Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #6709  
Old June 27th, 2012, 02:24 AM
SirGalahad's Avatar
SirGalahad SirGalahad is offline
"Special Eyes"
 
Join Date: April 25, 2008
Location: US - State of Grace - Route 66
Posts: 12,294
Images: 79
SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth SirGalahad is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

You can put OMs on dead figures, but they don't balance very well.

Seriously, you can put OMs on Army Cards of destroyed figures, but it wouldn't be terribly useful, unless you had a figure like C3G's Doomsday, where doing so can be beneficial.

I know that I do not know.
C3G INDEX - WAVE 40 - WAR OF THE INDEPENDENTS
Reply With Quote
  #6710  
Old June 27th, 2012, 02:33 PM
Fencerjared's Avatar
Fencerjared Fencerjared is offline
 
Join Date: May 15, 2007
Location: USA - TX - Austin
Posts: 1,432
Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGalahad View Post
You can put OMs on dead figures, but they don't balance very well.

Seriously, you can put OMs on Army Cards of destroyed figures, but it wouldn't be terribly useful, unless you had a figure like C3G's Doomsday, where doing so can be beneficial.
To expand, the reason it wouldn't be very useful is that most figures have no powers that can be used after they're dead, so there would be little point in placing an order marker on them (you can't get Mogrimm Forgehammer's +3 bonus to initiative from his Combat Leader power if he's dead, for example); and you're certainly not going to fake anyone out by putting the X marker on a dead figure...

"Anti"-Oxymoron
I'm anti-fashion, anti-religion
Anti-police and anti-system;
Anti-commercial and anti-prison,
Anti, anti-everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6711  
Old June 27th, 2012, 02:37 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 24,978
Images: 123
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fencerjared View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGalahad View Post
You can put OMs on dead figures, but they don't balance very well.

Seriously, you can put OMs on Army Cards of destroyed figures, but it wouldn't be terribly useful, unless you had a figure like C3G's Doomsday, where doing so can be beneficial.
To expand, the reason it wouldn't be very useful is that most figures have no powers that can be used after they're dead, so there would be little point in placing an order marker on them (you can't get Mogrimm Forgehammer's +3 bonus to initiative from his Combat Leader power if he's dead, for example); and you're certainly not going to fake anyone out by putting the X marker on a dead figure...
An exception would be Thanos. You just know you're going to roll a 20 on Turn 1 so you put your OM 2 on Thanos....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #6712  
Old June 27th, 2012, 02:43 PM
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Can not ignore himself because of typo - Online HS Season 2 Champion
 
Join Date: July 2, 2011
Location: USA - CO - Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,858
awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fencerjared View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGalahad View Post
You can put OMs on dead figures, but they don't balance very well.

Seriously, you can put OMs on Army Cards of destroyed figures, but it wouldn't be terribly useful, unless you had a figure like C3G's Doomsday, where doing so can be beneficial.
To expand, the reason it wouldn't be very useful is that most figures have no powers that can be used after they're dead, so there would be little point in placing an order marker on them (you can't get Mogrimm Forgehammer's +3 bonus to initiative from his Combat Leader power if he's dead, for example); and you're certainly not going to fake anyone out by putting the X marker on a dead figure...
An exception would be Thanos. You just know you're going to roll a 20 on Turn 1 so you put your OM 2 on Thanos....
In a similar vein, I once put an OM on my dead Sonlen in hopes of Reviving him. Sure enough, as soon as I stepped on Sturla, he was back in my SZ...

Reply With Quote
  #6713  
Old June 27th, 2012, 03:48 PM
heroscaper2010's Avatar
heroscaper2010 heroscaper2010 is online now
HoSSpitable little wookiee (apparently "wookiee" has 2 E's, who knew?)
 
Join Date: September 19, 2010
Location: USA - OH - Sugarcreek
Posts: 8,522
heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Can Cyprien Chilling touch the Hive?

My Maps
Tournament Record: 28-28: .500!
Reply With Quote
  #6714  
Old June 27th, 2012, 03:51 PM
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Can not ignore himself because of typo - Online HS Season 2 Champion
 
Join Date: July 2, 2011
Location: USA - CO - Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,858
awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Can Cyprien Chilling touch the Hive?
Of course. Why do you ask?

Reply With Quote
  #6715  
Old June 27th, 2012, 03:53 PM
heroscaper2010's Avatar
heroscaper2010 heroscaper2010 is online now
HoSSpitable little wookiee (apparently "wookiee" has 2 E's, who knew?)
 
Join Date: September 19, 2010
Location: USA - OH - Sugarcreek
Posts: 8,522
heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomeunleashed View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Can Cyprien Chilling touch the Hive?
Of course. Why do you ask?
I forgot if the Hive was considered a figure or not.

My Maps
Tournament Record: 28-28: .500!
Reply With Quote
  #6716  
Old June 27th, 2012, 10:29 PM
Therion's Avatar
Therion Therion is offline
 
Join Date: March 31, 2009
Location: USA - WI - Monroe
Posts: 334
Therion knows what's in an order marker Therion knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomeunleashed View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Can Cyprien Chilling touch the Hive?
Of course. Why do you ask?
I forgot if the Hive was considered a figure or not.
It is if it's in a player's army; if the Hive is a terrain piece, then it can't be attacked (including Chilling Touch).

Patience Drain
After loading and before posting, roll the twenty-sided die.
On a 1, Therion makes a long and/or irritating post.
On a 2-15, Therion may not post this turn.
On a 16+, post normally.
Reply With Quote
  #6717  
Old June 27th, 2012, 11:03 PM
heroscaper2010's Avatar
heroscaper2010 heroscaper2010 is online now
HoSSpitable little wookiee (apparently "wookiee" has 2 E's, who knew?)
 
Join Date: September 19, 2010
Location: USA - OH - Sugarcreek
Posts: 8,522
heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Ah, thanks. To both of you.

EDIT: Another question: Is placing the same thing as moving?

My Maps
Tournament Record: 28-28: .500!
Reply With Quote
  #6718  
Old June 27th, 2012, 11:37 PM
Bothi Bothi is offline
Definitely not horrible
 
Join Date: May 31, 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 747
Bothi rolls all skulls baby! Bothi rolls all skulls baby! Bothi rolls all skulls baby! Bothi rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

No, placing ignores height and everything else (like flying), moving is as if walking, counting height, water, lava, etc. Also, some moves discriminate between moving and placing.

IE: If a figure moves adjacent to... So placing would not activate that specific special.

You can't move your figure over water (unless it can fly), but all figures can be placed over water.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockma Ranyk View Post
Actually this is incorrect. For instance, to place a unit on any space within 5 spaces is to do exactly that, ignoring height, other units in the way, etc. Move a unit 5 spaces requires counting height when moving up, cannot move through opponent's figures, etc. Erevan Sunshadow can pass right through a castle wall with his power, since it uses "place". Isamu however cannot, because his power uses "move".

Last edited by Bothi; June 27th, 2012 at 11:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6719  
Old June 27th, 2012, 11:38 PM
Therion's Avatar
Therion Therion is offline
 
Join Date: March 31, 2009
Location: USA - WI - Monroe
Posts: 334
Therion knows what's in an order marker Therion knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Ah, thanks. To both of you.

EDIT: Another question: Is placing the same thing as moving?
Yes, so Jotun's Throw can trigger abilities like Engagement Strike.

EDIT: I've been semi-ninja-ed! Placing ignores things that would affect movement, such as height, water, roads, and so on. When you place, you can place it anywhere within range.

However, placing also counts as moving for the purposes of special powers.

Patience Drain
After loading and before posting, roll the twenty-sided die.
On a 1, Therion makes a long and/or irritating post.
On a 2-15, Therion may not post this turn.
On a 16+, post normally.

Last edited by Therion; June 28th, 2012 at 12:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6720  
Old June 28th, 2012, 07:54 AM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,901
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Dalu's sig has a link to it, placing and moving are the same thing.

EDIT: Placing and moving are synonymous

Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 10:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.