Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #49  
Old August 14th, 2015, 02:20 AM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,228
Images: 407
Blog Entries: 2
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

I think playing Dual Casting plays a card from your graveyard.
It doesn't read, "Until the end of turn, you may cast red sorceries from your graveyard"
Or, "the next red spell you play may be cast from your graveyard this turn."

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old August 14th, 2015, 10:34 AM
bradtato bradtato is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2012
Location: USA - Virginia - Glen Allen
Posts: 60
bradtato knows what's in an order marker bradtato knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquamaniac27 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Dual Casting: Does the spell I cast as a result of casting Dual Casting count towards my 3-spell per turn limit?

2: No, because if Dual Casting were cast ad my 3rd spell, its effect would have to be negated.
My response is, yes it does. It reads; "Play a red sorcery from your graveyard that you played this turn," not "copy a red sorcery." I can't think of any AotP card currently that copies a spell, but in Magic, casting (or playing) a card is not the same as copying a card or effect (a copied spell or ability immediately goes on "The Stack" and not cast). Granted, WotC could just be trying to avoid the concept of "The Stack" even though its how you resolve multiple instances.

Dual Casting specifically states you must play a sorcery from your graveyard that you played this turn.

But I don't have a rulebook in front of me to see if there's an FAQ.

That's the agreement that my opponent and I arrived at during the game that this situation presented itself, for the same reasons you listed ("play" vs. "copy"), but when I got to thinking about it afterwards, I thought it seemed a bit odd to have a card which, by its own rules, must be played as your second spell for that turn. Casting it as your first would leave you with no valid targets, and casting it third would use up your last spell for the turn, disallowing you to complete the instructions on the card. I feel like if the card was meant to be cast in a specific order, it would specify somehow. Magic is too careful when it comes to specificity ("play" vs "copy", "choose" vs "target" etc.), to leave something like that up to the imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old August 14th, 2015, 12:23 PM
aquamaniac27's Avatar
aquamaniac27 aquamaniac27 is offline
 
Join Date: November 9, 2007
Location: USA - PA - Landisville [Lancaster]
Posts: 594
Images: 23
Blog Entries: 14
aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquamaniac27 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Dual Casting: Does the spell I cast as a result of casting Dual Casting count towards my 3-spell per turn limit?

2: No, because if Dual Casting were cast ad my 3rd spell, its effect would have to be negated.
My response is, yes it does. It reads; "Play a red sorcery from your graveyard that you played this turn," not "copy a red sorcery." I can't think of any AotP card currently that copies a spell, but in Magic, casting (or playing) a card is not the same as copying a card or effect (a copied spell or ability immediately goes on "The Stack" and not cast). Granted, WotC could just be trying to avoid the concept of "The Stack" even though its how you resolve multiple instances.

Dual Casting specifically states you must play a sorcery from your graveyard that you played this turn.

But I don't have a rulebook in front of me to see if there's an FAQ.

That's the agreement that my opponent and I arrived at during the game that this situation presented itself, for the same reasons you listed ("play" vs. "copy"), but when I got to thinking about it afterwards, I thought it seemed a bit odd to have a card which, by its own rules, must be played as your second spell for that turn. Casting it as your first would leave you with no valid targets, and casting it third would use up your last spell for the turn, disallowing you to complete the instructions on the card. I feel like if the card was meant to be cast in a specific order, it would specify somehow. Magic is too careful when it comes to specificity ("play" vs "copy", "choose" vs "target" etc.), to leave something like that up to the imagination.

Yeah I'm not sure at all. I'm about to go down and finish painting the squads, I'll check the rule book while its there in front of me.

Edit: Rule book has nothing specific on Dual Casting. I would say that the spell Dual Casting allows you to play DOES NOT count towards your turn max. We should get an official ruling on this.

Last edited by aquamaniac27; August 14th, 2015 at 01:01 PM. Reason: Rule book
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old August 14th, 2015, 02:22 PM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,228
Images: 407
Blog Entries: 2
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

It seems pretty clear that it doesn't count, and it seems pretty obvious that the intent is that it doesn't count.


Again, it doesn't read something like "The next spell you cast may be cast from your graveyard." It says, "Play a card" just like "Draw a card" doesn't take up your normal draw or "Summon a creature squad" doesn't count against your normal summoning action.

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old August 14th, 2015, 02:34 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 23,374
Images: 121
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

If you guys ask Hasbro customer service and report back with answers, I'll add it to the FAQ thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old August 14th, 2015, 03:18 PM
bradtato bradtato is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2012
Location: USA - Virginia - Glen Allen
Posts: 60
bradtato knows what's in an order marker bradtato knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
If you guys ask Hasbro customer service and report back with answers, I'll add it to the FAQ thread.
I've contacted them via e-mail, and received a confirmation email stating to allow 48 hours for a response. I'll post an official response when I receive one.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old August 14th, 2015, 06:14 PM
aquamaniac27's Avatar
aquamaniac27 aquamaniac27 is offline
 
Join Date: November 9, 2007
Location: USA - PA - Landisville [Lancaster]
Posts: 594
Images: 23
Blog Entries: 14
aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confred View Post
It seems pretty clear that it doesn't count, and it seems pretty obvious that the intent is that it doesn't count.


Again, it doesn't read something like "The next spell you cast may be cast from your graveyard." It says, "Play a card" just like "Draw a card" doesn't take up your normal draw or "Summon a creature squad" doesn't count against your normal summoning action.

While it does seem obvious, vague wording is not a trademark of Magic. It just really threw me off.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old August 14th, 2015, 11:08 PM
Hogg's Avatar
Hogg Hogg is offline
 
Join Date: September 3, 2006
Location: Midgard - North Carolina
Posts: 3,673
Blog Entries: 1
Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Once the restless zombies all die so you roll every turn or only if you activate the planeswalkers?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old August 15th, 2015, 02:36 AM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,228
Images: 407
Blog Entries: 2
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

@Hogg "At the start of the turn of a black Planeswalker you control"

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old August 15th, 2015, 10:54 AM
gamjuven's Avatar
gamjuven gamjuven is offline
 
Join Date: June 22, 2006
Location: PA - Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,950
Images: 66
Blog Entries: 8
gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

Hey a question has come up regarding the firecats. When you summon them, the card says you may immediately attack with one. Can you play a spell or enchantment before the attack? This is very important when you consider the ability to play certain red enchantments that boost the cats' attack.

In the card game you would have lots of windows of opportunity to play enchantments and instants before a creature with haste would attack, but the wording on this makes me start to doubt it.

The rulebook doesn't have rules for stacking or technical order of things. You can both summon and play spells before phase 3.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old August 15th, 2015, 01:08 PM
bradtato bradtato is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2012
Location: USA - Virginia - Glen Allen
Posts: 60
bradtato knows what's in an order marker bradtato knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamjuven View Post
Hey a question has come up regarding the firecats. When you summon them, the card says you may immediately attack with one. Can you play a spell or enchantment before the attack? This is very important when you consider the ability to play certain red enchantments that boost the cats' attack.

In the card game you would have lots of windows of opportunity to play enchantments and instants before a creature with haste would attack, but the wording on this makes me start to doubt it.

The rulebook doesn't have rules for stacking or technical order of things. You can both summon and play spells before phase 3.

I would contest that because the Firecats' card says "immediately," you must attack with one before casting any spells on it. This attack is part of an ability, and so is not moving your turn to the attack step. You would summon, attack with one, and then cast spells, and then move onto your movement phase with your Planeswalker, then attack, then cast spells, then end your turn.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old August 15th, 2015, 04:16 PM
aquamaniac27's Avatar
aquamaniac27 aquamaniac27 is offline
 
Join Date: November 9, 2007
Location: USA - PA - Landisville [Lancaster]
Posts: 594
Images: 23
Blog Entries: 14
aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamjuven View Post
Hey a question has come up regarding the firecats. When you summon them, the card says you may immediately attack with one. Can you play a spell or enchantment before the attack? This is very important when you consider the ability to play certain red enchantments that boost the cats' attack.

In the card game you would have lots of windows of opportunity to play enchantments and instants before a creature with haste would attack, but the wording on this makes me start to doubt it.

The rulebook doesn't have rules for stacking or technical order of things. You can both summon and play spells before phase 3.

I would contest that because the Firecats' card says "immediately," you must attack with one before casting any spells on it. This attack is part of an ability, and so is not moving your turn to the attack step. You would summon, attack with one, and then cast spells, and then move onto your movement phase with your Planeswalker, then attack, then cast spells, then end your turn.
bradtato is correct. It seems like they want to minimize the amount of stacking in the game, which I approve of.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 534 January 18th, 2020 05:53 PM
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 11289 November 11th, 2019 02:44 AM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 252 March 17th, 2019 10:17 AM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 12 January 2nd, 2015 01:28 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.