Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #385  
Old July 10th, 2017, 07:46 PM
schnizol schnizol is offline
 
Join Date: July 10, 2017
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 4
schnizol is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

I'm looking through cards... There is card with such a wording "A creature you control gains lifelink (...)". Does the "creature" mean "army squads AND/OR planeswalker?" Or creature = anything but planeswalker?
Reply With Quote
  #386  
Old July 10th, 2017, 08:07 PM
obfuscatedhippo's Avatar
obfuscatedhippo obfuscatedhippo is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 1,408
Images: 28
obfuscatedhippo has disabled reputation
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by schnizol View Post
I'm looking through cards... There is card with such a wording "A creature you control gains lifelink (...)". Does the "creature" mean "army squads AND/OR planeswalker?" Or creature = anything but planeswalker?
Creature meaning non-planeswalker. Since it is singular ("A creature .. ") then it is just one figure. You can pick one figure in a squad to gain the lifelink bonus.
Reply With Quote
  #387  
Old July 10th, 2017, 08:15 PM
schnizol schnizol is offline
 
Join Date: July 10, 2017
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 4
schnizol is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

Thanks for answers... And questions about mind control...

1. If an opponent controls my unit, does the unit receive his or my buffs/debuffs? E.g. Gideon has AoE buff enchant. If an opponent controls a unit within the buff area... does it apply? Or maybe both players' buffs apply?

2. Cards refer to "figures an opponent controls" - does that count mind controlled figures? If so, some enchants would grant debuffs to its own squad?
Reply With Quote
  #388  
Old July 11th, 2017, 10:15 AM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,443
Images: 438
Blog Entries: 3
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

In the parent game, if an opponent's creature was enchanted with an "enchant opponent's creature" aura and was then controlled, even temporarily, in that moment it wouldn't be an opponent and the aura would fall off.

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #389  
Old July 11th, 2017, 10:27 AM
obfuscatedhippo's Avatar
obfuscatedhippo obfuscatedhippo is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 1,408
Images: 28
obfuscatedhippo has disabled reputation
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by schnizol View Post
Thanks for answers... And questions about mind control...

1. If an opponent controls my unit, does the unit receive his or my buffs/debuffs? E.g. Gideon has AoE buff enchant. If an opponent controls a unit within the buff area... does it apply? Or maybe both players' buffs apply?

2. Cards refer to "figures an opponent controls" - does that count mind controlled figures? If so, some enchants would grant debuffs to its own squad?
I'll start by saying the cards in AotP are not the best : )

"Mind Control" and effects that steal figures temporarily are not well described.

MIND CONTROL
Sorcery
You may move and attack with target squad creature an opponent controls that is within 4 clear sight spaces of a blue Planeswalker you control.



Jace's power is a good guideline.

MIND STEALER
At the end of Jace's turn, you may choose target Planeswalker within 4 clear sight spaces of Jace. Roll the 20-sided die. If you roll a 16 or higher, you control that Planeswalker and you may use abilities, move, and attack with the Planeswalker. Afterward, return control of the Planeswalker.



In Heroscape, when you temporarily take control or steal a figure - it becomes yours and therefore it follows the normal "figures you control" buffs (even if the control is temporary). This includes Leaving Engagement attacks. In AotP - if that figure has an Enchantment on its Army Card - that Enchantment continues.
Reply With Quote
  #390  
Old July 17th, 2017, 04:58 PM
schnizol schnizol is offline
 
Join Date: July 10, 2017
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 4
schnizol is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

I played AotP with friends and we weren't sure about one thing. If a player uses a spell card that says "deal 3 damage" or any amount of damage to a figure... does the opponent roll for defence? or the deal x damage sorcery cards are unblockable?
Reply With Quote
  #391  
Old July 17th, 2017, 05:03 PM
TREX's Avatar
TREX TREX is offline
"like" happy
 
Join Date: February 24, 2010
Location: USA- ID- PRESTON
Posts: 7,906
TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Those damage are unblockable unless you can pull some card or ability that can block it.
Reply With Quote
  #392  
Old July 20th, 2017, 12:06 AM
raXas1516's Avatar
raXas1516 raXas1516 is offline
 
Join Date: November 4, 2014
Location: Canada - Ontario - Hamilton
Posts: 134
raXas1516 is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

Sorry if this has been asked before, but can you enchant creatures that have not been summoned yet?
Reply With Quote
  #393  
Old July 20th, 2017, 01:14 PM
Airborne Elite 5's Avatar
Airborne Elite 5 Airborne Elite 5 is offline
Opps. He did it again.
 
Join Date: January 18, 2014
Location: USA - WA - Bonney Lake
Posts: 295
Airborne Elite 5 is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by raXas1516 View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can you enchant creatures that have not been summoned yet?
Yes, you can.

Never tell me the odds, because I already know 'em...

Also a sucker for anything Warforged...
Reply With Quote
  #394  
Old July 20th, 2017, 01:18 PM
Dr.Goomonkey's Avatar
Dr.Goomonkey Dr.Goomonkey is offline
On vacation...
 
Join Date: February 20, 2012
Location: USA - WA - Seattle(Marysville)
Posts: 1,666
Images: 270
Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airborne Elite 5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by raXas1516 View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can you enchant creatures that have not been summoned yet?
Yes, you can.
But if a creature is returned to your reserve, the enchantments come off, incorrect?. correct.

Repaints My Maps Online Maps Customs
QC3 CHOPS Grand Chamion Announced
mac122 is the Best HeroScape Chef

What is The MollusClash's biggest radio hit?
Spoiler Alert!
Dr.Goomonkey is Toril Elemental...
in BLUE CAVE

Last edited by Dr.Goomonkey; July 20th, 2017 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #395  
Old July 20th, 2017, 01:31 PM
Airborne Elite 5's Avatar
Airborne Elite 5 Airborne Elite 5 is offline
Opps. He did it again.
 
Join Date: January 18, 2014
Location: USA - WA - Bonney Lake
Posts: 295
Airborne Elite 5 is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

No, only if a squad is destroyed do the spells come off. Since a unit that returns to your reserve can be summoned again, the spells remain on it.

Never tell me the odds, because I already know 'em...

Also a sucker for anything Warforged...
Reply With Quote
  #396  
Old July 20th, 2017, 01:51 PM
obfuscatedhippo's Avatar
obfuscatedhippo obfuscatedhippo is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 1,408
Images: 28
obfuscatedhippo has disabled reputation
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airborne Elite 5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by raXas1516 View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can you enchant creatures that have not been summoned yet?
Yes, you can.

Sorry - I disagree. I think the answer is "No" you cannot play spells on creatures that are not summoned yet.

Per the rule book, at the start of the game your Planeswalker is placed in front of you and the army card and figures for other units are placed to the side in your Reserve.

Army cards/figures are only moved into play when Summoned (from the Reserve). With this in mind, I think of the cards in Reserve as out of the game until summoned - and therefore cannot be affected until they enter the battlefield.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 11455 April 3rd, 2021 08:28 AM
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 650 March 29th, 2021 05:12 AM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 265 February 27th, 2021 03:17 PM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 19 January 24th, 2021 11:18 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 10:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.