Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards > C3V and SoV Customs
C3V and SoV Customs A place for C3V and SoV customs


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #25  
Old August 24th, 2014, 06:36 AM
Cat Attack Man's Avatar
Cat Attack Man Cat Attack Man is offline
 
Join Date: October 18, 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 52
Cat Attack Man is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrcElfArmyOne View Post
You always have all of the powers on your army card.

Say I have 2 squads of Heavy Gruts and Ne-Gok-Sa.
My opponent still has Grimnak and Marcu left.
Ne-Gok-Sa mindshackles Grimnak.
The Heavy Gruts gained a hero, and may now bond, even though they could not bond all game. They never lost that special power, it was never negated, and it never disappeared from their army card. They just never got to utilize it, but as soon as they could, they are allowed to.

Okay, but the question is really about the situation should the reverse happen.

Above, the bond has been created because of the mindshackle, so it's pretty clear. But if you reverse the situation, i.e. Ne-Gok-Sa mindshackles Grimnak away from the Heavy Gruts, then I'd say the bond is broken. It's not important in this example because there is no other benefit with their bond, but if you replace Grimnak with Guilty and HGs with the Raiders, then I still think the bond does not exist anymore, so that special power becomes redundant because you no longer meet the criteria.

More than happy to be corrected it's just that that's how I read it.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old August 24th, 2014, 08:38 AM
teasedbyeldgrim teasedbyeldgrim is offline
 
Join Date: February 1, 2007
Posts: 47
teasedbyeldgrim is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

"The bond" isn't permanent. Think of it as a switch. Bonding on = extra turn. Bonding off = extra attack. So, you are right. The bond doesn't exist anymore. That means it is always off, and you always get to add one to your attack value.

Actually if you think of bonding as a switched outlet, we can extend the analogy. We can unplug one hero and plug in another before we turn on bonding. Only certain heroes (wild) have a plug that fits the outlet.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old August 24th, 2014, 09:06 AM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,298
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness OrcElfArmyOne wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

"If you do not take a turn with any Human or Giant Hero you control"

This is the text on the card. If you don't have a bonding hero, then you are not taking a turn with "any Human or Giant hero you control", regardless of whether or not you even could take a turn with them.

"add 1 to the Attack value of this card"

This is the following text on the card. The condition of NOT taking a turn with a bonding hero has been met, therefore you "add 1 to the Attack value of this card".
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old August 24th, 2014, 09:24 AM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 24,290
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat Attack Man View Post
If Guilty (or other boned hero) dies, do the DRs still get the +1 Attack?
Yes.

Indiana Jones may use his pistol or his whip. If his pistol is at the bottom of a lake, he still has the option of using his whip.

As everyone has said, the heroes come and go but the power remains. You are overthinking it.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old February 9th, 2015, 01:38 PM
Not User Name's Avatar
Not User Name Not User Name is offline
 
Join Date: August 3, 2014
Location: USA - ND - Fargo
Posts: 316
Not User Name knows what's in an order marker Not User Name knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

These figures are pretty tough to find, but do you guys think that extra tarns would make good proxies. I really want to see Big Jo taking over the board with these guys.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old April 14th, 2015, 01:36 PM
Just_a_Bill's Avatar
Just_a_Bill Just_a_Bill is offline
 
Join Date: December 31, 2007
Location: *
Posts: 1,510
Images: 59
Blog Entries: 7
Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
WILD STRATEGIC BONDING
Before taking a turn with the Dreadgul Raiders, you may first take a turn with any wild Human or Giant Hero you control. If you do not take a turn with any Human or Giant Hero you control, add 1 to the Attack value of this card.
The highlighted phrase can be interpreted in four different ways depending upon whether the reader assumes that wild and/or Hero "cross the or." To help illustrate, I'll use brackets to show the different parsings:
  1. any [wild Human] or [Giant Hero] you control
  2. any wild [Human or Giant] Hero you control
  3. any wild [Human or Giant Hero] you control
  4. any [wild Human or Giant] Hero you control
Those correspond to the following spelled-out versions:
  1. any wild Human you control or any Giant Hero you control
  2. any wild Human Hero you control or any wild Giant Hero you control
  3. any wild Human you control or any wild Giant Hero you control
  4. any wild Human Hero you control or any Giant Hero you control
Based on the presence of "WILD" in the SP's title and the fact that it would be a bit unusual to take a turn with just one squad figure, it seems that the likely intent is #2. If that's correct, I would recommend recasting to eliminate the ambiguity:
Before taking a turn with the Dreadgul Raiders, you may first take a turn with any Human Hero or Giant Hero you control who has a wild personality. If you do not take a turn with a Human Hero or Giant Hero you control, add 1 to the Attack value of this card.


Good traders: SuperSamyon, Bl1ndsn1per, Ericth74, Clipper423, Oh Freek, Nikkomon, DarthBaggins, quizzcode,
Astroking112, itsbuzzi, anagrams_are_just_grams, deathsride, gibby64 & more on my trade list

Last edited by Just_a_Bill; April 14th, 2015 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old April 14th, 2015, 09:57 PM
TheAverageFan's Avatar
TheAverageFan TheAverageFan is offline
Competitive Fan Fiction Champion
 
Join Date: December 17, 2009
Location: USA - OH - West Chester
Posts: 2,568
Images: 292
TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla TheAverageFan is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

I always found that wording a little wonky myself, but judging from the synergies list on the OP, I figure that both the Humans and Giant Heroes must be Wild.

Honestly, though, I'm not sure how overpowered it'd be if they could bond with the other Heroscape Giants, but I didn't design them so who knows.

~TAF

TheAverageFan is Emirroon...
in THE BLUE CAVE

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old April 17th, 2015, 05:24 AM
Xotli's Avatar
Xotli Xotli is offline
Search and Rescue Expert
 
Join Date: May 24, 2006
Location: USA - CA - LA (Simi Valley)
Posts: 7,119
Images: 238
Blog Entries: 1
Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Xotli is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_a_Bill View Post
  1. any wild Human you control or any Giant Hero you control
  2. any wild Human Hero you control or any wild Giant Hero you control
  3. any wild Human you control or any wild Giant Hero you control
  4. any wild Human Hero you control or any Giant Hero you control
#2 is indeed the correct answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Vasel
And I've seen some people on the Internet seem to have a problem with mixing this with the rest of the game, which makes no sense to me, because, I mean, you already are having knights fight robots, how is throwing Spider-Man into the mix that big of a deal?
You should not read this blog.

Why I Left the C3V
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old June 11th, 2017, 12:59 AM
Leaf_It's Avatar
Leaf_It Leaf_It is offline
 
Join Date: February 19, 2008
Location: USA - Utah
Posts: 1,094
Images: 5
Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Leaf_It is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

At The Uncharted Wellsprings tournament an army containing 2 Frost Giants, and Shurrak with the Dreadgul Raiders was played. It was argued by several that it was a grey area, and the army was allowed to play. While at the tournament, I did check this book, however I did not look through the thread beyond the initial post, assuming that if any clarification needed to be made, it would have been put in the OP.

Please clarify in the OP under Rulings and Clarifications that is it specifically "any wild Human Hero you control or any wild Giant Hero you control", so that this is not an issue in the future. Thank you.

- Leaf_It, who is probably a bit salty because he lost literally every single match at the Uncharted Wellsprings tournament, and came in dead last.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old June 11th, 2017, 03:32 AM
TREX's Avatar
TREX TREX is offline
"like" happy
 
Join Date: February 24, 2010
Location: USA- ID- PRESTON
Posts: 6,978
TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_a_Bill View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
WILD STRATEGIC BONDING
Before taking a turn with the Dreadgul Raiders, you may first take a turn with any wild Human or Giant Hero you control. If you do not take a turn with any Human or Giant Hero you control, add 1 to the Attack value of this card.
The highlighted phrase can be interpreted in four different ways depending upon whether the reader assumes that wild and/or Hero "cross the or." To help illustrate, I'll use brackets to show the different parsings:
  1. any [wild Human] or [Giant Hero] you control
  2. any wild [Human or Giant] Hero you control
  3. any wild [Human or Giant Hero] you control
  4. any [wild Human or Giant] Hero you control
Those correspond to the following spelled-out versions:
  1. any wild Human you control or any Giant Hero you control
  2. any wild Human Hero you control or any wild Giant Hero you control
  3. any wild Human you control or any wild Giant Hero you control
  4. any wild Human Hero you control or any Giant Hero you control
Based on the presence of "WILD" in the SP's title and the fact that it would be a bit unusual to take a turn with just one squad figure, it seems that the likely intent is #2. If that's correct, I would recommend recasting to eliminate the ambiguity:
Before taking a turn with the Dreadgul Raiders, you may first take a turn with any Human Hero or Giant Hero you control who has a wild personality. If you do not take a turn with a Human Hero or Giant Hero you control, add 1 to the Attack value of this card.
Quite honestly my brother whom played the army with the giants at the tournament read the card in how it was worded. Both he and many others had looked at it and thought the same thing that it was a wild human hero or giant hero. It does not say wild giant hero. We also did not browse this entire thread for discussion that somewhat clarified this without the need to make changes suggested by just a bill. There was no ill intent here and quite honestly om not sure how an army could be more powerful with one giant and not another. Jotun has the highest stats of them all. @Leaf_It . I was also surprised at this clarification and how poorly its worded considering what its suppose to be for what it says. is generally the rule I use first.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old June 11th, 2017, 02:11 PM
TREX's Avatar
TREX TREX is offline
"like" happy
 
Join Date: February 24, 2010
Location: USA- ID- PRESTON
Posts: 6,978
TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun TREX is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

One additional question. If the frost giant and shurrak cant bond with the dreadguls. Why not? Theres really no difference bewteen how powerful jotun is compared to shurrak or a frost giant. Matter of fact. Since the beginning of their release we have been allowing them to team up and it seems plenty balanced. So much that even with those combos its not overpowered. Another reason we didnt even look at it before my brother brought it to the tournament. Also. He ranked quite low with the build.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old June 11th, 2017, 09:51 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 8,743
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Dreadgul Raiders

Well the bonding was originally/mostly intended for Valguard. Hence wild humans. But adding giants made it a bit more interesting. I'm sure giant and wild human bonding would have been fine, but the wording is less clean, and less like what the original designers would have put out.

customs/maps/c3v/sov

how to:
make a card/post your maps

google sheets:
ohs link generator/attack outcomes

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards > C3V and SoV Customs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with collection D1 Glaun Bog raiders technomage Official Rules & FAQ's 4 May 24th, 2010 08:38 PM
Strategic Maneuvers: Orc Raiders Tai-Pan Heroscape Strategy Articles 3 May 22nd, 2010 09:04 AM
Raiders of Zombie Island kolakoski Maps & Scenarios 7 December 22nd, 2009 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.