Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11173  
Old May 21st, 2019, 09:19 PM
Justini Justini is offline
 
Join Date: May 20, 2019
Location: Canada BC Vanderhoof
Posts: 3
Justini Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Ok thabks everyone this is very helpful. We just spent most of our evening making 500 point armies last night with just the unique and uncommon cards lol was fun. Looking forward to this.
Reply With Quote
  #11174  
Old May 22nd, 2019, 03:50 PM
toothpickman toothpickman is offline
 
Join Date: January 3, 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8
toothpickman is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Thanks Lefton4ya I appreciate all the links! I'm glad you're enjoying the reviews, there are a few more in the works.
Reply With Quote
  #11175  
Old May 22nd, 2019, 03:51 PM
toothpickman toothpickman is offline
 
Join Date: January 3, 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8
toothpickman is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad_Scaper View Post
Oh, man. That is a great review. I don't know any other game that connects me to my childhood, playing with green army men. And you draw that line. Welcome, @toothpickman !

You discuss customs in your BGG post. You can always expand your collection of units with reference to the C3V/SoV collection, linked in my signature box. Those units have all been designed and tested to fit perfectly alongside your existing official goodies. Welcome aboard, stranger!
Thanks Dad Scaper, I've added some Scifi characters (Dr Who and Star Trek) using Heroscapers customs, will be adding Star Wars as well, and based on some of the custom stuff here I've added Stargate as well.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #11176  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 04:21 AM
infectedsloth's Avatar
infectedsloth infectedsloth is offline
The Doom of Man
 
Join Date: September 20, 2011
Location: USA-IL-Birmingham
Posts: 1,017
infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Where can I find the Gencon 2006 map list?
Reply With Quote
  #11177  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 10:53 AM
Rˇchean's Avatar
Rˇchean Rˇchean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,301
Images: 89
Blog Entries: 10
Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by infectedsloth View Post
Where can I find the Gencon 2006 map list?
I don't believe you will find a map list for 2006.


IIRC, (13 years ago) we used just official maps: Forsaken Waters, Searing Pass, Wolf Swamp Road, etc...

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #11178  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 11:16 AM
infectedsloth's Avatar
infectedsloth infectedsloth is offline
The Doom of Man
 
Join Date: September 20, 2011
Location: USA-IL-Birmingham
Posts: 1,017
infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness infectedsloth wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rˇchean View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by infectedsloth View Post
Where can I find the Gencon 2006 map list?
I don't believe you will find a map list for 2006.


IIRC, (13 years ago) we used just official maps: Forsaken Waters, Searing Pass, Wolf Swamp Road, etc...
Thanks for the answer.

I made a spreadsheet detailing past Gencon map usage. 2006 was the only year I couldn't find. Since official maps were used it's of little importance that I don't have it.
Reply With Quote
  #11179  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 11:31 AM
Karat's Avatar
Karat Karat is offline
His sweat is highly explosive
 
Join Date: September 14, 2010
Location: USA-Washington-Olympia
Posts: 12,579
Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

This question just came up and I'm not entirely sure how to rule it. Can a figure who has Carry choose to Carry a friendly figure when using the Bracers of Teleportation?

I lean slightly towards yes as the power itself says "..
move the figure..." but I know that you cannot chain Carry so I am questioning it. Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by Karat; June 2nd, 2019 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11180  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 11:52 AM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Roots of the Earth (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 6,897
Images: 92
Blog Entries: 34
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

I don’t believe so, because I think the Bracers of Teleportation are used before and instead of moving. If the Carrying figure ends its Teleport adjacent to a figure, then they can use their normal movement to cardy a figure.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD (General Wars, 510)
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #11181  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 02:08 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is online now
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,980
Images: 63
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I don’t believe so, because I think the Bracers of Teleportation are used before and instead of moving. If the Carrying figure ends its Teleport adjacent to a figure, then they can use their normal movement to cardy a figure.

I disagree. Reading both effects, I think it can be done.


Carry says "Before moving [carrier], choose an unengaged friendly small or medium figure adjacent to [carrier]. After you move [carrier], place the chosen figure adjacent to [carrier]."


Bracers of Teleportation says "This figure may use these bracers before moving. Instead of moving normally, you may place this figure on any same-level space(s) within 10 spaces of its current location. If this figure is engaged when it starts to teleport, it will not take any leaving engagement attacks." (my italics)


Carry specifies "Before moving", not "Before moving normally". So,since both effects trigger before moving, you get to choose which order to apply them. Choose the Carry effect first, then the Bracers effect. And you just teleported two figures.


What you cannot do is what you suggested: use Bracers and then use Carry with a normal move because Bracers specifically says "instead of moving normally".


~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #11182  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 02:14 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Roots of the Earth (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 6,897
Images: 92
Blog Entries: 34
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I donít believe so, because I think the Bracers of Teleportation are used before and instead of moving. If the Carrying figure ends its Teleport adjacent to a figure, then they can use their normal movement to cardy a figure.

I disagree. Reading both effects, I think it can be done.


Carry says "Before moving [carrier], choose an unengaged friendly small or medium figure adjacent to [carrier]. After you move [carrier], place the chosen figure adjacent to [carrier]."


Bracers of Teleportation says "This figure may use these bracers before moving. Instead of moving normally, you may place this figure on any same-level space(s) within 10 spaces of its current location. If this figure is engaged when it starts to teleport, it will not take any leaving engagement attacks." (my italics)


Carry specifies "Before moving", not "Before moving normally". So,since both effects trigger before moving, you get to choose which order to apply them. Choose the Carry effect first, then the Bracers effect. And you just teleported two figures.


What you cannot do is what you suggested: use Bracers and then use Carry with a normal move because Bracers specifically says "instead of moving normally".


~Z
The issue I feel is that Carry requires you to -move- the Carrying figure, not place the Carrying figure. Teleporting is not a movement, rather a placement effect.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD (General Wars, 510)
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #11183  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 05:22 PM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,255
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I donít believe so, because I think the Bracers of Teleportation are used before and instead of moving. If the Carrying figure ends its Teleport adjacent to a figure, then they can use their normal movement to cardy a figure.

I disagree. Reading both effects, I think it can be done.


Carry says "Before moving [carrier], choose an unengaged friendly small or medium figure adjacent to [carrier]. After you move [carrier], place the chosen figure adjacent to [carrier]."


Bracers of Teleportation says "This figure may use these bracers before moving. Instead of moving normally, you may place this figure on any same-level space(s) within 10 spaces of its current location. If this figure is engaged when it starts to teleport, it will not take any leaving engagement attacks." (my italics)


Carry specifies "Before moving", not "Before moving normally". So,since both effects trigger before moving, you get to choose which order to apply them. Choose the Carry effect first, then the Bracers effect. And you just teleported two figures.


What you cannot do is what you suggested: use Bracers and then use Carry with a normal move because Bracers specifically says "instead of moving normally".


~Z
The issue I feel is that Carry requires you to -move- the Carrying figure, not place the Carrying figure. Teleporting is not a movement, rather a placement effect.
Yep, this. Both RAW and RAI, the Bracers do not let you Carry the figure; you don't move when you use the Bracers, you place.
Reply With Quote
  #11184  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 06:21 PM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is offline
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 7,806
Images: 453
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
The issue I feel is that Carry requires you to -move- the Carrying figure, not place the Carrying figure. Teleporting is not a movement, rather a placement effect.
In Heroscape, there is no difference between teleportation and space-by-space movements in terms of terminology; both are considered "movements."

There are powers in Heroscape that should specify moving "normally," like Carry, but do not. It is a vague question of whether or not the "normally" is implied. As strictly written, any movement (as defined as the figure changing positions) allows Carry, including the Braces of Teleportation. Probably not intended, but that's a strict reading.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 10:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.