Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 18th, 2008, 02:40 PM
HeroscapeLunatic's Avatar
HeroscapeLunatic HeroscapeLunatic is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2007
Location: USA - AZ - Prescott Valley
Posts: 1,187
HeroscapeLunatic knows what's in an order marker HeroscapeLunatic knows what's in an order marker
Question Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

As the card reads:

GLACIER TRAVERSE
If a Dzu-Teh is adjacent to a Glacier Mountain, the Dzu-Teh may
Glacier Traverse instead of moving normally. You may do this with any
or all Dzu-Teh you control each turn. To Glacier Traverse, move to any
unoccupied space adjacent to that Glacier Mountain.

My question:

After reading the second line thoroughly, I questioned how I had been playing the Dzu-Teh and seeing them being played as well. Interpreting the second line can be tricky, but assuming I have 3 or more squads of Dzu-Teh on the table, does this mean I could Glacier Traverse with all of my yetis on the same turn? It does say any or all, so this has me guessing. My intuition says no, but common sense reads like a book on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 18th, 2008, 02:44 PM
Mooseman's Avatar
Mooseman Mooseman is offline
 
Join Date: December 26, 2006
Location: FL - Tampa
Posts: 1,668
Images: 28
Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Shoalin Monks also have the "any or all" wording, so I would say the "any or all" really means "any or all that you activated this turn"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 18th, 2008, 03:15 PM
ProfessorDocker ProfessorDocker is offline
Most-CoNvincing Visionary
 
Join Date: December 24, 2006
Posts: 1,194
ProfessorDocker Woo who?
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Well, it says "the Dzu-Teh may Glacier Traverse instead of moving normally," so I would say that any Dzu-Teh that would not be able to move normally - that is, the ones not activated - could not use Glacier Traverse.

ProfessorDocker is telling a story...
in the ALIZARIN CAVE...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 18th, 2008, 03:19 PM
Onacara Onacara is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: January 1, 2007
Location: Pony Street
Posts: 16,992
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 27
Onacara is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

"Any or All" means "1 2 or all 3"..so traverse away!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 18th, 2008, 04:33 PM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Agreed with all the common sense answers that say you only get to move one squad's worth of Dzu-Tehs each turn, no matter which method of movement you happen to use.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 18th, 2008, 04:48 PM
HeroscapeLunatic's Avatar
HeroscapeLunatic HeroscapeLunatic is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2007
Location: USA - AZ - Prescott Valley
Posts: 1,187
HeroscapeLunatic knows what's in an order marker HeroscapeLunatic knows what's in an order marker
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Thanks for confirming the common sense side of my personalities.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 18th, 2008, 04:50 PM
Blue Dane's Avatar
Blue Dane Blue Dane is offline
South Florida Wave 8 Grand Champion
 
Join Date: June 3, 2006
Location: FL - Pembroke Pines, Southeast FL.
Posts: 293
Images: 1
Blue Dane is surprisingly tart
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeroscapeLunatic View Post
As the card reads:

GLACIER TRAVERSE
If a Dzu-Teh is adjacent to a Glacier Mountain, the Dzu-Teh may
Glacier Traverse instead of moving normally. You may do this with any
or all Dzu-Teh you control each turn. To Glacier Traverse, move to any
unoccupied space adjacent to that Glacier Mountain.

My question:

After reading the second line thoroughly, I questioned how I had been playing the Dzu-Teh and seeing them being played as well. Interpreting the second line can be tricky, but assuming I have 3 or more squads of Dzu-Teh on the table, does this mean I could Glacier Traverse with all of my yetis on the same turn? It does say any or all, so this has me guessing. My intuition says no, but common sense reads like a book on this one.
Interesting question HeroscapeLunatic; I could see how it could go either way. Common sense dictates that you only move any 3 in the squad, since it states "instead of moving normally".....but, why does it state "with any or all you control".

I haven't made up my mind on this one. One statement seems to contradict the other.



Can't find it? Try the Index | Live in Florida? Belated National Heroscape Day in SoFL
South Florida Game Days |
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 18th, 2008, 04:53 PM
NecroBlade's Avatar
NecroBlade NecroBlade is offline
"our design team knows what it's doing"
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Location: KY - Shepherdsville
Posts: 20,502
Images: 85
Blog Entries: 21
NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfessorDocker View Post
Well, it says "the Dzu-Teh may Glacier Traverse instead of moving normally," so I would say that any Dzu-Teh that would not be able to move normally - that is, the ones not activated - could not use Glacier Traverse.
/sign

317-149
C3V Brainstorm
Pepperony - 14/09/13
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 18th, 2008, 04:54 PM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Dane View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeroscapeLunatic View Post
As the card reads:

GLACIER TRAVERSE
If a Dzu-Teh is adjacent to a Glacier Mountain, the Dzu-Teh may
Glacier Traverse instead of moving normally. You may do this with any
or all Dzu-Teh you control each turn. To Glacier Traverse, move to any
unoccupied space adjacent to that Glacier Mountain.

My question:

After reading the second line thoroughly, I questioned how I had been playing the Dzu-Teh and seeing them being played as well. Interpreting the second line can be tricky, but assuming I have 3 or more squads of Dzu-Teh on the table, does this mean I could Glacier Traverse with all of my yetis on the same turn? It does say any or all, so this has me guessing. My intuition says no, but common sense reads like a book on this one.
Interesting question HeroscapeLunatic; I could see how it could go either way. Common sense dictates that you only move any 3 in the squad, since it states "instead of moving normally".....but, why does it state "with any or all you control".

I haven't made up my mind on this one. One statement seems to contradict the other.
That card was written in the great "you control" or "friendly" or "all" controversies. It was to make sure you didn't try to move your opponent's or your teammate' guys around some other glacier.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 18th, 2008, 05:22 PM
Blue Dane's Avatar
Blue Dane Blue Dane is offline
South Florida Wave 8 Grand Champion
 
Join Date: June 3, 2006
Location: FL - Pembroke Pines, Southeast FL.
Posts: 293
Images: 1
Blue Dane is surprisingly tart
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revdyer View Post
That card was written in the great "you control" or "friendly" or "all" controversies. It was to make sure you didn't try to move your opponent's or your teammate' guys around some other glacier.
Mmmmm....I hadn't thought about it that way. Thanks for clearing that up.



Can't find it? Try the Index | Live in Florida? Belated National Heroscape Day in SoFL
South Florida Game Days |
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 18th, 2008, 05:26 PM
rym's Avatar
rym rym is offline
Who Bummed Woo
 
Join Date: September 9, 2007
Location: TX -Arlington
Posts: 3,021
Blog Entries: 25
rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

I think that if it was intended to be all the Dzu-Teh's in your army getting to Glacier Traverse, (i.e more than one squad), then the card would read like the Shades of Bleakewoode's card, which states "for each Shade you control". There isn't any "any or all" wording on the Shades card and the consensus there is that you can Soul Devour with 3, 6, or 9, or how many ever Shades you control.

"Chewie should move 6, lumbering or not. He's got long-ass legs"-
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 18th, 2008, 08:02 PM
rdhight's Avatar
rdhight rdhight is offline
Embraces the Suck
 
Join Date: June 1, 2007
Location: crawling through holes.
Posts: 2,678
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 4
rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Dzu-Teh's Glacier Traverse

The "instead of moving normally" is what limits the Dzu-Teh. Since one to three of them move normally, that same one to three have the option to traverse. "Any or all you control" is probably a clumsy attempt to say that you can mix normal movement and glacier traversing-- you don't have to walk with all or traverse with all. The Shaolin Monks do it better: "Instead of moving normally, any or all Shaolin Monks may Stealth Leap." The pointless "you control" is dropped, making for an improved card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dzu-Teh ( Yeti's) Glaciar Traverse Special YAKMASTERSCAPE Official Rules & FAQ's 8 July 8th, 2007 04:07 AM
Glacier Bases Su_Nan HeroScape General Discussion 18 April 12th, 2007 04:43 AM
Dzu-Teh traverse question. hannibal twin 8 Official Rules & FAQ's 13 March 23rd, 2007 07:00 PM
Glacier question K/H_Addict HeroScape General Discussion 2 October 1st, 2006 03:23 AM
Glacier traverse and disengagement. DEATHWALKER 1970 Official Rules & FAQ's 23 July 4th, 2006 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.