Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #37  
Old April 11th, 2008, 12:12 AM
rdhight's Avatar
rdhight rdhight is offline
Embraces the Suck
 
Join Date: June 1, 2007
Location: crawling through holes.
Posts: 2,678
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 4
rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Quote:
Originally Posted by zettian_guard
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosChild
The Nakitas get to roll for engagement strike if a figure is summoned, thrown, or otherwise placed adjacent to them.
Would it be possible to have this clarification placed somewhere on the Nakitas' first page? With the impending release of the Wolves of Badru, and their Special Attack, this situation is bound to come up in future games. A listing on the first page should clear up any questions before they are asked. Thanks.
Yes. It's nice to have this answered, and it belongs on the front page of the Book. I've encountered this question myself when "placing" fresh zombies on the board, and the number of figures that provoke it is only going to go up and up.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:41 PM
Matthias Maccabeus's Avatar
Matthias Maccabeus Matthias Maccabeus is offline
Don't Need Range in the Knight-time & Gencon Main Event Champion - 2018
 
Join Date: April 10, 2007
Location: IA - Councilbama
Posts: 3,954
Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death! Matthias Maccabeus is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

I have a question that came up yesterday while playing. Let's say that you moved up 2 of your 4th Mass and one of them engaged a Nakita and survived the engagment strike roll. There's a marrow warrior getting ready to spawn exactly 6 hexes away from your 4th Mass that engaged the Nakita. You try to kill the Nakita with your other 4th Mass so that you will free up the 4th Mass engaged to the Nakita to attack the Marro Warrior. The Nakita rolls for smoke powder and succeeds. Can your 4th Mass that is engaged attack the adjacent Nakita since you don't meed LOS when engaged or does smoke powder cancel out the attack since it says "the Nakita no longer has any visible hit zones for the remainder of the turn." So does that mean that the Nakitas are in essence invisible and we can't attack even if you're engaged or does that mean that melee attack can attack even if there's no visible hit zone?

Dragon Dice - (the 2nd best game there is) Learn to Play!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1h3q6...wujcr8vVf8e21G
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:42 PM
donaldb's Avatar
donaldb donaldb is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2008
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Posts: 68
donaldb Woo who?
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

I am pretty sure you can still attack them. Like you said, you don't have to see the unit when attacking it without range.

Do you have the NERV?
Frisbee. Heroscape. Airsoft. Life is simple.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:51 PM
ChaosChild's Avatar
ChaosChild ChaosChild is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: IN - Elkhart
Posts: 1,227
Images: 1
ChaosChild has disabled reputation
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Yes, you can attack a Nakita that was successful with her smoke powder if you are adjacent.

Kumiko is not impressed with your sculpt, either.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old April 27th, 2008, 07:35 PM
LongHeroscaper's Avatar
LongHeroscaper LongHeroscaper is offline
 
Join Date: October 8, 2006
Location: AR - Greenbrier
Posts: 1,525
LongHeroscaper has disabled reputation
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosChild View Post
Yes, you can attack a Nakita that was successful with her smoke powder if you are adjacent.
I am not sure why (really want to learn here ). Is it because when you attack adjacently, LoS is not required, which implies that hit zone does not have any role? Can we argue like that?
If not, then the 4th mass will not be able to the Nakita if she gets her smoke powder successfully.

L...o....n......g.....H...e.....r....o.....S....c....a....p...e......r .....
Heroscape Brief Card for Beginners.
How to share your maps with the world.
VirtualScape 101.
My map thread.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old April 27th, 2008, 08:57 PM
Sherman Davies's Avatar
Sherman Davies Sherman Davies is offline
The Dark Lord on his dark throne
 
Join Date: July 16, 2007
Location: NY - Brooklyn
Posts: 11,350
Images: 355
Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Quote:
Originally Posted by LongHeroscaper View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosChild View Post
Yes, you can attack a Nakita that was successful with her smoke powder if you are adjacent.
I am not sure why (really want to learn here ). Is it because when you attack adjacently, LoS is not required, which implies that hit zone does not have any role?
That's it exactly. You win a kewpie doll.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old July 6th, 2008, 12:48 AM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,546
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Okay folks, help me out here. Assume you are down to a situation where the only remaining units are Nakitas vs. Medium-sized melee squad opponents. At what blend of attack/defense of the opposing units does it make sense to risk the disengagement strike to pull away so that they will need to move adjacent again and suffer the engagement strike? I know the Nakita has a 50% chance of instadeath versus 30% for the enemy AND she has to take the risk first. Still, it seems that against a unit like the Minions it could be a good deal - especially if in so doing a height advantage becomes a possibility.

~Aldin, doing the danse macabre

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old July 6th, 2008, 01:09 AM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 17, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 16,447
Images: 262
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldin View Post
Okay folks, help me out here. Assume you are down to a situation where the only remaining units are Nakitas vs. Medium-sized melee squad opponents. At what blend of attack/defense of the opposing units does it make sense to risk the disengagement strike to pull away so that they will need to move adjacent again and suffer the engagement strike? I know the Nakita has a 50% chance of instadeath versus 30% for the enemy AND she has to take the risk first. Still, it seems that against a unit like the Minions it could be a good deal - especially if in so doing a height advantage becomes a possibility.

~Aldin, doing the danse macabre
Nakitas have almost no chance of killing the Minions before the Minions kill them even if they go first. (Just ran like 50 simulations) However with 4 attack dice the Nakitas chances improve greatly even without the engagement strike.

Although you do run a 50/50 risk, I would say against a squad like the Minions or some other squad that can do some heavy damage and has good defense or some defensive ability like counterstrike (e.g. fully bloodlusted Tagawa Samurai), it's a risk worth taking. If the squad has anything more than two attack, they stand a good chance of killing the Nakitas anyway.

In the situation you named, you'll usually have two choices.
1. Stay there and hope the dice work out for you
2. Disengage, potentially die, but potentially have much greater odds
I'm not usually a gambling man, but in this case, I'd be willing to take the (calculated) risk.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old July 6th, 2008, 01:14 AM
nyys's Avatar
nyys nyys is offline
quoting myself - insanity beckons
 
Join Date: June 21, 2007
Location: MA - South Shore
Posts: 15,222
Images: 2
nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Interesting, though I would never try it since 'outside the box' thinking like that never seems to benefit me.

Against a unit like the Minions it may very well be worth it, their 6 defense dice alone would make me desperate enough to try it never mind the 2 for 1 skulls.

Boston Marathon 4/15/13 3:39:41
Last Race: Naragansett Running Festival 7/21/13 - Half Marathon - 1:50:01
Next Race: KeyBank Vermont Marathon 5/25/14
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old July 6th, 2008, 08:59 AM
Sherman Davies's Avatar
Sherman Davies Sherman Davies is offline
The Dark Lord on his dark throne
 
Join Date: July 16, 2007
Location: NY - Brooklyn
Posts: 11,350
Images: 355
Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth Sherman Davies is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Hey, a question about their Engagement Strike came up in my game yesterday. I tried a search for the answer but didn't manage to find it.

Anyway, does the Nakita's (or Arkmer's, for that matter) Engagement Strike work against Phantom Walk characters like the Ninja of the Northern Wind if the ninja don't stop adjacent to them? In other words, if the ninja move through them and keep going do the agents get a roll?

My opinion was that the strike does happen, but we played the other way until we could find out the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old July 6th, 2008, 09:05 AM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

The way I read it, Ghost and Phantom Walk allow the figure to move through another figure without having to take a disengagement strike. They would still, if small or medium, take an Engagement Strike from the Nakita, even if not stopping.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old July 6th, 2008, 11:05 AM
Jexik's Avatar
Jexik Jexik is offline
Et tu, Jaxet?
 
Join Date: July 4, 2007
Location: IL - Elgin
Posts: 7,028
Images: 3
Blog Entries: 30
Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Nakita Agents

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldin View Post
Okay folks, help me out here. Assume you are down to a situation where the only remaining units are Nakitas vs. Medium-sized melee squad opponents. At what blend of attack/defense of the opposing units does it make sense to risk the disengagement strike to pull away so that they will need to move adjacent again and suffer the engagement strike? I know the Nakita has a 50% chance of instadeath versus 30% for the enemy AND she has to take the risk first. Still, it seems that against a unit like the Minions it could be a good deal - especially if in so doing a height advantage becomes a possibility.

~Aldin, doing the danse macabre
The only figure I could see it maybe making sense against is DW7K. As a medium figure with one life worth 100 points, he seems like the best engagement strike target in the game. Even then, I'd probably stay adjacent to him to try to punch through his non-stealth dodge defense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fomox View Post
(I've also played many matches with great, fun people who were using Q9. So using Q9 doesn't make you a tool. But being a tool sure seems to make you use Q9.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.