Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old February 18th, 2015, 01:38 PM
Yodaking's Avatar
Yodaking Yodaking is offline
C3G Landlord
 
Join Date: March 7, 2008
Posts: 27,882
Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Those wounds are all inflicted as part of a normal attack and so Dying Swipe would trigger.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old February 18th, 2015, 01:43 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 21,979
Images: 108
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yodaking View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnyFlame View Post
-Rulings and Clarifications-
Dying Swipe: When to activate
Q: Can I activate Dying Swipe on powers that inflict a wound or instantly destroy but are not normal attacks?
A: No, Dying Swipe can only activate when the Frost Giant of Morh is attacked by a normal attack and receives enough wounds to be destroyed. However, Dying Swipe can still hit those around him even if a non-adjacent figure is the one who attacked him.
Are Mortal Strike wounds from a MotH considered part of the normal attack, or a subsequent special power? if a MotH kills a FGoM with Mortal Strike, does Dying Swipe trigger?
Those wounds are all inflicted as part of a normal attack and so Dying Swipe would trigger.
That's certainly a reasonable interpretation, but I've heard others argue that Mortal Strike is a special power and its wounds are not part of the attack. (You could raise the same question about Deepwyrm Drow poison weapons, although they cannot affect Frosty so that's moot here.)

Another timing question: say Skahen kills the Frost Giant while Agent Carr is engaged with Frosty. Can Skahen move Carr with Cover Fire before Dying Swipe?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old February 18th, 2015, 02:03 PM
Yodaking's Avatar
Yodaking Yodaking is offline
C3G Landlord
 
Join Date: March 7, 2008
Posts: 27,882
Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

I'd think that would be a d20 roll off situation. It appears both powers activate at the same time. Sometimes Carr is quick enough to move out of the way and sometimes he is not.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old February 18th, 2015, 02:22 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 21,979
Images: 108
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

I tend to agree, there; there doesn't seem to be a clear dividing line on which would trigger first.

Honestly, I'm more torn on the first question; i.e. whether Mortal Strike wounds are part of the normal attack or not. @Rˇchean ?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old February 18th, 2015, 02:23 PM
Killometer's Avatar
Killometer Killometer is offline
Is a Tingly Soldier of Valhalla
 
Join Date: March 26, 2009
Location: Ben Lomond, CA
Posts: 5,829
Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death! Killometer is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of the Hunt
Mortal Strike
After attacking an opponent’s Unique Hero with this Master of the Hunt’s normal attack, roll 1 attack die for each wound inflicted in that attack. For each additional skull rolled, place 1 additional wound marker on the defending figure’s Army Card.
It pretty clearly seems to not be part of his normal attack-it specifically says "After attacking...with MotH's normal attack" and doesn't trigger until after the attacked figure has rolled defense dice. These are bonus unblockable wounds.

Therefore Dying Strike doesn't get triggered.


117-87-0 (4/13/09-2/22/15)
32-16-0 (10/17/09-7/21/12)
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old February 18th, 2015, 02:37 PM
killercactus's Avatar
killercactus killercactus is offline
The Guy That Thinks Runa is Good (and has actually won games with her)
 
Join Date: February 19, 2007
Location: OH - Austintown
Posts: 7,865
Images: 32
Blog Entries: 10
killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killometer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of the Hunt
Mortal Strike
After attacking an opponentís Unique Hero with this Master of the Huntís normal attack, roll 1 attack die for each wound inflicted in that attack. For each additional skull rolled, place 1 additional wound marker on the defending figureís Army Card.
It pretty clearly seems to not be part of his normal attack-it specifically says "After attacking...with MotH's normal attack" and doesn't trigger until after the attacked figure has rolled defense dice. These are bonus unblockable wounds.

Therefore Dying Strike doesn't get triggered.

I don't hold the rules stick over here (and I've gotten used to holding one...), but I agree with the honorable Kilometer. At least, if this was a Summoner Wars card, that's how I'd rule it.

Like battle reports? Click Tourney Reports (New 10/21/2012 - Cutters / Brutes!)
KC's Maps
Click KC's Customs
Scaper of the Week #57
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old February 18th, 2015, 03:33 PM
Rˇchean's Avatar
Rˇchean Rˇchean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,318
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Yes, d20 rolls if powers trigger at the same time.

As far as Mortal Strike wounds, it is after the attack and defense are resolved so, yes, it is the special ability inflicting the wounds, not the original attack.

Agreeing with the Kill..ers.

Disclaimer - The rules team is defunct, so it is just my recollection and interpretation. In other words, just my opinion.

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old February 13th, 2020, 07:35 AM
Black Hawk Black Hawk is offline
 
Join Date: January 7, 2018
Location: USA-TN-Knoxville
Posts: 9
Black Hawk is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Can this figure climb a ladder?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old February 13th, 2020, 08:05 AM
Chris Perkins's Avatar
Chris Perkins Chris Perkins is offline
 
Join Date: January 7, 2015
Location: USA - MA - Boston (Natick)
Posts: 205
Chris Perkins rolls all skulls baby! Chris Perkins rolls all skulls baby! Chris Perkins rolls all skulls baby! Chris Perkins rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Hawk View Post
Can this figure climb a ladder?
No.

From the Fortress of the Archkyrie rule book:
"Ladders may be used only by small or medium single-spaced figures"
(page 5, text under 'example 14')
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old February 26th, 2020, 01:56 AM
Leaf_It's Avatar
Leaf_It Leaf_It is offline
 
Join Date: February 19, 2008
Location: USA - Utah
Posts: 1,296
Images: 5
Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Frost Giant of Morh

You can always house rule it like I did, and let anything climb a ladder. Zetacron for super height? have at it. Q9? go for it. Grimnak? Sure why not? The limits are none existent if you play by your own rules.

I usually only use Ladders in Scenarios anyway, so at least for me, I have my own house rules for scenarios, per scenario. In standard 1v1/2v2 I play by the rulebook rules.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frost Giant of Morh pre release discussion jahosaphat Official Units 156 October 26th, 2010 03:04 PM
Frost Giant Wave D3 Speculation Tmac2200 HeroScape General Discussion 16 June 21st, 2010 02:25 PM
Giant Map Chiodos Maps & Scenarios 14 April 15th, 2007 03:25 PM
GIANT MAP theats Maps & Scenarios 13 September 23rd, 2006 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.