Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #289  
Old July 7th, 2016, 03:20 PM
igelkott igelkott is offline
 
Join Date: December 15, 2015
Location: USA - NY - Kingston
Posts: 76
igelkott is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajoq View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamjuven View Post
1. The black spell Ever After - "Return target squad creature from an opponent's figure graveyard to the battlefield on an empty space adjacent to a black Planeswalker you control. You may move and attack with that creature. At end of turn, return it to its owner's figure graveyard. "



My question is how this works? Do I play it, grab a figure, put it on the battlefield, and then attack with it, and then kill it at the end of the turn (ie attacking immediately)? Or do I grab the figure and then have to use that figure as my move and attack for the turn? Either way is a little confusing. I wish it said immediately like other cards do. I am going to assume that you immediately move and attack with it and just kill it at the end of the turn, but I wanted to ask.
The 'you may move and attack with that creature' is part of the resolution of the spell, you must do it then as the spell is resolving. Regardless of what phase in the turn you case the spell, the targeted creature comes out of the "Figure Graveyard" is placed onto the battle, MAY then move and attack, and then at the end of the turn a trigger is placed 'on the stack' to remove that figure.
My thought when I read the text was that since it doesn't specify a timing, that the default should be to move and attack during the normal move and attack phases of the turn along with whatever unit you activate. If it said immediately then your interpretation would of course be correct. I can see both interpretations being correct so is going to need a faq.
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old July 7th, 2016, 04:01 PM
Kajoq Kajoq is offline
 
Join Date: August 31, 2015
Location: USA - GA - Atlanta
Posts: 209
Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by igelkott View Post


My thought when I read the text was that since it doesn't specify a timing, that the default should be to move and attack during the normal move and attack phases of the turn along with whatever unit you activate. If it said immediately then your interpretation would of course be correct. I can see both interpretations being correct so is going to need a faq.
Compare to 'Malevolent Whispers'

'You may move and attack with target squad creature an opponent controls that is within 2 clear sight spaces of a red Planeswalker you control. That creature gets +1(ATK) until end of Turn'

It does not have the immediately phrasing, but you would be given the opportunity (MAY!) to move and attack after the resolution of the spell, and that figure would get +1(ATK) until EOT regardless of if you choose to move and attack.

You do not do this during the normal 'chosen figure's turn Move->Attack' or else there would be no point to playing this post-combat. It does not say 'during the chosen army's card turn move and attack'

___

Another MTG example of the distinction here:
Bloodbraid Elf
3/2
Haste
Cascade (When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card that costs less. You may cast it without paying its mana cost. Put the exiled cards on the bottom in a random order.)

vs


Abbot of Keral Keep
2/1
Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
When Abbot of Keral Keep enters the battlefield, exile the top card of your library. Until end of turn, you may play that card.

___

The bloodbraid elf is more akin to the your question with 'Ever After'
The way the exiled card is worded you must cast it RIGHT THEN or you lose your opportunity.

The abbot is more Akin to the way you were thinking of. It basically queues it up and you can use that ability until the end of the turn. Ever After does not say 'until the end of the turn you may move and attack'

The 'move and attack' is part of the resolution of the spell itself.
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old July 8th, 2016, 05:41 PM
igelkott igelkott is offline
 
Join Date: December 15, 2015
Location: USA - NY - Kingston
Posts: 76
igelkott is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

I'm convinced. But I agree it would be better if it used the word immediately as in other cards.
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old July 8th, 2016, 06:36 PM
vegietarian18's Avatar
vegietarian18 vegietarian18 is offline
Online HS Season 10 Champion
 
Join Date: September 5, 2011
Location: USA - IL - Peoria
Posts: 4,873
vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth vegietarian18 is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

I believe it's similar to Seize the Day which is immediate. But I don't have official backing for that
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old July 17th, 2016, 11:57 AM
Tornado's Avatar
Tornado Tornado is offline
Fan Fiction Prompt Master
 
Join Date: August 11, 2010
Location: USA - MI - Kalamazoo (Climax)
Posts: 29,752
Images: 392
Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

For Nahiri's Pass Through Stone, that is a Move and not a Teleport correct?
I assume it is since it says move instead of place.
Also you do take LEAs while using PTS correct?

For the Bloodline Nobles and their power that is based off of their Attack. That is total combined Attack from spells, high ground ect. correct?

A cloud can change its semblance, yet retain its will
With the intimacy of destruction, One knows what it is to be alive
The empty sky holds no reflection, for sorrow
- Eslo Rudkey
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old July 17th, 2016, 01:11 PM
TREX's Avatar
TREX TREX is offline
"like" happy
 
Join Date: February 24, 2010
Location: USA- ID- PRESTON
Posts: 7,995
TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

@Tornado, I believe you are correct about the bloodline nobles. As it does not specify the value on their card making the assumption that it is their whole attack including height advantage.


The Nahiri thing says move, and if it does not specify, I do think it means that she will take a LEA.
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old July 19th, 2016, 12:56 PM
chas's Avatar
chas chas is offline
 
Join Date: June 23, 2008
Location: USA- NY - New York City
Posts: 5,119
Blog Entries: 64
chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

I'm working on my own FAQ, which will include various questions of mine, those here, on the FAQ thread including some for which answers were received from Hasbro, and eventually from those on bgg. Whew! Answers on the "Book of threads" will still supplement my own list.
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old July 24th, 2016, 09:26 AM
Tornado's Avatar
Tornado Tornado is offline
Fan Fiction Prompt Master
 
Join Date: August 11, 2010
Location: USA - MI - Kalamazoo (Climax)
Posts: 29,752
Images: 392
Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by TREX View Post
@Tornado, I believe you are correct about the bloodline nobles. As it does not specify the value on their card making the assumption that it is their whole attack including height advantage.


The Nahiri thing says move, and if it does not specify, I do think it means that she will take a LEA.
So it has a 'movement of 4'?

The wording is different than most other powers. It says '...you may move her to a space of equal terrain elevation within 4 spaces of her.'

This reads more like a teleport power and it is called Pass Through Stone so it makes me think she can go through Ruins, figures ect.

This has been strongly debated. I just wish they would have said 'place' if it is a teleport or said 'move up to 4 spaces' is it is a move.

The current wording is wishy-washy and in between.

A cloud can change its semblance, yet retain its will
With the intimacy of destruction, One knows what it is to be alive
The empty sky holds no reflection, for sorrow
- Eslo Rudkey
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old July 25th, 2016, 03:49 PM
The B.I.V.'s Avatar
The B.I.V. The B.I.V. is offline
Spandau Ballet Fanboy
 
Join Date: December 3, 2007
Location: Centerville, Utah
Posts: 3,007
Images: 71
Blog Entries: 10
The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla The B.I.V. is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: AotP Question Dump

Sounds similar to Granite Guardians' Gain High Ground:

"After taking a turn with Granite Guardians, you may move each Granite Guardian you control up to one space. This space may be up to 4 levels higher."

I agree that the wording is weird, but I'd hafta agree with Trex, that it's a move, and therefore, she takes the LEA.

I'm HipHoppa in Urban Rivals, the coolest, online CCG of all time!
The B.I.V.'s Big Bad Custom Creations
The B.I.V.'s Big Bad Heroic Creations
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old July 25th, 2016, 04:17 PM
obfuscatedhippo's Avatar
obfuscatedhippo obfuscatedhippo is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 1,408
Images: 28
obfuscatedhippo has disabled reputation
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tornado View Post
For Nahiri's Pass Through Stone, that is a Move and not a Teleport correct?
I assume it is since it says move instead of place.
Also you do take LEAs while using PTS correct?

For the Bloodline Nobles and their power that is based off of their Attack. That is total combined Attack from spells, high ground ect. correct?
I think of it more like an Earth Elemental's UNDERGROUND MOVEMENT. She phases underground and then when she pops up - if she rolls high enough - she erupts out of the ground injuring adjacent figures. I don't know her Bio/story to know if that's what happens.

http://www.heroscapers.com/community...ad.php?t=29625

But like most folks are saying here, if it was 'Scape they would clarify whether an engagement strike happens or not. Since it is AotP - if it does say she doesn't take them, then she is vulnerable to LEA.

Wondering though if she is already engaged and just Passes through Stone to an adjacent space - can she roll to damage her target and since she didn't leave engagement not have a LEA?

Probably should be considered like Flying where if she uses the power when she's engaged, she will take LEA.
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old July 25th, 2016, 04:19 PM
Tornado's Avatar
Tornado Tornado is offline
Fan Fiction Prompt Master
 
Join Date: August 11, 2010
Location: USA - MI - Kalamazoo (Climax)
Posts: 29,752
Images: 392
Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

There is no debate over LEA, the debate is if it is a 'move' based on the Move # of the figure or is it a 'place' with no distance restriction.

It is not like the GG because of the wording.

See the Book of for more.

EDIT: Now that last point is certainly still debate-able but I would have to say no LEAs if you end the 'move' adjacent to the same figures as it does not explicitly state you take an LEA as soon as you 'move'.
Do what the card says not what it does not.
That would be one that I could see going either way and being house ruled either way.

A cloud can change its semblance, yet retain its will
With the intimacy of destruction, One knows what it is to be alive
The empty sky holds no reflection, for sorrow
- Eslo Rudkey
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old July 26th, 2016, 08:16 AM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,491
Images: 439
Blog Entries: 3
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

Any movement/ space placement change of a figure is affected by LEAs, unless specifically mentioned otherwise.

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 11472 July 9th, 2021 08:22 AM
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 650 March 29th, 2021 05:12 AM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 265 February 27th, 2021 03:17 PM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 19 January 24th, 2021 11:18 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 10:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.