Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Valhalla HeroScape > HeroScape General Discussion
HeroScape General Discussion General discussions of packaging, terrain, components, etc. If it doesn't fit in any other official category, put it here.

Old November 26th, 2006, 09:52 PM
Master Custom Creator

Euryon is surprisingly tart
The geography of Valhalla Project

Ok... Heres something we can fool around with waiting for Wave 6...

From the map of Valhalla, we can deduce some facts, and from these, with our knowledge of Earth and our "real world" geophysics, we can then induce some conclusions on the size of Valhalla, and so on.

We will gain nothing but the fruits of our labour, but it should be interesting, no?

So; any geographers, geologists, physicists or anyone bloody interested - please help, as I am by no means an expert, but a mere investigator...

My deductions:
  • Volcarren is Volcanic. Volcanic regions on Earth tend to be equatorial/tropical (please confirm/deny). (note - is it actually just where theres tectonic friction? utterly irrelevant to latitude?)
  • Thalenk is tundra. Tundra regions on Earth tend to be sub-polar (please confirm/deny).
  • The centre of Volcarren is approximately 1100 miles South of the centre of Thalenk (assuming the scale of 200m per box is miles).
  • The Archipelago surrounding Haukeland suggests it's own continental plate.
  • The dissemination of islands between Volcarren and Kinsland suggests separate continental plates. (Which is supported if the supposition above about tectonic plates = volcanic regions is true)

Some other thoughts:
The unnamed region in the South East - seems to be quite marshy. What can this tell us?
What about the attributes of native inhabitants? Moltarns, Dumuteff's, Kyrie, and so on... From expansion pack names, we might be able to deduce where in Valhalla they come from, too...