Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:27 PM
Khenemutankh Khenemutankh is offline
 
Join Date: June 19, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 48
Khenemutankh is surprisingly tart
Double Spaced Figures on Water

Apologies if this has been clarified.

Say you have a map with a 2 hex wide river. You wish to take a double spaced unit (non-flying) across it. This unit must stop when it hits the water, yet cannot land crooked (the water is a lower height than the hex before it.) Can the unit not cross? How is this resolved?

Thanks in advance,

-Khen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:34 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Re: Double Spaced Figures on Water

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khenemutankh View Post
Apologies if this has been clarified.

Say you have a map with a 2 hex wide river. You wish to take a double spaced unit (non-flying) across it. This unit must stop when it hits the water, yet cannot land crooked (the water is a lower height than the hex before it.) Can the unit not cross? How is this resolved?

Thanks in advance,

-Khen
A figure only has to stop once it is fully in water. So a double spaced figure can cross a single hex wide water feature.


Last edited by Cavalier; November 9th, 2009 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:36 PM
rednax's Avatar
rednax rednax is offline
Runa's favorite Minion
 
Join Date: August 6, 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 2,302
Images: 4
rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Double Spaced Figures on Water

When a crossing a 1-hex wide river, a double-spaced unit can cross in one turn (assuming enough move)

When crossing a 2-hex wide river, a double-spaced figure may move on to the first space of the river, but must stop on the second space.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:53 PM
Darkmage7a's Avatar
Darkmage7a Darkmage7a is offline
Is The Skullmaster
 
Join Date: February 9, 2009
Location: USA - RI - North Providence
Posts: 1,816
Images: 46
Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darkmage7a wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Double Spaced Figures on Water

The figure cannot stop on a split level surface either. If it runs out of move one hex into the water it cannot end half-in and half-out. It has to stop before the water.

Also if it puts even at least one hex on lava it has to roll or be destroyed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 9th, 2009, 05:01 PM
Khenemutankh Khenemutankh is offline
 
Join Date: June 19, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 48
Khenemutankh is surprisingly tart
Re: Double Spaced Figures on Water

Thanks all for the helpful replies.

-Khen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 9th, 2009, 05:02 PM
R˙chean's Avatar
R˙chean R˙chean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,340
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth
Re: Double Spaced Figures on Water

I thought you were asking this:

Quote:
When a double-space figure moves from a water space on one level, up to a water space on the next level, can it continue moving since the 2 water spaces it now “occupies” are not on the same level?
If so, this is the answer:
Quote:
No. Technically, the double-space figure is on 2 water spaces so it must stop. But since it is on different levels and it cannot stop on different levels, it cannot move up to that 2nd level water space. It must find another way around.
Which can be found here, in the official FAQ:

http://www.heroscapers.com/community...o=file&id=1712

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 9th, 2009, 10:03 PM
Sherman Davies's Avatar
Sherman Davies Sherman Davies is offline
The Dark Lord on his dark throne
 
Join Date: July 16, 2007
Location: NY - Brooklyn
Posts: 11,573
Images: 372
Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth
Re: Double Spaced Figures on Water

Wow R˙chean, that's an obscure ruling. I don't think it's ever come up in a game I've played, but good to know nevertheless.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double-spaced figures steqhendaniels Official Rules & FAQ's 2 July 11th, 2009 08:52 AM
double spaced figures cartographer of valhalla Official Rules & FAQ's 8 April 25th, 2009 08:22 AM
Double spaced figures and water movement stubobj Official Rules & FAQ's 4 March 10th, 2009 05:50 PM
Double spaced figure movement Ice to Water to Ice CheddarLimbo Official Rules & FAQ's 18 August 18th, 2008 09:11 AM
double spaced figures and engagement oracle92 Official Rules & FAQ's 8 July 30th, 2007 06:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.