Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 6th, 2009, 03:29 PM
T Rex T Rex is offline
 
Join Date: April 6, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 3
T Rex is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Question Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

When Sonlen is engaged, can he dragon swoop someone that he is not engaged to. This would also apply to other characters with multiple abilities, Drund's cripling gaze, Morsbane's power of negation, and perhaps others too. My friend insists that all abilities must be focused on only the engaged figure.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 6th, 2009, 03:35 PM
ABOMINATION's Avatar
ABOMINATION ABOMINATION is offline
Chilly Fangirl
 
Join Date: August 20, 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,359
ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: sonlen

Your friend is wrong, if it is a special attack, then it can only be directed against the engaged figure. But if it is a special power, such as Acid Breath, Crippling gaze, or such, then you may attack anyone within the powers reach.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 6th, 2009, 03:35 PM
killercactus's Avatar
killercactus killercactus is offline
The Guy That Thinks Runa is Good (and has actually won games with her)
 
Join Date: February 19, 2007
Location: OH - Austintown
Posts: 7,865
Images: 32
Blog Entries: 10
killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death!
Re: sonlen

Yes, he can. Only Attacks are limited to figures that are engaged. Special Powers, like Sonlen's Dragon Swoop, are not limited to figures that he is engaged with.

The same goes for Braxas' Poisonous Acid Breath, Morsbane's Rod of Negation, and Deadeye Dan's Sharpshooter, amongst others.

EDIT: ABOMINATION!

Like battle reports? Click Tourney Reports (New 10/21/2012 - Cutters / Brutes!)
KC's Maps
Click KC's Customs
Scaper of the Week #57
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 6th, 2009, 03:36 PM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 18, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 15,028
Images: 252
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: sonlen

Quote:
Originally Posted by T Rex View Post
When Sonlen is engaged, can he dragon swoop someone that he is not engaged to. This would also apply to other characters with multiple abilities, Drund's cripling gaze, Morsbane's power of negation, and perhaps others too. My friend insists that all abilities must be focused on only the engaged figure.
He can dragon swoop whomever is in range. If it's a special ability (like Dragon Swoop, Negation, or Crippling Gaze), it can be used on figures that you aren't engaged to. If it's a special attack, you have to use it on the figure you're engaged to.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 6th, 2009, 03:39 PM
ABOMINATION's Avatar
ABOMINATION ABOMINATION is offline
Chilly Fangirl
 
Join Date: August 20, 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,359
ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla ABOMINATION is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: sonlen

I am truly that which you call me. I finally figured a way how to not get ninja'd. You post a brief answer, then go and edit it to a more detailed explanation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 6th, 2009, 03:58 PM
T Rex T Rex is offline
 
Join Date: April 6, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 3
T Rex is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Exclamation Re: sonlen

Thanks for all those prompt responses, especially since you agreed with my position. I immediately called my misguided friend and bombarded him with the information!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 05:43 PM
#1MustangScaper's Avatar
#1MustangScaper #1MustangScaper is offline
 
Join Date: March 14, 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
#1MustangScaper has disabled reputation
Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

Just to throw a monkey wrench into this discussion:

Correct me if I am wrong,
A Double Attack Special power must be directed at the engaged figure(s) as long as it is still engaged and still alive.

Since I am typing I need a sanity check:
Comman Squad Question: must I attack with the figures that moved, or can I move 4 figures and then attack with 4 seperate figures?

My understanding is that I must attack with the figures I moved this turn. Please chime in ( i need some expert input so feel comfortable in this rule because I just recently purchased 3 multiple squads for every common army wave 2 thru 8.

must make map bigger..need more army..need more virtualscape designs..must buy expansions...

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 05:49 PM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 18, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 15,028
Images: 252
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper View Post
Just to throw a monkey wrench into this discussion:

Correct me if I am wrong,
A Double Attack Special power must be directed at the engaged figure(s) as long as it is still engaged and still alive.

Since I am typing I need a sanity check:
Comman Squad Question: must I attack with the figures that moved, or can I move 4 figures and then attack with 4 seperate figures?

My understanding is that I must attack with the figures I moved this turn. Please chime in ( i need some expert input so feel comfortable in this rule because I just recently purchased 3 multiple squads for every common army wave 2 thru 8.
Don't know what you mean by Double Attack Special Power, but a Special Attack has to be used on engaged figures, but a Special Power does not.

The common squad figures you moved you must attack with.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 06:00 PM
MI_Tiger's Avatar
MI_Tiger MI_Tiger is offline
 
Join Date: May 3, 2007
Location: MI - Sterling Heights
Posts: 604
MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby! MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby! MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby! MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper View Post
Just to throw a monkey wrench into this discussion:

Correct me if I am wrong,
A Double Attack Special power must be directed at the engaged figure(s) as long as it is still engaged and still alive.
Double Attack doesn't change the nature of the attack, it just lets you do it twice. The second attack has to follow all normal attack rules, including engagement requirements. So, yes, Syvarris' second attack (for example) must be directed at an engaged figure, if any.


Quote:
Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper View Post
Since I am typing I need a sanity check:
Comman Squad Question: must I attack with the figures that moved, or can I move 4 figures and then attack with 4 seperate figures?

My understanding is that I must attack with the figures I moved this turn. Please chime in ( i need some expert input so feel comfortable in this rule because I just recently purchased 3 multiple squads for every common army wave 2 thru 8.
Your understanding is correct. Unless a special power says otherwise (like the Zombies), you must attack with the figures you moved that turn.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 06:01 PM
#1MustangScaper's Avatar
#1MustangScaper #1MustangScaper is offline
 
Join Date: March 14, 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
#1MustangScaper has disabled reputation
Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

Double Attack Special Power: Krug & Syvarris has this. It is a special power. Are you saying Syvarris can attack an engaged figure and then on his second attack, target a non-enganged figure?

Edit: Never mind.

must make map bigger..need more army..need more virtualscape designs..must buy expansions...


Last edited by #1MustangScaper; April 23rd, 2009 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 06:03 PM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 18, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 15,028
Images: 252
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper View Post
Double Attack Special Power: Krug & Syvarris has this. It is a special power. Are you saying Krug can attack an engaged figure and then on his second attack, target a non-enganged figure?
Okay now that I know what you're talking about, no. What MI_Tiger said is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 06:03 PM
gorthan313's Avatar
gorthan313 gorthan313 is offline
displays Schultzian haplessness
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - VA - Winchester
Posts: 5,736
gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness gorthan313 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities

Quote:
Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper View Post
Double Attack Special Power: Krug & Syvarris has this. It is a special power. Are you saying Krug can attack an engaged figure and then on his second attack, target a non-enganged figure?

If the second figure is not engaged to Krug, then the big boy can't attack that figure. He only has range 1, you realize.


Your curiosity will be the death of you....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonlen and Zelrig Archkyrie11 HeroScape General Discussion 10 April 24th, 2009 11:40 AM
Sonlen's Dragon and Einar's Dragon -le0emperor- Official Units 22 December 9th, 2008 08:12 PM
Does a figure that is engaged have to attack Cole Official Rules & FAQ's 13 March 13th, 2008 05:17 PM
Dragon Healing/Swoop while engaged Jay Cain Official Rules & FAQ's 29 January 18th, 2008 04:43 PM
Ranged attack on second enemey while engaged with first marshalllawless Official Rules & FAQ's 16 May 31st, 2006 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.