Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old August 10th, 2019, 01:44 AM
ThugMisting's Avatar
ThugMisting ThugMisting is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2018
Location: United States - Kentucky - Lexington
Posts: 54
ThugMisting is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

If you have two Werewolf Lords in your army, do you then get 6 Lycanthropy markers, or do you still only get to use 3?
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old August 10th, 2019, 01:56 AM
TREX TREX is offline
"like" happy
 
Join Date: February 24, 2010
Location: Absent
Posts: 8,002
TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThugMisting View Post
If you have two Werewolf Lords in your army, do you then get 6 Lycanthropy markers, or do you still only get to use 3?
You get 3 per werewolf lord.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old December 3rd, 2019, 10:53 PM
Leaf_It's Avatar
Leaf_It Leaf_It is offline
The Real Zombieland
 
Join Date: February 19, 2008
Location: USA - Utah
Posts: 1,683
Images: 5
Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun Leaf_It is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

It was asked in the book of Suskra (C3V Hybrid unit with Overextend Attack ability) ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seb from space View Post
If an opponent's werewolf lord takes a turn with my Suskra, may he use overextend attack ? If an opponent's werewolf lord takes a turn with my Suskra, may I take a turn with overextend attack after the turn of my opponent ?
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old December 4th, 2019, 09:53 AM
Lord Pyre's Avatar
Lord Pyre Lord Pyre is offline
One time at band camp...
 
Join Date: September 18, 2007
Location: USA - WI - Two Rivers
Posts: 23,755
Images: 1
Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

You take a turn with Suskra, and Overextend says after taking a turn, so as the card reads, you would be able to yes!
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old December 4th, 2019, 10:40 AM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,791
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachmuskie View Post
Since it says, "take a turn," on the werewolf card, you can overextend. Also, since overextend has been used during the round, it cannot be used again. That is how I read it.
I agree - so to answer @Leaf_It 's question only you or opponent can overextend per round - whoever gets to it first. But I could see a ruling otherwise being acceptable as the "per round" may mean for your turns in a round. It is a pretty unique/fiddly situation.

Also on @ThugMisting 's question above, the way I read it there are 3 markers per card and if you use up all three from one card, than that Werewolf Lord cannot use Lycanthropy any more (i.e. that cannot use another WL's markers). Uncommon heroes are unlike common heroes/squads such as Mezzos where it is a shared pool.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old December 4th, 2019, 06:41 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 11,003
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 2
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

I think I agree about Suskra, but it’s different if you trigger it on an opponent’s figure. “At the end of the turn” seems to come before “after taking the turn”. If it’s your Suskra, you’re in the clear to use overextend. If it’s not your Suskra, you can’t use it because you have to give back control at the end of the turn.

Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old November 2nd, 2020, 12:18 PM
AndreThaGiant's Avatar
AndreThaGiant AndreThaGiant is offline
 
Join Date: July 16, 2018
Location: USA - ND - Fargo
Posts: 85
AndreThaGiant rolls all skulls baby! AndreThaGiant rolls all skulls baby! AndreThaGiant rolls all skulls baby! AndreThaGiant rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

Might need to update the C3V Synergies to include Seleena, Maltis Tez, Suskra, and Van Nessing as Hybrid Heroes.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old July 7th, 2021, 02:35 PM
Just_a_Bill's Avatar
Just_a_Bill Just_a_Bill is offline
 
Join Date: December 31, 2007
Location: USA - OR - Salem(ish)
Posts: 1,619
Images: 59
Blog Entries: 7
Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

All these years, and I never noticed this until today:

Quote:
If an opponent’s Unique Hero receives at least 1 wound from this Werewolf Lord
...
Lycanthropy never affects ... destructible objects.
So hey, where's our Hero who's also a DO? Somebody needs to fill in that obvious design gap!

I'm going to assume that in an earlier phase of development, the first part said "If a figure receives at least one wound...", and then later when the text was further refined, nobody noticed that the DO exclusion had become nonsensical. I certainly didn't notice it until now. It's probably good to not duplicate that if any future VC unit copies this template.

Or ... is there some weird "counts as" rule I don't know about that makes this restriction necessary?


Good traders: tdemirji, AbsintheAddict, Blubberguy22, Toa Matoro, SuperSamyon, Bl1ndsn1per, Ericth74,
Clipper423, Oh Freek, Nikkomon, DarthBaggins, quizzcode, Astroking112 & more on my trade list
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old July 7th, 2021, 05:37 PM
AMIS AMIS is offline
 
Join Date: February 4, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 986
AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_a_Bill View Post
All these years, and I never noticed this until today:

Quote:
If an opponent’s Unique Hero receives at least 1 wound from this Werewolf Lord
...
Lycanthropy never affects ... destructible objects.
So hey, where's our Hero who's also a DO? Somebody needs to fill in that obvious design gap!

I'm going to assume that in an earlier phase of development, the first part said "If a figure receives at least one wound...", and then later when the text was further refined, nobody noticed that the DO exclusion had become nonsensical. I certainly didn't notice it until now. It's probably good to not duplicate that if any future VC unit copies this template.

Or ... is there some weird "counts as" rule I don't know about that makes this restriction necessary?
Maybe the next wave included a mimic? You know the destructible objects with attitudes...although perhaps that would've been no longer considered a DO.

Just when you thought it was all right, someone made it alright.

Good trades with - Porkins / xraine69 / mac122 (x2) / frylock / Ztimster (x2) and probably others I forgotten to mention...sorry.

Last edited by AMIS; July 7th, 2021 at 05:39 PM. Reason: Almost typed Mime...that would've brought out unspeakable comments...
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old July 9th, 2021, 01:17 PM
R˙chean's Avatar
R˙chean R˙chean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,338
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

If you read the castle rule book regarding the door and the lengthy (and old) debate that occurred about whether or not Hound’s plague could harm the castle door, it becomes pretty clear why that wording ended up on this card.

With the advent of units such as the Mind Flayer, it sort of stops the debate before it happens. IE your opponent can’t burn one of your lycanthropy tokens via mind flayer while attacking the door.

(My apologies, but I don’t feel compelled to supply the links at this time)

A must read for all 'Scapers!

Last edited by R˙chean; July 9th, 2021 at 09:03 PM. Reason: Removed “AKA rules lawyering” from post
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old July 11th, 2021, 04:41 PM
Just_a_Bill's Avatar
Just_a_Bill Just_a_Bill is offline
 
Join Date: December 31, 2007
Location: USA - OR - Salem(ish)
Posts: 1,619
Images: 59
Blog Entries: 7
Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

Quote:
Originally Posted by R˙chean View Post
If you read the castle rule book regarding the door and the lengthy (and old) debate that occurred about whether or not Hound’s plague could harm the castle door, it becomes pretty clear why that wording ended up on this card.
Well, the Marro Plague never should have been an issue in the first place because it's not an attack (and furthermore you don't choose a target). Both of those facts clearly disqualify it from the language in the Fortress rulebook.

Regardless of that, I don't see how it's clear that this wording is required on this card. The Mind Flayer could not do what you suggest because Lucanthropy applies only to Unique Heroes. How would a destructible object count as a Unique Hero?

Now if it is somehow necessary to explicitly call out "cans" and "can'ts," then wouldn't it be equally necessary to errata tons of existing cards? Skewer, Poison Weapons, Poison Cloud, Giant Killer, Cleave, Tactical Switch.... The fact that the confusing wording exists on the WL opens up the question and makes the reader wonder what it is that he doesn't understand about the rulebook passage.

I'm actually still not sure what the "new default" rule even is. If it has been deemed that the Fortress rulebook passage overrides all constraints on what can be attacked in every situation, then that seems to create a pretty big mess. Why wasn't it just ruled that the rulebook does NOT override constraints on what can be attacked? Meaning, if a power applies only to Unique Heroes or only to squad members or only to small or medium jackalopes that follow Floofdar, then that power cannot apply to a destructible object. Seems clean and straightforward.

What am I missing?


Good traders: tdemirji, AbsintheAddict, Blubberguy22, Toa Matoro, SuperSamyon, Bl1ndsn1per, Ericth74,
Clipper423, Oh Freek, Nikkomon, DarthBaggins, quizzcode, Astroking112 & more on my trade list
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old July 11th, 2021, 05:43 PM
AMIS AMIS is offline
 
Join Date: February 4, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 986
AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby! AMIS rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Werewolf Lord

We have default rules? I must've missed the memo, LOL.

Take a look at the Book of the Fortress Door , page 7'ish and 8, where the conversation is all about what attacks/special attacks/powers affect DO's. Ultimately it comes down to...if you're not happy with it, house rule it and move on.

Just when you thought it was all right, someone made it alright.

Good trades with - Porkins / xraine69 / mac122 (x2) / frylock / Ztimster (x2) and probably others I forgotten to mention...sorry.

Last edited by AMIS; July 11th, 2021 at 05:44 PM. Reason: When is a door not a door...when it become a weredoor!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Werewolf Lord and Sir Hawthorne steqhendaniels Official Units 2 April 25th, 2011 07:39 AM
Werewolf Lord Trouble Wanderer999 Official Rules & FAQ's 10 November 16th, 2010 10:59 PM
Werewolf Lord- What's your army idea? Fedex worker Competitive Armies Discussion 52 September 10th, 2010 01:10 PM
Werewolf Lord Repaint MarroCloner164 Other Customization & HS Additions 7 August 25th, 2010 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.