Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #25  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 09:04 PM
Gored by 21 Gored by 21 is offline
 
Join Date: June 8, 2010
Location: USA - New York - Long Island - Selden
Posts: 21
Gored by 21 Woo who?
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

I pulled drake into 2 waiting Nikita engagement strikes to finish him off
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old July 5th, 2010, 12:20 PM
oracle92's Avatar
oracle92 oracle92 is offline
 
Join Date: July 20, 2007
Location: IL Hoffman Estates
Posts: 266
oracle92 knows what's in an order marker oracle92 knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

^That makes me wonder though; does chain grab actually trigger abilities like engagement strike? I mean, the "chainee" becomes adjacent, but he didn't move into engagement which the ability states as a requirement; he was moved to that space by virtue of an opponent's ability.

The dice help those who help themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old July 5th, 2010, 12:21 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Quote:
Originally Posted by oracle92 View Post
^That makes me wonder though; does chain grab actually trigger abilities like engagement strike? I mean, the "chainee" becomes adjacent, but he didn't move into engagement which the ability states as a requirement; he was moved to that space by virtue of an opponent's ability.
Yes. Engagement Strike triggers. the figure becomes engaged, it doesn't matter if he moved there or was placed there by another power.


Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old July 5th, 2010, 12:22 PM
R˙chean's Avatar
R˙chean R˙chean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,328
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Engagement Strike does trigger. No need to wonder anymore.

edit- ninj'd by limber cheese

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old July 12th, 2010, 10:08 PM
Chardris1287's Avatar
Chardris1287 Chardris1287 is offline
 
Join Date: August 24, 2009
Location: USA - IN - La Porte (Mill Creek)
Posts: 870
Chardris1287 knows what's in an order marker Chardris1287 knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Had an embarrassing moment with this guy the other day when I drafted him. It was an Utgar drow army, vs a Aquilla Dwarf army + Sujoah. We used a lava map, and I had missed the part about placing a figure on a same level space. So I had gained a newfound respect for this figure while kicking butt with this by throwing 2 Axegrinders and Mogrimm into the lava, I realized my mistake as I re-read the card and saw my error. I admitted my mistake, but still won the game.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old August 16th, 2010, 02:17 AM
screwDriver screwDriver is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2010
Location: Philippines - Metro Manila
Posts: 557
screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

First post here. I'm a newbie with Heroscape, I don't have my master set yet but it will be receiving it any day this week.

I've a question about the Drow Chainfighter. If I yank an engage figure away from the fight, does that figure suffer from a disengage penalty (if applicable)?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old August 16th, 2010, 02:21 AM
GreenLanturn's Avatar
GreenLanturn GreenLanturn is offline
 
Join Date: October 17, 2008
Location: USA - MN - Plymouth
Posts: 1,250
GreenLanturn rolls all skulls baby! GreenLanturn rolls all skulls baby! GreenLanturn rolls all skulls baby! GreenLanturn rolls all skulls baby! GreenLanturn rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Welcome to the site!

If you read the entire card, you'll see that the last line of the Chain Grab ability states that the moved figure will not receive any disengaging penalties.

In forest dark or glade beferned
No blade of grass shall go unturned
Let those who have the daylight spurned
Tread not where this green lamp has burned.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old August 16th, 2010, 02:27 AM
screwDriver screwDriver is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2010
Location: Philippines - Metro Manila
Posts: 557
screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

My bad, thanks for pointing that out GL.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old August 16th, 2010, 01:14 PM
Mrspy's Avatar
Mrspy Mrspy is offline
 
Join Date: July 11, 2010
Location: USA - WI - Mason
Posts: 165
Mrspy is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

He would have been way better if you could grab someone from 3 spaces away, and place him up to 3 spaces away from the drow chainfighter.

Oh well he's only 25 points!!!

Einar's the BOMB!!!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old August 16th, 2010, 03:28 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,453
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 39
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Has anybody thought of using this guy in the water with the Drow ready on the next OM?

I have tried this and it worked pretty well for me...The Chainfighter drags a hero into the water on the first OM and on the second, a squad of Drow jump him while on height.

The chainfighter's original attack of 4 combined with the next 3 attacks of 4(assuming hieght is kept) puts many heroes into a health deficit!!! Although it is best when the hero has only 1 or even no OM's on it, that hero could lose a turn!

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old August 16th, 2010, 03:42 PM
S1R_ART0R1US's Avatar
S1R_ART0R1US S1R_ART0R1US is offline
Under Taro's Banner
 
Join Date: October 16, 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 2,221
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
S1R_ART0R1US wears ripped pants of awesomeness S1R_ART0R1US wears ripped pants of awesomeness S1R_ART0R1US wears ripped pants of awesomeness S1R_ART0R1US wears ripped pants of awesomeness S1R_ART0R1US wears ripped pants of awesomeness S1R_ART0R1US wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Yes, but an important thing to consider is that your opponent takes a turn too and may very well reposition his figure.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old August 16th, 2010, 03:45 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,453
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 39
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of The Drow Chainfighter

Quote:
Originally Posted by S1R_ART0R1US View Post
Yes, but an important thing to consider is that your opponent takes a turn too and may very well reposition his figure.
But that is just a gamble. As you said, they may reposition their figure. If I won intitive, they have to put OM 1 on it. If not, then I always have the option of using a different Chainfighter and/or squad of drow.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Book of Deepwyrm Drow spiteofthedice Official Units 80 December 7th, 2018 12:58 PM
Drow Chainfighter Pre-Release Discussion Tai-Pan Official Units 8 March 16th, 2010 01:39 PM
Drow Chainfighter Chain Grab question Nano*22 Official Rules & FAQ's 26 February 19th, 2010 09:15 PM
The Drow Chainfighter impresses me Aldin Heroscape Strategy Articles 100 February 17th, 2010 12:43 PM
Who Else Is Actually--A Drow? chas HeroScape General Discussion 32 February 11th, 2010 03:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.