Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11125  
Old March 31st, 2019, 06:30 PM
IAmBatman's Avatar
IAmBatman IAmBatman is online now
Best There Is! - C3G Con 2020 Champ
 
Join Date: February 15, 2007
Location: USA - AL - Montgomery
Posts: 103,767
Images: 110
IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Personally I think of the declaration of movement as part of the movement, so once it's declared and the swipe is rolled for, I think the "before moving" phase has ended. May just be me, though.

C3G can be played with official Heroscape, but it's not recommended.


DISCLAIMER: C3G claims no ownership of the characters or artwork used for C3G customs. All rights for the characters belong to their respective publishers/creators. C3G cards are not intended for sale, and C3G does not authorize any party to profit from C3G cards.

Reply With Quote
  #11126  
Old March 31st, 2019, 08:18 PM
ThugMisting's Avatar
ThugMisting ThugMisting is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2018
Location: United States - Kentucky - Lexington
Posts: 54
ThugMisting is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

@PaladinAtticus Could you show me the card when you're done with it? Sounds interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #11127  
Old March 31st, 2019, 08:23 PM
ThugMisting's Avatar
ThugMisting ThugMisting is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2018
Location: United States - Kentucky - Lexington
Posts: 54
ThugMisting is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

@IAmBatman I see.
Reply With Quote
  #11128  
Old March 31st, 2019, 08:30 PM
Astroking112 Astroking112 is offline
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 2,406
Images: 26
Blog Entries: 42
Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

I agree with IAmBatman's interpretation.

I personally think of leaving engagement attacks as occurring on the way to the next space (even if this interpretation causes some problems elsewhere, I find that it helps to visualize everything), so you can't take a leaving engagement attack without committing to the move, at which point the time for healing would've already passed.
Reply With Quote
  #11129  
Old March 31st, 2019, 09:35 PM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is offline
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,495
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Can confirm. You only take a disengage while moving, so you had to use all "before moving" abilities before then. You would not be able to heal a leaving engagement attack's wound.
Reply With Quote
  #11130  
Old April 4th, 2019, 01:09 AM
ThugMisting's Avatar
ThugMisting ThugMisting is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2018
Location: United States - Kentucky - Lexington
Posts: 54
ThugMisting is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Can Mogrimm or Sonlen use Commander's Strike / Dragon Swoop on figures that are not adjacent to them while they themselves are engaged with an enemy?
Reply With Quote
  #11131  
Old April 4th, 2019, 01:16 AM
Astroking112 Astroking112 is offline
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 2,406
Images: 26
Blog Entries: 42
Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Yes. Special Powers are not subject to engagement rules like Special Attacks are.
Reply With Quote
  #11132  
Old April 4th, 2019, 06:37 AM
IAmBatman's Avatar
IAmBatman IAmBatman is online now
Best There Is! - C3G Con 2020 Champ
 
Join Date: February 15, 2007
Location: USA - AL - Montgomery
Posts: 103,767
Images: 110
IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

A better way to put that, since special attacks [I]are[I] special powers, might be that only attacks (normal or special) are subject to engagement rules. Commander’s Strike and Dragon Swoop are not attacks.

C3G can be played with official Heroscape, but it's not recommended.


DISCLAIMER: C3G claims no ownership of the characters or artwork used for C3G customs. All rights for the characters belong to their respective publishers/creators. C3G cards are not intended for sale, and C3G does not authorize any party to profit from C3G cards.

Reply With Quote
  #11133  
Old April 4th, 2019, 08:27 PM
All Your Pie's Avatar
All Your Pie All Your Pie is offline
 
Join Date: July 12, 2010
Location: USA - Arizona - Tucson
Posts: 2,675
Images: 8
All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Question about the difference between targeting and attacking:

I know that the Nakitas ruling states that if you have targeted a figure but not yet rolled any dice and they become an invalid target, you are allowed to change your target to a different figure. This does, however, imply that Smoke Powder occurs during a phase of play that occurs before actual attacks, and that other powers theoretically could as well.

I'm working on a power for a custom unit, and my question is what would happen if the game state changed during this targeting phase without making the target invalid? Basically, does any change in game state allow the attacker to change their mind on who to target, or is it only changes in game state that make their initial target invalid?
Reply With Quote
  #11134  
Old April 4th, 2019, 08:36 PM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 25,714
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Are you asking about the Mines of Moria? Because I would not take the road through Moria, unless I had no other choice.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #11135  
Old April 4th, 2019, 08:44 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,312
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 38
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Since there is no official precedent where targeting can change due to a game state change that did not cause invalidity, I would think that the target cannot be changed. However, creating a power that reads something like...

BEND THE MATRIX
When Super Agent the Planetary Destroyer or any other figure you control is targeted for an attack, you may move Super Agent the Planetary Destroyer up to 4 spaces. You may only use this power once per turn.

...is probably a bad idea anyway.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #11136  
Old April 4th, 2019, 09:01 PM
All Your Pie's Avatar
All Your Pie All Your Pie is offline
 
Join Date: July 12, 2010
Location: USA - Arizona - Tucson
Posts: 2,675
Images: 8
All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla All Your Pie is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

If the targeting phase is the Mines of Moria, then the Nakitas are the Balrog and we've known them for years. My read is that there isn't another viable place for the power I'm thinking of to activate, since using it before attack dice are rolled is important to the decision-making of it. And it certainly isn't figure movement or bonding or anything wild like that, so it doesn't seem like a rules nightmare to me.

It sounds, though, like there isn't an official or semi-official answer, so it seems like I can rule it however I like. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 10:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.