Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Off-Topic > General
General Random thoughts and ideas. "General" does not mean random drivel, nonsense or inane silliness.

Notices

Old July 29th, 2006, 10:58 AM
Master Custom Creator

justjohn knows what's in an order marker justjohn knows what's in an order marker
justjohn finally gets to shape young minds.

So, I doubt many of you know this, but I graduated from college in december of last year, and have been trying to get a job teaching. It's what I always wanted to do, but it is a tough job to get, teaching secondary, because of all of the new requirements of No Child Left Behind.

The search began in March, and finally ended last wed. It actually ended in mid May, but the absolute hell I went through from May to this week is a story in and of itself. A very long, drawn out story which I will gladly tell if anyone is interested.

I am now a Civics/Citizenship teacher (basically watered-down US government for 9th graders) at Jonesboro High School, and I begin on Tuesday of this upcoming week. I also begin working on my Masters of Education: Social Studies the same day. Needless to say, I'm in for a whirlwind ride. Especially since my degree is in History, and I'll be teaching government, but you have to start somewhere, good thing my I have strong background in US history, which helps.

If you don't see me around as much, you'll know why. But I'm so excited about my new job, and I can't wait to start. I also can't wait to get my masters done with, so I can relax a bit. New job + Graduate education is going to be rough.

smallboxgames.com
Old July 29th, 2006, 11:04 AM
has been BANNED

K/H_Addict costs too much!
Civics. MAn i hated my civics teacher. I took it in 8th grade, not 9th. 9th grade history was World History and Geography I.
Old July 29th, 2006, 11:07 AM
Master Custom Creator

justjohn knows what's in an order marker justjohn knows what's in an order marker