Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #217  
Old September 29th, 2011, 07:03 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 23,205
Images: 110
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Morsbane

I was just having a discussion somewhere else that made me wonder... exactly when does one choose whether to use a d20 bonus? Does one choose before or after seeing the result of the roll? I post this question here because it seems like Morsbane presents pretty much the only practical case where this would ever come up.

Say you have a figure on the glyph of Lodin, or you are using some custom that adds to d20 results. You attempt to use Rod of Negation on a Marro Warrior, or perhaps a Krav Maga Agent, and you roll a 19.

Normally, this is a great result, because your +1 bonus means you've jumped from negation to instakill. However, I could easily imagine cases where I would rather negate all four Marro Warriors or all three Krav Agents, rather than kill just one.

The question is: can you choose to not apply the d20 bonus after you see the result of your roll?

Last edited by dok; September 29th, 2011 at 07:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old September 29th, 2011, 07:14 PM
ollie's Avatar
ollie ollie is offline
Is a Quadradical
 
Join Date: March 19, 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 9,538
Images: 43
Blog Entries: 22
ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
The question is: can you choose to not apply the d20 bonus after you see the result of your roll?
I think the answer is no. I back this up with... well, nothing at all. Unless you count my gut. Which you shouldn't.
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old September 29th, 2011, 07:19 PM
Shockma Ranyk's Avatar
Shockma Ranyk Shockma Ranyk is offline
 
Join Date: July 20, 2010
Location: US of A - NE - Omaha
Posts: 2,300
Images: 8
Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by ollie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
The question is: can you choose to not apply the d20 bonus after you see the result of your roll?
I think the answer is no. I back this up with... well, nothing at all. Unless you count my gut. Which you shouldn't.
Funny thing, my gut disagrees with your gut and says yes. I should probably get it checked out, I don't think it's supposed to be capable of speech...
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old September 29th, 2011, 10:05 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Since the power doesn't specify, I think you have to allow the player with the potential bonus the leeway to choose whether or not to apply the bonus AFTER seeing the result.

~Aldin, buying a pig in a poke

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #221  
Old September 29th, 2011, 10:30 PM
'Scaper94's Avatar
'Scaper94 'Scaper94 is offline
 
Join Date: April 10, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 5,851
Images: 5
Blog Entries: 1
'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness 'Scaper94 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldin View Post
Since the power doesn't specify, I think you have to allow the player with the potential bonus the leeway to choose whether or not to apply the bonus AFTER seeing the result.

~Aldin, buying a pig in a poke
Actually, I think you have to use a marker/destroy the chosen figure if you roll the specified number. "...If you roll a 16-19, place a marker on the chosen figure's army card." It never says "...you may place..." so I'm guessing that you are required to use up a marker. You can choose wether or not to use the ability, but you can't choose wether or not to use a marker.

My tourney record: 14-32 or 30.43% wins
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old September 29th, 2011, 11:17 PM
nate the dawg's Avatar
nate the dawg nate the dawg is offline
 
Join Date: March 3, 2010
Location: USA - TX - Wichita Falls
Posts: 1,519
nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldin View Post
Since the power doesn't specify, I think you have to allow the player with the potential bonus the leeway to choose whether or not to apply the bonus AFTER seeing the result.

~Aldin, buying a pig in a poke
I agree with this. Though there is no specification, the wording ("may") leads me to think that the application of the (Lodin) bonus is up to the player, per the spirit of the rule. That is, the glyph of Lodin is supposed to be an advantage (I presume), so it makes more sense to me that its application would be at the player's discretion.

Good question, dok.

WORST. PALADIN. EVER.

Overall Tourney Record: ....I don't even remember anymore!

Last edited by nate the dawg; September 29th, 2011 at 11:19 PM. Reason: Leave it to a member of the 'old guard' to come up with another puzzle in Morsbane's book!
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old September 29th, 2011, 11:30 PM
fomox's Avatar
fomox fomox is offline
 
Join Date: September 11, 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,764
Images: 2
fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
I was just having a discussion somewhere else that made me wonder... exactly when does one choose whether to use a d20 bonus? Does one choose before or after seeing the result of the roll?
Interesting.

While the rules of the Lodin glyph don't explicitly state when the decision must occur, I think you choose to add after the die roll (it's 19 + 1, not 1+19). This is certainly the way I've played units like Mogrimm and the Gladiators, and the way I've seen the Lodin glyph used when rolling initiative, etc.

A nice thing about deciding after is that for the vast majority of rolls (including initiative) the +1 or +3 doesn't matter, so deciding after the roll means less time deliberating over decisions that won't matter. This speeds up the game and is, I think, preferable to being forced to decide before.

The wording of the Lodin glyph is that you may add, which implies discretion. I think the intent is that you can add it if/when you like, and I don't see any advantage to saying it has to be before.
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old September 30th, 2011, 05:01 AM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,472
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 40
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Ahh, I love it when old stuff gets mixed with new stuff(Lodin=Wave 1. Morsbane=Wave6).

From the FAQ:

Quote:
If I have a figure on the Glyph of Lodin, is adding one to the
die roll optional?
Yes. The keyword in the Glyph of Lodin wording is “may”. You
may add one to any 20 sided die roll while standing on the Glyph
of Lodin. If you think it helps you by not adding the one, you
may choose not to.
Emphasis in bold. So, from all of the official sources(Morsbane Card, Lodin's Card, FAQ) sources, you may use either the Negation Power -or- the Instakill.

As far as a custom goes, I feel it is up to the custom. Assuming it uses the phrase "may add # to the 20 sided die", I feel it follows the Lodin rule. If it does not say "may", then you must apply the bonus +1 no matter what. In the case of Morsbane and Lodin, you will be allowed to give leeway. In the case of Morsbane and Haduc, you will be allowed to give leeway.

I would like to think of it this way, the FAQ almost suggests Morsbane in that particular entry, as he is one of the only units who might not need the +1. Other examples include Kee-mo-shi and Toxic Skin, the Marrden Hound Plague, and obviously Marcu.

Now then, I am not official in any way, but I hope this explain my view on this topic.

Edit: Although I should be pleased with my answer as is, I'd like to point out the same point with SBN here. (Scroll down)

And again with SBN here.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.

Last edited by flameslayer93; September 30th, 2011 at 05:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old September 30th, 2011, 10:31 AM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 23,205
Images: 110
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I would like to think of it this way, the FAQ almost suggests Morsbane in that particular entry, as he is one of the only units who might not need the +1. Other examples include Kee-mo-shi and Toxic Skin, the Marrden Hound Plague, and obviously Marcu.
And there are times you would rather lose initiative, as well, even if you have Dagmar/Mogrimm/Capuans. You also could want a low roll to avoid circuitry overloading your own figures with Repulsors.

What sets Morsbane apart from those five examples, and what made me bring this up here instead of just in a rules thread, is that Morsbane is the only case where you need to see the result before you know whether you want to apply the bonus. In those other cases, you know going into the roll whether you want a high result or a low result. With the Morsbane-versus-MW/Krav example, there's a case (15->16) where you really want to apply the bonus, but another (19->20) where you don't. That's a unique situation - it has no parallel to initiative or toxic skin or any other d20 roll.

Nobody is questioning that "may" means that you have a choice whether or not to apply the bonus. That's pretty standard Heroscape language implying choice. The only question was when you have to make that decision. Setting aside minor issues of bluffing (e.g. I want to lose initiative but don't want the other person to know that) and time efficiency (as fomox described), this case with Morsbane is the only time that it truly matters whether you make the decision before or after the roll.

That said, I'm happy with what appears to be the clear majority opinion that you get to decide after the roll. That makes as much sense as anything, it adds a touch of strategy, and it's not as though Morsbane is overpowered either way.
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old October 1st, 2011, 02:57 AM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,472
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 40
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I would like to think of it this way, the FAQ almost suggests Morsbane in that particular entry, as he is one of the only units who might not need the +1. Other examples include Kee-mo-shi and Toxic Skin, the Marrden Hound Plague, and obviously Marcu.
And there are times you would rather lose initiative, as well, even if you have Dagmar/Mogrimm/Capuans. You also could want a low roll to avoid circuitry overloading your own figures with Repulsors.

What sets Morsbane apart from those five examples, and what made me bring this up here instead of just in a rules thread, is that Morsbane is the only case where you need to see the result before you know whether you want to apply the bonus. In those other cases, you know going into the roll whether you want a high result or a low result. With the Morsbane-versus-MW/Krav example, there's a case (15->16) where you really want to apply the bonus, but another (19->20) where you don't. That's a unique situation - it has no parallel to initiative or toxic skin or any other d20 roll.

Nobody is questioning that "may" means that you have a choice whether or not to apply the bonus. That's pretty standard Heroscape language implying choice. The only question was when you have to make that decision. Setting aside minor issues of bluffing (e.g. I want to lose initiative but don't want the other person to know that) and time efficiency (as fomox described), this case with Morsbane is the only time that it truly matters whether you make the decision before or after the roll.

That said, I'm happy with what appears to be the clear majority opinion that you get to decide after the roll. That makes as much sense as anything, it adds a touch of strategy, and it's not as though Morsbane is overpowered either way.
Well, if you want to discuss it like that, then you should already know what you want before you roll.

Put it like this, you aren't trying a Rod of Negation to kill a single krav when the team is full. When you roll for Rod of Negation, and you control Lodin, you will already want the Negation Effect. In either case of choosing before or after, its evident that you want the Negate.

Your asking a valid question, dok, but if you are using Morsbane on that particular turn and target that particular figure, then you know what your trying for. Your question is just really without purpose it seems(and that's ok, if you want to be a rules stickler, but its still not necessary).

Cheers.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old October 1st, 2011, 10:21 AM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
I would like to think of it this way, the FAQ almost suggests Morsbane in that particular entry, as he is one of the only units who might not need the +1. Other examples include Kee-mo-shi and Toxic Skin, the Marrden Hound Plague, and obviously Marcu.
And there are times you would rather lose initiative, as well, even if you have Dagmar/Mogrimm/Capuans. You also could want a low roll to avoid circuitry overloading your own figures with Repulsors.

What sets Morsbane apart from those five examples, and what made me bring this up here instead of just in a rules thread, is that Morsbane is the only case where you need to see the result before you know whether you want to apply the bonus. In those other cases, you know going into the roll whether you want a high result or a low result. With the Morsbane-versus-MW/Krav example, there's a case (15->16) where you really want to apply the bonus, but another (19->20) where you don't. That's a unique situation - it has no parallel to initiative or toxic skin or any other d20 roll.

Nobody is questioning that "may" means that you have a choice whether or not to apply the bonus. That's pretty standard Heroscape language implying choice. The only question was when you have to make that decision. Setting aside minor issues of bluffing (e.g. I want to lose initiative but don't want the other person to know that) and time efficiency (as fomox described), this case with Morsbane is the only time that it truly matters whether you make the decision before or after the roll.

That said, I'm happy with what appears to be the clear majority opinion that you get to decide after the roll. That makes as much sense as anything, it adds a touch of strategy, and it's not as though Morsbane is overpowered either way.
Well, if you want to discuss it like that, then you should already know what you want before you roll.

Put it like this, you aren't trying a Rod of Negation to kill a single krav when the team is full. When you roll for Rod of Negation, and you control Lodin, you will already want the Negation Effect. In either case of choosing before or after, its evident that you want the Negate.

Your asking a valid question, dok, but if you are using Morsbane on that particular turn and target that particular figure, then you know what your trying for. Your question is just really without purpose it seems(and that's ok, if you want to be a rules stickler, but its still not necessary).

Cheers.
Nah, dok has the right of it. If I have to decide before, I have a 25% chance of negation (either 16-19 or 15-18 ) and either a 5% or 10% chance of killing (20 or 19-20). If I decide after, I have a 30% chance of negation (15-19) and a 5% chance of killing (20).

~Aldin, playing the odds

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old October 1st, 2011, 11:15 AM
fomox's Avatar
fomox fomox is offline
 
Join Date: September 11, 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,764
Images: 2
fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla fomox is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Morsbane

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
Your question is just really without purpose it seems(and that's ok, if you want to be a rules stickler, but its still not necessary).

Cheers.
No, it was a legitimate question. If it did matter when you had to decide, it would change how you play morsbane. (If you had to decide before, you'd usually pick to add, and occasionally (5%) it would kill when you'd have prefered a negate.)

But again, the consensus is that you have the discretion of adding it when you want. I don't think anyone has ever actually thought of this question during a game before, but perhaps the custom dok is thinking of would have to deal with it more often.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.