Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Valhalla HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 11th, 2006, 01:52 PM
Junge Roman's Avatar
Junge Roman Junge Roman is offline
 
Join Date: October 11, 2006
Location: TX - Houston
Posts: 1,018
Junge Roman has disabled reputation
Can Morsbane Kill Unique Squads?

Morsbane can target a unique figure (card does not specify squad or hero). If he is successful with his rod, does it eliminate the abilities / kill the entire unique squad of the figure that was targeted?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 11th, 2006, 01:55 PM
ASmiles's Avatar
ASmiles ASmiles is offline
 
Join Date: August 28, 2006
Location: MA - Mass.
Posts: 454
ASmiles Woo who?
If successful, yes you negate the abilities of the entire squad.

If you roll a 20, the targeted figure is destroyed, but the not the entire squad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 11th, 2006, 02:55 PM
Oyhedwig's Avatar
Oyhedwig Oyhedwig is offline
 
Join Date: June 9, 2006
Location: WV - Wheeling
Posts: 395
Oyhedwig has disabled reputation
morsbane

I'm not saying you are wrong on this one, ASmiles, but I think that could possibly be the worst ruling I have ever heard on this game, especially if it comes from the creators themselves. Think about it. PART of the special ability works on squads but not ALL. Yes, it negates them all, but it would only kill the targeted figure. Makes no sense. Someone really needs to explain this to me, because I am "the rules guy" in my group of players and I think if I tried to explain Morsbane's special power this way they would lynch me. I say, it would kill them all. Either that, or negate only one. Doesn't make sense any other way. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 11th, 2006, 03:00 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Re: morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oyhedwig
I'm not saying you are wrong on this one, ASmiles, but I think that could possibly be the worst ruling I have ever heard on this game, especially if it comes from the creators themselves. Think about it. PART of the special ability works on squads but not ALL. Yes, it negates them all, but it would only kill the targeted figure. Makes no sense. Someone really needs to explain this to me, because I am "the rules guy" in my group of players and I think if I tried to explain Morsbane's special power this way they would lynch me. I say, it would kill them all. Either that, or negate only one. Doesn't make sense any other way. Thoughts?
how can you reasonably indicate which one of a unique squad is negated? It is easy to indicate which has been destroyed.

also, if you read the card, that is exactly what it says; negate powers on the card(therfore, negating all figures in the units powers), Destroy the figure
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 11th, 2006, 03:03 PM
Nooblar's Avatar
Nooblar Nooblar is offline
is late for dinner.
 
Join Date: May 11, 2006
Location: MN - (Southwest)
Posts: 2,484
Blog Entries: 13
Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby!
Yeah, there's no practical way you can represent a single Negated figure in a squad without adding some new mechanic. Those round little markers already existed, so it was easy to use familiar mechanics.

If you wanted to house rule that Negation affects single figures, I suppose you could get a bunch of brown rubber bands to put around figures' feet...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 11th, 2006, 03:06 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nooblar
Yeah, there's no practical way you can represent a single Negated figure in a squad without adding some new mechanic. Those round little markers already existed, so it was easy to use familiar mechanics.

If you wanted to house rule that Negation affects single figures, I suppose you could get a bunch of brown rubber bands to put around figures' feet...
you could make it look like they are tied up, thus 'hobbled'
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:57 PM
Pattar007 Pattar007 is offline
 
Join Date: September 30, 2006
Location: GA - Atlanta (Marietta)
Posts: 623
Pattar007 has disabled reputation
Someone should submit this to Hasbro.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:58 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattar007
Someone should submit this to Hasbro.
Why? I think it is quite clear.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 11th, 2006, 05:58 PM
Junge Roman's Avatar
Junge Roman Junge Roman is offline
 
Join Date: October 11, 2006
Location: TX - Houston
Posts: 1,018
Junge Roman has disabled reputation
It seems like they intended him to only affect heroes, but inserted figure where they should have inserted hero into the text.

From the card: "All of that figure's powers are negated for the entire game."

Figure is singular, so the token is not negating the army card, but the figure's powers only. The players must track which squad member is affected. I suppose you just put the token on the portrait of the guy that's affected. Morsbane shouldn't be wasting his time negating squad members if that's the way this thing works.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 11th, 2006, 06:02 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
I dunno, JR. The card seems awfully clear to me. If they'd wanted to say unique hero, they'd have said it. Targeting a Unique Squad with Morsbane simply isn't as good as targeting a Unique Hero should you happen to roll a 20, that's all.

~Aldin

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 11th, 2006, 06:15 PM
Skeletor's Avatar
Skeletor Skeletor is offline
 
Join Date: June 6, 2006
Location: CA - San Diego-Mira Mesa
Posts: 885
Skeletor knows what's in an order marker Skeletor knows what's in an order marker Skeletor knows what's in an order marker
My house rule is it effects Heros only not squads.

What we have argued about is wether or not a marker is lost in the case of a roll that had no effect
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 11th, 2006, 06:18 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
As per the card on 1-15 nothing happens. Nothing.

On 20 you get a kill, keep the markers.

Only on 16-19 do you lose/use a marker.

~Aldin

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Valhalla HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.