Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11185  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 07:23 PM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,339
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Interesting. I apologize, I was wrong then. I would still rule against it in a tournament setting, unless Matthias said otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #11186  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 07:32 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Akina Pass (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,107
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 36
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Interesting. I apologize, I was wrong then. I would still rule against it in a tournament setting, unless Matthias said otherwise.
This is basically my viewpoint as well.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #11187  
Old June 2nd, 2019, 07:36 PM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,339
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Actually, I’d say you probably can; @Scytale is 100% right. Nakita can engagement strike a placed figure, so it would seem that you can TeleCarry as well. I really wish HeroScape followed RAI, but the designers were pretty clear on following RAW (look at the Taelord getting Stealth Flying example).
Reply With Quote
  #11188  
Old June 3rd, 2019, 12:48 AM
Agent Minivann's Avatar
Agent Minivann Agent Minivann is offline
Quest Quitter
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: AZ - Tucson
Posts: 6,849
Blog Entries: 2
Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death! Agent Minivann is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Regarding the Brunak question. I seem to remember an old discussion about Carry, but I can't seem to find it. IIRC it was about whether or not Brunak can Carry with a move of 0. In essence, act as a stationary bridge across lava. I don't remember what came out of that discussion, but I think it is related, and would serve as precedent in the final answer.
Reply With Quote
  #11189  
Old June 3rd, 2019, 08:50 AM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 24,639
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I don’t believe so, because I think the Bracers of Teleportation are used before and instead of moving. If the Carrying figure ends its Teleport adjacent to a figure, then they can use their normal movement to cardy a figure.

I disagree. Reading both effects, I think it can be done.


Carry says "Before moving [carrier], choose an unengaged friendly small or medium figure adjacent to [carrier]. After you move [carrier], place the chosen figure adjacent to [carrier]."


Bracers of Teleportation says "This figure may use these bracers before moving. Instead of moving normally, you may place this figure on any same-level space(s) within 10 spaces of its current location. If this figure is engaged when it starts to teleport, it will not take any leaving engagement attacks." (my italics)


Carry specifies "Before moving", not "Before moving normally". So,since both effects trigger before moving, you get to choose which order to apply them. Choose the Carry effect first, then the Bracers effect. And you just teleported two figures.


What you cannot do is what you suggested: use Bracers and then use Carry with a normal move because Bracers specifically says "instead of moving normally".


~Z
I think this is right for the right reason. It’s also consistent with Scy’s answer, but as cmg explains here, you need to go no further than the text on the cards. It’s not the answer I would have guessed without looking, but it appears to be correct.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #11190  
Old June 4th, 2019, 08:04 PM
capsocrates's Avatar
capsocrates capsocrates is offline
My six-year-old sister-in-law calls the shots
 
Join Date: October 6, 2010
Location: USA - CO - Denver area
Posts: 13,447
Images: 11
capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Actually, I’d say you probably can; @Scytale is 100% right. Nakita can engagement strike a placed figure, so it would seem that you can TeleCarry as well. I really wish HeroScape followed RAI, but the designers were pretty clear on following RAW (look at the Taelord getting Stealth Flying example).
You don't think the designers intended Taelord to have Stealth Flying? I think that was completely their intention and they just overlooked the importance of making it a separate power. Wasn't he the first to have the no LEAs clause?

Your custom probably has too much Defense.

--

A Child of the Risen Lord
--
Oklahoma HS Events - Colorado HS Events
Continuing Classic Heroscape: C3V SoV
Maps Customs Trades
Reply With Quote
  #11191  
Old June 4th, 2019, 08:11 PM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,339
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by capsocrates View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Actually, I’d say you probably can; @Scytale is 100% right. Nakita can engagement strike a placed figure, so it would seem that you can TeleCarry as well. I really wish HeroScape followed RAI, but the designers were pretty clear on following RAW (look at the Taelord getting Stealth Flying example).
You don't think the designers intended Taelord to have Stealth Flying? I think that was completely their intention and they just overlooked the importance of making it a separate power. Wasn't he the first to have the no LEAs clause?
There’s no mention of whether or not he takes LEAs in his power. I’d put money (not a lot, but some) on the fact that they just forgot to, realized he sucks, and then said, “screw it, he doesn’t.”
Reply With Quote
  #11192  
Old June 4th, 2019, 08:16 PM
capsocrates's Avatar
capsocrates capsocrates is offline
My six-year-old sister-in-law calls the shots
 
Join Date: October 6, 2010
Location: USA - CO - Denver area
Posts: 13,447
Images: 11
capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth capsocrates is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by capsocrates View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Actually, I’d say you probably can; @Scytale is 100% right. Nakita can engagement strike a placed figure, so it would seem that you can TeleCarry as well. I really wish HeroScape followed RAI, but the designers were pretty clear on following RAW (look at the Taelord getting Stealth Flying example).
You don't think the designers intended Taelord to have Stealth Flying? I think that was completely their intention and they just overlooked the importance of making it a separate power. Wasn't he the first to have the no LEAs clause?
There’s no mention of whether or not he takes LEAs in his power. I’d put money (not a lot, but some) on the fact that they just forgot to, realized he sucks, and then said, “screw it, he doesn’t.”
If i may direct you to the Official Card/Rules Errata thread, where it states
Quote:
Original card states Flying only without mentioning disengagement strikes, as Stealth Flying had not yet been named.

Your custom probably has too much Defense.

--

A Child of the Risen Lord
--
Oklahoma HS Events - Colorado HS Events
Continuing Classic Heroscape: C3V SoV
Maps Customs Trades
Reply With Quote
  #11193  
Old June 4th, 2019, 08:41 PM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,339
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by capsocrates View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by capsocrates View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
Actually, I’d say you probably can; @Scytale is 100% right. Nakita can engagement strike a placed figure, so it would seem that you can TeleCarry as well. I really wish HeroScape followed RAI, but the designers were pretty clear on following RAW (look at the Taelord getting Stealth Flying example).
You don't think the designers intended Taelord to have Stealth Flying? I think that was completely their intention and they just overlooked the importance of making it a separate power. Wasn't he the first to have the no LEAs clause?
There’s no mention of whether or not he takes LEAs in his power. I’d put money (not a lot, but some) on the fact that they just forgot to, realized he sucks, and then said, “screw it, he doesn’t.”
If i may direct you to the Official Card/Rules Errata thread, where it states
Quote:
Original card states Flying only without mentioning disengagement strikes, as Stealth Flying had not yet been named.
...which, without reading past the first page of that thread, appears to be speculation more than an official word passed down from the designers.
Reply With Quote
  #11194  
Old June 18th, 2019, 01:20 AM
crazafon's Avatar
crazafon crazafon is offline
 
Join Date: September 28, 2018
Location: USA - WI - Madison
Posts: 4
crazafon is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Hey quick question about something that my group debated last time we played. What exactly are the limitations about how a figure can be placed on a hex? I assume the base can't move over the far edge of the hex at all. Are there rules about staying on the raised part of the hex in the middle?
Reply With Quote
  #11195  
Old June 18th, 2019, 04:27 AM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Akina Pass (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,107
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 36
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

You are supposed to keep the base on the raised part of the hex. I’m not sure if its in the rulebook or not, but it likely is in one of them somewhere.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #11196  
Old June 18th, 2019, 09:10 AM
itsbuzzi's Avatar
itsbuzzi itsbuzzi is offline
 
Join Date: November 27, 2012
Location: USA - RI - Providence
Posts: 352
itsbuzzi knows what's in an order marker itsbuzzi knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazafon View Post
Hey quick question about something that my group debated last time we played. What exactly are the limitations about how a figure can be placed on a hex? I assume the base can't move over the far edge of the hex at all. Are there rules about staying on the raised part of the hex in the middle?
Although you are open to point the figure in the direction of your choosing. But once done with that figures' turn you are not allowed to move them again, by official rules. So if a certain figure leans a certain way naturally you can aim them in such a way as to make them harder for opponents figures to see.

Keep doing what you're doing, but do it better. ~Self

Classic Card Scans & Tourney Map Building Requirements Excel Sheet
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 11:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.