Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #25  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 04:04 PM
Tai-Pan Tai-Pan is online now
 
Join Date: December 16, 2006
Location: Germany - Gießen
Posts: 2,669
Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schulzy View Post
Played a game against a couple of Wyverns the other day, and I can testify to how much better they make the spiders. I played on a map with just two tiles of uncontained lava (i.e. on the same level as the rock spaces next to it), and was absolutly wrecked when it kept dropping figure after figure into the flow. He had his spiders run around holding the glyphs on his side of the field, and dropped a couple of figures into them too, which didn't turn out so well.
Agreed. If you have a map tailor made to the wyverns, they are amazing!

Jugger

It's like football with swords or LARPing without the geeky stuff. In other words, it's awesomely perfect!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old April 2nd, 2010, 05:51 PM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickles Pickles
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 28,750
Images: 40
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

You could "accidentally" stick some lava where a Wyvern could take benefit of it.

C3G Books of Index | C3G Sortable Index

Welcome to C3G | How to Lead a C3G Design | C3G Playtesting Sign Up | C3G Discord Server


Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmBatman View Post
At least you're pretty, though.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old April 12th, 2010, 01:23 PM
BurnyFlame BurnyFlame is offline
 
Join Date: August 7, 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,090
Images: 68
BurnyFlame has disabled reputation
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Quote:
Talon Grab : & Figures on 6th, 7th spaces of Move:
Q: Does the Wyvern technically "fly" over its landing space? Can it move an enemy figure forward with its 7th move?
A: The Wyvern must be able to end its movement before placing the carried figure. Not only can the Wyvern NOT carry a figure on the 7th space of its movement, but it cannot carry a figure on the 6th space either. Its movement must end first.
I read most of the discussion on this, but I think there is a situation where you can Talon Grab a figure on the 6th space. It simply involves a U-turn in the air, which I have no reason to believe is not possible.

Consider that the Wyvern is 6 spaces away from Sudema:

W W o o o o o S

then he flies 6 spaces so that his front space is over Sudema:

----------W W
o o o o o o o S

But then he does not continue forward, but instead backtracks, changing his "leading edge space" to be his former "trailing edge space." Double-space figures can do this on ground and I believe in the air. Then he simply flies a step back and places Sudema behind him.

o o o o S W W o

I believe this is legal (and a useful move), so does anyone disagree?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old April 12th, 2010, 01:46 PM
Riggler's Avatar
Riggler Riggler is offline
BoV Judge Emeritus Revisitus
 
Join Date: May 21, 2006
Location: FL - Tallahassee
Posts: 1,234
Riggler rolls all skulls baby! Riggler rolls all skulls baby! Riggler rolls all skulls baby! Riggler rolls all skulls baby! Riggler rolls all skulls baby! Riggler rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

I agree with your above example BurnyFlame. It seems in your example, which seems legal, the Wyvern could carry on it's sixth movement -- not what the Q&A says.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old April 12th, 2010, 02:20 PM
spiteofthedice's Avatar
spiteofthedice spiteofthedice is offline
no baby bump - false alarm!
 
Join Date: September 3, 2007
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 2,372
spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riggler View Post
I agree with your above example BurnyFlame. It seems in your example, which seems legal, the Wyvern could carry on it's sixth movement -- not what the Q&A says.
I agree also. That's the only scenario where the trailing end of the Wyvern does NOT follow the leading end onto the 6th space. The Wyvern can pass over the 6th space and still land before placing the Grabbed figure. I'll add it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old August 3rd, 2010, 02:18 AM
N/A N/A is offline
 
Join Date: April 18, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 15
N/A is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

The wyvern is one of the few figures I think can benefit from multiple order markers in the first opening turns, his speed allows him to get at the opponents first advancing figured and carry them back to your start zone for swamping. Keeping track of your opponents order markers can be useful too, letting you know which of his heroes wont be acting this round and are prime swoop material.

I consider using 3 order markers and risking 2 disengage attacks is worth dumping Drake or Sonlen either in lava or veeeery far away.

In addition they can bond with the spiders somewhat effectivley, dumping a unit in the middle of them and then attempting the entangle, still not entirely useful. Also one of the most oddly positioned figures on its base I've ever seen
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old August 25th, 2010, 01:02 AM
screwDriver screwDriver is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2010
Location: Philippines - Metro Manila
Posts: 557
screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Newbie question... can you talon grab a flying figure?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old August 25th, 2010, 01:08 AM
spiteofthedice's Avatar
spiteofthedice spiteofthedice is offline
no baby bump - false alarm!
 
Join Date: September 3, 2007
Location: Hamden, CT
Posts: 2,372
spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun spiteofthedice is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Yes. Any opponent's Small or Medium figure.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old August 25th, 2010, 01:24 AM
master4sword's Avatar
master4sword master4sword is offline
 
Join Date: November 10, 2009
Location: USA - MO
Posts: 266
master4sword knows what's in an order marker master4sword knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Quote:
Originally Posted by screwDriver View Post
Newbie question... can you talon grab a flying figure?
I believe so.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old August 25th, 2010, 01:35 AM
Tai-Pan Tai-Pan is online now
 
Join Date: December 16, 2006
Location: Germany - Gießen
Posts: 2,669
Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Tai-Pan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Best Wyvern story ever:

I was playing one of my first games with it and I managed to snag my opponent's Raelin from behind enemy lines, fly back towards my guys, and on the turn I grabbed, the Wyvern landed all skulls to finish Raelin off (she had one wound before). Talk about awesome!

Jugger

It's like football with swords or LARPing without the geeky stuff. In other words, it's awesomely perfect!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old August 25th, 2010, 02:25 AM
screwDriver screwDriver is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2010
Location: Philippines - Metro Manila
Posts: 557
screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker screwDriver knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

So that means I can grab a figure in flight and land it on water (if it benefits me, i.e. I have armies with powers enhanced by water). Which begs me to ask follow up questions... What happens if a flying figure lands on water? I don't think we have drowning penalties but do they suffer any penalties when taking flight again or is water treated like land for figures with flying abilities? Are you allowed to end a turn with a flying figure hovering over water or lava?

Sorry for the newbie questions and thanks for the clarifications.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old August 25th, 2010, 03:03 AM
Frylock's Avatar
Frylock Frylock is offline
 
Join Date: October 20, 2009
Location: USA-MA-Boston
Posts: 933
Frylock knows what's in an order marker Frylock knows what's in an order marker Frylock knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Wyvern

Quote:
Originally Posted by screwDriver View Post
So that means I can grab a figure in flight and land it on water (if it benefits me, i.e. I have armies with powers enhanced by water). Which begs me to ask follow up questions... What happens if a flying figure lands on water? I don't think we have drowning penalties but do they suffer any penalties when taking flight again or is water treated like land for figures with flying abilities? Are you allowed to end a turn with a flying figure hovering over water or lava?

Sorry for the newbie questions and thanks for the clarifications.
Technically, the flying figure would actually land in the water, rather than hover over it. And in the case of Lava, the figure would have to roll for lava damage if it "lands" (ends its movement) on the lava space. The only flying that ever actually happens is during the movement phase of a turn.

And to quote Cavalier, Heroscape is a game, not a simulation. For the sake of simplicity, many game mechanics defy logic and reason. I too like to try and rationalize certain aspects of the game, but I understand that the game was not designed to be rationalized.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wyvern- What's your army idea? Jexik Competitive Armies Discussion 74 March 11th, 2011 02:33 PM
Wyvern Pre-Release Discussion Tai-Pan Official Units 42 March 5th, 2010 06:34 PM
Wyvern & Lava MattserTruckRally Official Rules & FAQ's 184 February 28th, 2010 07:48 PM
Some help costing a Wyvern? HS ~ KNT Custom Units & Army Cards 11 March 23rd, 2007 10:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.