|
Custom Units & Army Cards Fan-created HS army cards for units, glyphs, and equipment |
![]() |
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
#409
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
#410
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Precisely. So, with that in mind, is "..until the next order marker is revealed" the proper wording?
|
#411
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Sorry, I tend to forget that a turn would be limited to that single thrall alone rather than your turn phase. Otherwise I'd say leave it open and use the "for the entire turn" again.
And I see now why Gas Grenade has the before attacking normally since it only applies to the single Caucasus. “Adapt what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own.” |
#412
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Actually, that applies to the whole card. "Before attacking normally" references the attack phase, which is broken up in their unique case into special attack and then any normal attacks.
|
#413
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Well, I tried.
Sometimes it just makes sense to you until it doesnt. “Adapt what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own.” |
#414
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Hello,
Question regarding auras. I'm working on a custom that has nearly identical verbiage as RTS' Swamp Ooze, except it utilizes shadow instead of swamp. Obviously swamp ooze affects RTS, and I'm not about to call it Shadow Ooze, but is Shadow Aura acceptable in this situation? Someone mentioned that auras don't affect the person providing them, but unless it's explicitly worded that is doesn't affect them, it does right? The ability in question: SHADOW AURA All land, water, and ice spaces within 1 space of Ilvara that are no more than 5 levels above or below Ilvara's base are considered shadow spaces for figures you control. Thanks in advance, |
#415
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Based on the wording of the power, it would affect the figures own space. While this doesn’t break any rules per se, it does break from precedent as every other power with the word aura in its title does not affect its own figure. So it works fine mechanically, but the break from precedent might be a theme break for some people, depending on how concerned they were with strict continuity with classic scape terminology and precedent.
If that’s a problem for you, the easiest solution would probably be to just change the name of the power, something like Spreading Shadow might work well? |
#416
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Quote:
![]() How do you feel about EMIT SHADOW? |
#417
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Hmmm, shadow isn’t something I typically think of as being emitted, but others mileage may vary.
How about “Cloaked in Shadow” or “Consuming Darkness”? |
#418
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
My only counterargument to that would be that Estivara's ability CLOUD OF DARKNESS doesn't mention shadow at all.
![]() She's the only exception though; Deepwyrm and Darrak all reference shadow tiles in their "darkness" abilities. I'm fine going with either the "darkness" route or the "shadow" route. Example: Vark Darkclaws, but their ability is SHADOW MASTERS. I'm hoping for more of an action-y verb. Is CAST DARKNESS too fine of a line with Xundar's SA? |
#419
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
Yeah, since darkness refers to shadows elsewhere I wouldn’t worry about the estivara precedent. Cast Darkness is maybe a bit similar to shadow cast but probably fine?
How about “Invoke Shadow/Darkness” for a more actiony verb feel? |
#420
|
||||
|
||||
Re: Help With Wurdz
This is not an ability that is likely to be reused, so I'd encourage wording that really evokes theme:
Cloak of Shadow Veil of Darkness/Shadow Shroud of Night Something like that. |
![]() |
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|