Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Off-Topic > Other Media > Books
Books Not Heroscape-related.

Notices

Old June 27th, 2011, 12:22 AM

Billtrumpet25 is surprisingly tart
Exclamation Copyright Law

So many people ask what goes into getting a federal Copyright, and what protections/benefits there are in getting one. This thread is basically for anyone who has questions about the Copyright law, or those who have written some form of literature and are still on the fence of getting a Copyright on his/her work.

Shoot me a PM, or reply to this post with questions/concerns, and I'll try to answer them as best I can. I'm no lawyer, but I am well versed with this (as I have had to read up on copyrights because I'm going to send in a book I wrote). For more advanced scenarios/questions, I advise you to consult adequate legal representation.
Old July 31st, 2011, 03:30 PM

Gog the Viking is surprisingly tart
Re: Copyright Law

The most useful thing I learned in school last year:

If you have something you want copyrighted, the first step is to mail yourself a letter with a copy of the subject matter in it. Then hide it away and never open it. That way if there is ever legal debate you can pull out the letter which contains the date of sending and prove that YOU thought of whatever it is first!

This is obviously not the best way to get ownership of something, but it is a good first step to get some security regarding your ideas.
Old July 31st, 2011, 04:04 PM

Good idea, but it's called a "poor man's copyright"...

Courts don't really count those anymore as evidence.

Also, you can only sue if you have a federal copyright.
Old August 1st, 2011, 09:42 AM

Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Codeman wears ripped pants of awesomeness

Quote: