Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11389  
Old June 1st, 2020, 09:13 PM
Hahnarama's Avatar
Hahnarama Hahnarama is offline
Huge Fanboy
 
Join Date: May 3, 2006
Location: GenCon City
Posts: 3,273
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 2
Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness Hahnarama wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

You guys are no fun, I'm board s h i t less stuck here at home. I haven't played a new boardgame in almost 4 days. I just wanted to push some buttons and see what happened




GAME OVER Moon Pie!
Reply With Quote
  #11390  
Old June 1st, 2020, 09:32 PM
IAmBatman's Avatar
IAmBatman IAmBatman is offline
Best There Is! - C3G Con 2020 Champ
 
Join Date: February 15, 2007
Location: USA - AL - Montgomery
Posts: 103,606
Images: 105
IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hahnarama View Post
You guys are no fun, I'm board s h i t less stuck here at home. I haven't played a new boardgame in almost 4 days. I just wanted to push some buttons and see what happened
You should order some C3G Poker Cards.

C3G can be played with official Heroscape, but it's not recommended.


DISCLAIMER: C3G claims no ownership of the characters or artwork used for C3G customs. All rights for the characters belong to their respective publishers/creators. C3G cards are not intended for sale, and C3G does not authorize any party to profit from C3G cards.

Reply With Quote
  #11391  
Old June 4th, 2020, 08:26 AM
Joseph Sweeney's Avatar
Joseph Sweeney Joseph Sweeney is offline
...continue to abuse you with my mod powers (until Jim bans me).
 
Join Date: May 21, 2012
Location: USA-NY
Posts: 2,669
Images: 6
Blog Entries: 8
Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun Joseph Sweeney is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Hey all!

If Marcu is the last unit in your army and he turns does your opponent win? Or must they kill Marcu anyway?

~JS
Reply With Quote
  #11392  
Old June 4th, 2020, 09:05 AM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,562
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

@Joseph Sweeney From Book of Marcu and FAQ:
ETERNAL HATRED : If Marcu is the last figure you control
If Marcu is the last figure I control, and am forced to temorarily give control to an opponent due to Eternal Hatred, do I lose?
No. A ruling on DW7k's Self Destruct stated that victory/loss condition resolution does not happen until the end of the turn. Since you get Marcu back at the end of the turn, you will not have fufilled the loss condition.
Reply With Quote
  #11393  
Old June 5th, 2020, 08:15 AM
itsbuzzi's Avatar
itsbuzzi itsbuzzi is offline
 
Join Date: November 27, 2012
Location: USA - RI - Providence
Posts: 379
itsbuzzi rolls all skulls baby! itsbuzzi rolls all skulls baby! itsbuzzi rolls all skulls baby! itsbuzzi rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Sweeney View Post
Hey all!

If Marcu is the last unit in your army and he turns does your opponent win? Or must they kill Marcu anyway?

~JS
Depends if there is lava on the map lol

Keep doing what you're doing, but do it better. ~Self

Classic Card Scans & Tourney Map Building Requirements Excel Sheet
Reply With Quote
  #11394  
Old June 5th, 2020, 11:55 AM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 10,217
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.


Reply With Quote
  #11395  
Old June 28th, 2020, 12:12 AM
vegietarian18's Avatar
vegietarian18 vegietarian18 is offline
Online HS Season 10 Champion
 
Join Date: September 5, 2011
Location: USA - IL - Peoria
Posts: 4,552
vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

I have a rules question that I've had for a long time that still don't think I've got a satisfying answer to. Are you allowed to sit figures in your army even if you aren't over on figures? Like if you think not having those figures in your army is an advantage.

Relevant situations
1. Squad figures with Zelrig. You can sometimes avoid more casualties than figures you take off the board if you're making your startzone less packed and prone to massive Majestic Fires.
2. Nonvaliant with 4th Mass. It's kind of dumb trick but in Reverse the Whip you could throw like a Feral Troll in there with the 4th and you honestly would just rather play without him. You can shoot him on your way out of the startzone but it's not a guaranteed kill either and you aren't taking the shots on your opponent that might be available.
3. Marcu vs. Marcu in a matchup where one Marcu is more useful than the other. Marcu blocks the other Marcu from rolling Eternal Hatred which totally changes him. So say on a board with an Ulvania glyph, a Marcu army that includes Marro Warriors can risk free send Marcu to Ulvania to hold that glyph. If the other player without a unique squad in his army sits his Marcu they can't do this as risk free.

The question of if these are necessarily the best strategies isn't really relevant but to me the question of can you do this is. I'm honestly completely 50/50 on what the correct answer is and I'm curious what the rule experts here say.

Battle Reports: Comic / Gencon - Customs - Probability Calculator App

ONLINE CON 2020: July 31- August 2
Reply With Quote
  #11396  
Old June 28th, 2020, 12:26 AM
OrcElfArmyOne's Avatar
OrcElfArmyOne OrcElfArmyOne is online now
 
Join Date: August 6, 2011
Location: USA-CT-Hartford
Posts: 1,482
Images: 2
OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla OrcElfArmyOne is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vegietarian18 View Post
I have a rules question that I've had for a long time that still don't think I've got a satisfying answer to. Are you allowed to sit figures in your army even if you aren't over on figures? Like if you think not having those figures in your army is an advantage.

Relevant situations
1. Squad figures with Zelrig. You can sometimes avoid more casualties than figures you take off the board if you're making your startzone less packed and prone to massive Majestic Fires.
2. Nonvaliant with 4th Mass. It's kind of dumb trick but in Reverse the Whip you could throw like a Feral Troll in there with the 4th and you honestly would just rather play without him. You can shoot him on your way out of the startzone but it's not a guaranteed kill either and you aren't taking the shots on your opponent that might be available.
3. Marcu vs. Marcu in a matchup where one Marcu is more useful than the other. Marcu blocks the other Marcu from rolling Eternal Hatred which totally changes him. So say on a board with an Ulvania glyph, a Marcu army that includes Marro Warriors can risk free send Marcu to Ulvania to hold that glyph. If the other player without a unique squad in his army sits his Marcu they can't do this as risk free.

The question of if these are necessarily the best strategies isn't really relevant but to me the question of can you do this is. I'm honestly completely 50/50 on what the correct answer is and I'm curious what the rule experts here say.
FWIW, Matthias has said that you can’t sit figures if you’re not over. I’m not sure it ever mentions in the rules that you can choose to not play some figures.

Edit: from the D&D rules: “If there are more Army figures than spaces in the starting zone, you can’t use the extra figures.” That doesn’t imply that you can choose to sit figures if you’re under the limit, and I would argue it illustrates the designers’ intent that you only sit figures if you’re over the limit.

Last edited by OrcElfArmyOne; June 28th, 2020 at 12:41 AM. Reason: But I’m no rules expert, lol...
Reply With Quote
  #11397  
Old June 28th, 2020, 12:46 AM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,562
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

The rules were never designed for tournaments (especially reverse the whip which started around the same time Heroscape production died) but in the rules start zone limits are the only place that mentioned dropping units so only if you go over the limit do you drop figures. Tournament rules may differ but I think Gencon says you cannot drop if not over.
Reply With Quote
  #11398  
Old July 1st, 2020, 11:34 AM
Lord Pyre's Avatar
Lord Pyre Lord Pyre is offline
One time at band camp...
 
Join Date: September 18, 2007
Location: USA - WI - Two Rivers
Posts: 19,931
Images: 1
Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Pretty sure the 4th Mass lose their bonus if you have any non-valiant in your army, dead or not. So if you're playing with a Troll, you lose your bonus for the whole game.

Not sure the exact rules on reverse the whip, but the 4th Mass sound like a bad choice to bring to a game like that.
Reply With Quote
  #11399  
Old July 1st, 2020, 11:43 AM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is offline
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 9,466
Images: 459
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Pyre View Post
Pretty sure the 4th Mass lose their bonus if you have any non-valiant in your army, dead or not. So if you're playing with a Troll, you lose your bonus for the whole game.
Nope. From the Official FAQ:
Quote:
- VALIANT ARMY DEFENSE BONUS : Army With Valiant and Non-Valiant Units
If my non-Valiant figures are destroyed, and only Valiant figures are left on the battlefield, can the 4th Massachusetts Line use their Valiant Army Defense Bonus?
Yes. (Hasbro FAQ)
This ruling tell us that "you control" only includes figures on the battlefield, while "in your army" includes all army cards in your army.
Reply With Quote
  #11400  
Old July 1st, 2020, 01:18 PM
Lord Pyre's Avatar
Lord Pyre Lord Pyre is offline
One time at band camp...
 
Join Date: September 18, 2007
Location: USA - WI - Two Rivers
Posts: 19,931
Images: 1
Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth Lord Pyre is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Cool, I thought they said "in your army."

I should research before I speak.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 10:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.