false alarm!
 
Join Date: September 3, 2007
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 2,372
spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalier View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wabikishko View Post
For barge into battle do you have to barge all at the same time before attacking, or do you do it one at a time, barge then attack, then the next one and so on.
Move + Barge with all and then attack with all.
Not sure it matters in any practical sense, but technically:

1) The entire squad gets a Movement Phase.

2) After moving with the entire squad, then each HSB in the squad gets a chance to Barge.

3) After Barging into Battle, each of the 3 gets a chance to Attack.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 10th, 2010, 04:34 PM
Crazybob's Avatar
Crazybob Crazybob is offline
 
Join Date: October 19, 2010
Location: USA - VA - Portsmouth
Posts: 90
Crazybob is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Barge into battle will be useful to get expensive squads out of engagement and with their solid stats they could be used as bodygaurds for a key figure Kelda/Raelin. Quick question: Does BIB work if your opponet is held by cyberclaw?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 10th, 2010, 06:10 PM
'Scaper94's Avatar
'Scaper94 'Scaper94 is offline
 
Join Date: April 10, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 5,850
Images: 5
Blog Entries: 1
'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazybob View Post
Barge into battle will be useful to get expensive squads out of engagement and with their solid stats they could be used as bodygaurds for a key figure Kelda/Raelin. Quick question: Does BIB work if your opponet is held by cyberclaw?
So switching out with your X17? If so, then yes, that is legal.

My tourney record: 14-32 or 30.43% wins
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 10th, 2010, 06:13 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010 & 2011
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 20,061
Images: 107
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'Scaper94 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazybob View Post
Barge into battle will be useful to get expensive squads out of engagement and with their solid stats they could be used as bodygaurds for a key figure Kelda/Raelin. Quick question: Does BIB work if your opponet is held by cyberclaw?
So switching out with your X17? If so, then yes, that is legal.
You can't switch out X17, as you can only switch out squad figures. However, you could use BIB to pull gladiatrons out of engagement.

If you're asking whether you can use BIB to, say, pull a goblin cutter out of engagement with a Gladiatron, though, the answer is no. The text of Cyberclaw specifically states that it overrides other powers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 14th, 2011, 11:55 PM
dart48's Avatar
dart48 dart48 is offline
 
Join Date: June 5, 2009
Location: U.S.-Idaho-Burley
Posts: 489
dart48 knows what's in an order marker dart48 knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Okay, sorry if this is a dumb question so just bear with me.
If I use "Expendable Rabble", can I then activate "Scurry"? It is the opponents figure making the kill so I would think it would but then again...

Keep your hints rational!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 15th, 2011, 12:04 AM
Xn F M's Avatar
Xn F M Xn F M is offline
Gets It!!!
 
Join Date: March 9, 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,145
Blog Entries: 7
Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by dart48 View Post
Okay, sorry if this is a dumb question so just bear with me.
If I use "Expendable Rabble", can I then activate "Scurry"? It is the opponents figure making the kill so I would think it would but then again...
I would say no. Expendable Rabble specifically states that you're "destroying a Goblin Cutter," and "ignoring any wounds that Horned Skull Brute received," that power is what's destroying the GC, not the opposing player's figure's attack.

Mechanically, you're blocking a wound and destroying a figure, not redirecting an attack.

Edit: it would be cool if it worked though.

I don't need no instructions to know how to rock.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 15th, 2011, 12:27 AM
dart48's Avatar
dart48 dart48 is offline
 
Join Date: June 5, 2009
Location: U.S.-Idaho-Burley
Posts: 489
dart48 knows what's in an order marker dart48 knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xn F M View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dart48 View Post
Okay, sorry if this is a dumb question so just bear with me.
If I use "Expendable Rabble", can I then activate "Scurry"? It is the opponents figure making the kill so I would think it would but then again...
I would say no. Expendable Rabble specifically states that you're "destroying a Goblin Cutter," and "ignoring any wounds that Horned Skull Brute received," that power is what's destroying the GC, not the opposing player's figure's attack.

Mechanically, you're blocking a wound and destroying a figure, not redirecting an attack.

Edit: it would be cool if it worked though.
...that's what I thought. I was hoping it would work though because that happening during a game would be priceless and thematically it should work. Oh well...

Keep your hints rational!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 15th, 2011, 12:30 AM
nyys's Avatar
nyys nyys is offline
quoting myself - insanity beckons
 
Join Date: June 21, 2007
Location: MA - South Shore
Posts: 15,221
Images: 2
nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Horned Skull Brutes

Agreed. The Goblin isn't being destroyed by a normal attack (which activates Scurry), but instead by a special power (Expendable Rabble) that is activated by a normal attack.

Boston Marathon 4/15/13 3:39:41
Last Race: Naragansett Running Festival 7/21/13 - Half Marathon - 1:50:01
Next Race: KeyBank Vermont Marathon 5/25/14
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Book of Red Skull Firemaster Marvel Official Rules and FAQ's 89 October 18th, 2014 05:32 PM
500 Series: Horned Skull Brutes!!! Zarrath Competitive Armies Discussion 11 November 16th, 2011 01:32 PM
Horned Skull Brutes-what's your army idea? Killometer Competitive Armies Discussion 59 April 11th, 2011 03:18 PM
Horned Skull Brutes Pre-Release Discussion Thread hivelord Official Units 161 November 3rd, 2010 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.