Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #49  
Old December 14th, 2011, 10:52 AM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is online now
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 23,205
Images: 110
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnutt99 View Post
- SACRED BAND DEFY DEATH 15 : Defending Against Passing Swipes and Falling Damage
Can Sacred Band Defy Death 15 help to stop passing swipes and falling damage?
Yes, but only if the Sacred Band figure is adjacent to Parmenio when they would receive that damage. For example, if
the Sacred Band figure is adjacent to Parmenio and an opponent's figure, and they move away from both, the opponent's
figure would then be able to hit them with a passing swipe, but Parmenio would not be able to use Sacred Band Defy
Death 15, because that figure is no longer adjacent. (Hasbro FAQ)
I assume this would also apply to wounds inflicted by the Wannok glyph, right?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old December 15th, 2011, 04:47 AM
Fencerjared's Avatar
Fencerjared Fencerjared is offline
 
Join Date: May 15, 2007
Location: USA - TX - Austin
Posts: 1,432
Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnutt99 View Post
- SACRED BAND DEFY DEATH 15 : Defending Against Passing Swipes and Falling Damage
Can Sacred Band Defy Death 15 help to stop passing swipes and falling damage?
Yes, but only if the Sacred Band figure is adjacent to Parmenio when they would receive that damage. For example, if
the Sacred Band figure is adjacent to Parmenio and an opponent's figure, and they move away from both, the opponent's
figure would then be able to hit them with a passing swipe, but Parmenio would not be able to use Sacred Band Defy
Death 15, because that figure is no longer adjacent. (Hasbro FAQ)
I assume this would also apply to wounds inflicted by the Wannok glyph, right?
I don't see why not.

"Anti"-Oxymoron
I'm anti-fashion, anti-religion
Anti-police and anti-system;
Anti-commercial and anti-prison,
Anti, anti-everything.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old December 15th, 2011, 03:38 PM
Dwarvenwarrior123's Avatar
Dwarvenwarrior123 Dwarvenwarrior123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 1, 2010
Location: USA-KS-KansasCity-Merriam
Posts: 420
Dwarvenwarrior123 is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Recently their was a tournment around my area and out of the 16 man tourny the winner's army was:
Sacred Band x4 200
Parmino 290
Krav Maga 390
Marcus 490
Isamu 500
I played against him with my 10th Reg Army (10th x4 Raelin Kaemon awa) he brought in the krav which I got lucky and quickly destroyed. I also got really lucky and Awa took out Marcus. I started having problems when the sacred band and Parmino came out to play. He got defy death almost every single time and after I lost Raelin (Isamu) the Sacred band tore apart the rest of my 10th I think he only lost once in the whole tourney against who I don't know

Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old April 6th, 2015, 07:15 PM
Serenity's Avatar
Serenity Serenity is offline
 
Join Date: October 26, 2010
Location: USA-CA-San Francisco (Antioch)
Posts: 917
Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Parmenio
C3V and SoV Custom Synergies
Spoiler Alert!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old March 23rd, 2021, 02:58 PM
Astroking112's Avatar
Astroking112 Astroking112 is online now
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 3,059
Images: 39
Blog Entries: 59
Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Book of Parmenio View Post
SACRED BAND DEFY DEATH 15 : Defending Against Passing Swipes and Falling Damage
Can Sacred Band Defy Death 15 help to stop passing swipes and falling damage?
Yes, but only if the Sacred Band figure is adjacent to Parmenio when they would receive that damage. For example, if the Sacred Band figure is adjacent to Parmenio and an opponent's figure, and they move away from both, the opponent's figure would then be able to hit them with a passing swipe, but Parmenio would not be able to use Sacred Band Defy Death 15, because that figure is no longer adjacent. (Hasbro FAQ)
Is this ruling still correct? The Battle for the Underdark rulebook seems to imply that leaving engagement attacks are resolved while the figure is still on the space that it was engaged, not the space after the movement is executed:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astroking112 View Post
Looking at the [BftU rulebook PDF] online, it seems to imply two different things:

Looking at Page 11, it mentions that "...as soon as your figure moves away (onto a space that's not adjacent), the opponent's figure may take a 'leaving engagement attack' on your figure..." This implies that the move is executed, I think, since they occur simultaneously.

The appendix on Page 17 does note that "for the sake of rules resolution, it is considered to have received the wounds while on the last space in which it was engaged with the figure that rolled the leaving engagement attack." This would imply that the figure is destroyed before the movement actually occurs.

However, according to the book of Parmenio, the damage is actually applied after movement? It's of course worth noting that the BftU rulebook probably came after the Parmenio ruling, despite them contradicting each other.

So there are a couple of different interpretations, it seems. An official ruling for where the Ebon Armor should spawn seems like it would be useful either way.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old March 23rd, 2021, 03:11 PM
OEAO's Avatar
OEAO OEAO is offline
Cooking Rice is Hard
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,877
Images: 2
OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OEAO is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Ken and I would rule the other way on it: Defy Death should trigger on a LEA (following the BftU rules on pg17 of the appendix).

Last edited by OEAO; March 23rd, 2021 at 03:15 PM. Reason: Similarly, you can't Scatter away from a Cleave
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old March 23rd, 2021, 04:11 PM
Chris Perkins's Avatar
Chris Perkins Chris Perkins is online now
 
Join Date: January 7, 2015
Location: USA - MA - Boston (Marlborough)
Posts: 715
Chris Perkins wears ripped pants of awesomeness Chris Perkins wears ripped pants of awesomeness Chris Perkins wears ripped pants of awesomeness Chris Perkins wears ripped pants of awesomeness Chris Perkins wears ripped pants of awesomeness Chris Perkins wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Parmenio

My understanding (easily could be incorrect though) is that you don't have to declare where you're moving to until after the LEA(s) are rolled for. Generally doesn't matter but if a hero takes, say, 3 LEA wounds they may want to move onto Kelda but not if all 3 LEAs miss.

If that's the case, I would think you could say 'roll for LEA', then your opponent rolls while you are still next to Parmenio (and hence get the bonus), then if you survive you then move wherever you want.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old March 24th, 2021, 01:10 AM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,900
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Parmenio

They do directly contradict but I'd take the later (BftU p. 17) ruling, especially since it says "for the sake of rules resolution".

Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old March 24th, 2021, 04:36 PM
Astroking112's Avatar
Astroking112 Astroking112 is online now
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 3,059
Images: 39
Blog Entries: 59
Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun Astroking112 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Parmenio

I agree that the BftU appendix should probably override this ruling, but it's unfortunate that the OP specifically states to play it the other way (while quoting Hasbro's FAQ, nonetheless!). If that ruling is outdated, then I think that it should be updated to reflect as much.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old March 24th, 2021, 04:52 PM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,771
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Parmenio

@theGuru , @R˙chean , @truth , and @Grungebob have final say as the OP is quoting the official FAQ. If the FAQ needs to be updated @theGuru might still have the source file somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old March 24th, 2021, 05:50 PM
Grungebob's Avatar
Grungebob Grungebob is offline
Mighty Mouse!
 
Join Date: May 3, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 10,433
Images: 31
Blog Entries: 5
Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Parmenio

I would say the BFTU is the correct ruling.


"Hahahah! You losers! I told you so!!"
~Clancampbell
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old March 27th, 2021, 01:13 PM
Hahnarama's Avatar
Hahnarama Hahnarama is offline
Huge Fanboy
 
Join Date: May 3, 2006
Location: GenCon City
Posts: 3,312
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 2
Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Hahnarama is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Parmenio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grungebob View Post
I would say the BFTU is the correct ruling.
And I say I like to do the Macarena while wearing nothing but a tutu.




GAME OVER Moon Pie!

Last edited by Grungebob; April 28th, 2021 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.