Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards > C3V and SoV Customs
C3V and SoV Customs A place for C3V and SoV customs


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #25  
Old June 30th, 2012, 06:43 PM
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Can not ignore himself because of typo - Online HS Season 2 Champion
 
Join Date: July 2, 2011
Location: USA - CO - Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,858
awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hive Lord 1233 View Post
Its a little unthematic,
Actually, I find it MORE thematic. I'm pretty sure that's the way it works-it's what the card says.

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old June 30th, 2012, 08:36 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 25,272
Images: 123
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Right. Engagement has nothing to do with Slippery. If you end your move adjacent to her she gets to roll, even if you started adjacent to her.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old June 30th, 2012, 08:38 PM
Grison's Avatar
Grison Grison is offline
 
Join Date: April 28, 2011
Location: USA - CA - Sacramento (Davis)
Posts: 176
Images: 7
Grison rolls all skulls baby! Grison rolls all skulls baby! Grison rolls all skulls baby! Grison rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Another Slippery 6 question:

Since Slippery 6 triggers when a qualifying opponent "ends its movement adjacent to Elaria", whould she also get to slip away if an adjacent figure chose to move zero spaces prior to attacking?

Technically it would seem that the opponent had a movement phase, but "ended its movement" without actually going anywhere.

Does the answer change if the opponent figure reorients itself without moving from the adjacent hex? What if it's a double-based figure like Q9 and uses the movement phase to "flip" its own orientation?

(Nit-picky, I know, but I'd rather have the discussion before it comes up mid-game.)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old June 30th, 2012, 08:41 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 25,272
Images: 123
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Yes, moving zero and free-flipping also trigger Slippery.

You've just got to ask: Is this figure taking a turn and has it ended its movement? If yes, check if it's adjacent to Elaria. If it is, she gets to roll for Slippery.

P.S. Remember that Slippery only works against squad figures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old June 30th, 2012, 10:41 PM
Ace_of_Spades's Avatar
Ace_of_Spades Ace_of_Spades is offline
 
Join Date: July 10, 2011
Location: USA - MI
Posts: 219
Ace_of_Spades knows what's in an order marker Ace_of_Spades knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
Yes, moving zero and free-flipping also trigger Slippery.

You've just got to ask: Is this figure taking a turn and has it ended its movement? If yes, check if it's adjacent to Elaria. If it is, she gets to roll for Slippery.

P.S. Remember that Slippery only works against squad figures.
What about the 4th Mass? Wait Then Fire requires "if none of the 4th Massachusetts Line move this turn" and if they didn't move, then Slippery 6 isn't triggered, right? But by that ruling, the 4th Mass could never use Wait Then Fire because they are moving zero spaces.

Never draw fire; it irritates everyone around you.
~Murphy's Laws of Combat
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old June 30th, 2012, 10:47 PM
MegaSilver's Avatar
MegaSilver MegaSilver is offline
Online HS Season 12 Champ, But Still Three-N-Two
 
Join Date: April 13, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Caneyville
Posts: 13,546
Images: 103
Blog Entries: 39
MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace_of_Spades View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
Yes, moving zero and free-flipping also trigger Slippery.

You've just got to ask: Is this figure taking a turn and has it ended its movement? If yes, check if it's adjacent to Elaria. If it is, she gets to roll for Slippery.

P.S. Remember that Slippery only works against squad figures.
What about the 4th Mass? Wait Then Fire requires "if none of the 4th Massachusetts Line move this turn" and if they didn't move, then Slippery 6 isn't triggered, right? But by that ruling, the 4th Mass could never use Wait Then Fire because they are moving zero spaces.
Well then none of them moved, so Elaria cannot Slip away.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old June 30th, 2012, 10:49 PM
Hive Lord 1233's Avatar
Hive Lord 1233 Hive Lord 1233 is offline
 
Join Date: September 10, 2011
Location: U.S. - WI - Grafton
Posts: 648
Hive Lord 1233 knows what's in an order marker Hive Lord 1233 knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace_of_Spades View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
Yes, moving zero and free-flipping also trigger Slippery.

You've just got to ask: Is this figure taking a turn and has it ended its movement? If yes, check if it's adjacent to Elaria. If it is, she gets to roll for Slippery.

P.S. Remember that Slippery only works against squad figures.
What about the 4th Mass? Wait Then Fire requires "if none of the 4th Massachusetts Line move this turn" and if they didn't move, then Slippery 6 isn't triggered, right? But by that ruling, the 4th Mass could never use Wait Then Fire because they are moving zero spaces.
I think the Movement described in the 4th Mass. power means physical movement, as in spaces, while Slippery is talking about the Movement Phase of any and every turn.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old July 1st, 2012, 11:11 AM
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Can not ignore himself because of typo - Online HS Season 2 Champion
 
Join Date: July 2, 2011
Location: USA - CO - Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,858
awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

It has been clarified (to my knowledge) that Wait then Fire should read like "at least one space." 4th still trigger Slippery.

I'm extremely disappointed that the knife behind Elaria's right ear is a hit zone. Perhaps an errata can be made? I thought your art team knew what they were doing, but now...



Last edited by awesomeunleashed; July 1st, 2012 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old July 1st, 2012, 12:31 PM
Sir Dendrik's Avatar
Sir Dendrik Sir Dendrik is offline
 
Join Date: May 23, 2006
Posts: 681
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 1
Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Wait, now I'm confused. What constitutes moving a figure 0? You don't have to declare which figures you're attacking with until the attack phase if you don't move the full number of squad figures. So when would moving 0 come up? Would that mean every member of the squad moves 0 when you don't move the full number of squad members? Seems unintuitive.

As in, if I have a Minion engaged with Elaria at the beginning of my turn, and I move 2 others up but not the engaged one, would that move it 0? What if I had a 4th Minion engaged elsewhere and I decided to attack with that one instead?

I'm probably beating a dead horse, but recent discourse has got me a little confused. I've never heard of the moving 0 mechanic before.

Handle origin: I used to film comedy skits with my friends. I didn't want any cursing in them, so I made up new insults, like "dendrik". Then Sir Denrick came out, and the rest is history.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old July 1st, 2012, 12:35 PM
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Can not ignore himself because of typo - Online HS Season 2 Champion
 
Join Date: July 2, 2011
Location: USA - CO - Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,858
awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun awesomeunleashed is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Dendrik View Post
As in, if I have a Minion engaged with Elaria at the beginning of my turn, and I move 2 others up but not the engaged one, would that move it 0? What if I had a 4th Minion engaged elsewhere and I decided to attack with that one instead?
In this case, you would have to say which one you "moved" before you do any attacking. I think...

Well, actually... I don't know... Now it seems like Slippery is going against the rule that you can decide which figure you moved during the attack phase...

Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old July 1st, 2012, 02:42 PM
Sir Dendrik's Avatar
Sir Dendrik Sir Dendrik is offline
 
Join Date: May 23, 2006
Posts: 681
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 1
Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness Sir Dendrik wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomeunleashed View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Dendrik View Post
As in, if I have a Minion engaged with Elaria at the beginning of my turn, and I move 2 others up but not the engaged one, would that move it 0? What if I had a 4th Minion engaged elsewhere and I decided to attack with that one instead?
In this case, you would have to say which one you "moved" before you do any attacking. I think...

Well, actually... I don't know... Now it seems like Slippery is going against the rule that you can decide which figure you moved during the attack phase...
No, you don't have to declare a theoretical "move" before attacking. I learned this from dok a while back concerning fighting against Goblin Cutters and attacking with whoever still had a GC next to them. This makes the moving 0 point kind of moot.

Handle origin: I used to film comedy skits with my friends. I didn't want any cursing in them, so I made up new insults, like "dendrik". Then Sir Denrick came out, and the rest is history.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old July 1st, 2012, 02:59 PM
teasedbyeldgrim teasedbyeldgrim is offline
 
Join Date: February 1, 2007
Posts: 47
teasedbyeldgrim is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Elaria the Pale

Move 0 is a time keeping mechanic used for figures that have a power that activates, "after moving, but before attacking". The idea is that a figure can still use the power even if he or she didn't move that turn. For example Kurrok does not have to actually move in order to summon an elemental. Similarly Heirloom can use Mage Hand after his move phase even if he remained on the same hex.
A move of 0 should not trigger Slippery 6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards > C3V and SoV Customs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Book: Inheritance Trilogy by Christopher Paolini - Book 3 tmacdagreat Books 132 May 15th, 2012 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.