Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:17 PM
Khanbob42 Khanbob42 is offline
 
Join Date: August 24, 2006
Location: GA - Buford (Flowery Branch)
Posts: 157
Khanbob42 has disabled reputation
Engagement Question

I have a rather technical engagement question that came up during my groups game last night.

Say figures are set up as such:


If figure C being a 2base figure moves from his front hex to engage figure B does figure C take a disengagement hit since that hex left engagement. Or since the rear hex is still engaged with figure A does he not take an engagement hit.

Our group decided that irregardless the 2base figure was still engaged. My argument was that since before you move a 2 base figure you have to declare which hex is moving and that since the front was moving from hex #1 to hex#2 and it left engagement, that a passing swipe roll was in order.

I can see how this could easily go either way. The front hex did leave engagement but the figure itself is still engaged.

What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:18 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
The figure did not disengage.

~Aldin

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:20 PM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Yep, no disengage on that move. You stayed in contact, even though shifting from front hex to back one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:23 PM
toddrew's Avatar
toddrew toddrew is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: CO - Loveland
Posts: 2,160
toddrew has disabled reputation
Unnecessary third post saying: didn't disengage. Like the Rev said, as long as engagement conditions are satisfied for each space moved (sans flying), no disengagement.

And you can see her
Before it cracks and goes out
She throws rocks at streetlights
Keeps the streetlight changer busy



Floundering Customs Thread
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:25 PM
Khanbob42 Khanbob42 is offline
 
Join Date: August 24, 2006
Location: GA - Buford (Flowery Branch)
Posts: 157
Khanbob42 has disabled reputation
Doh, ok

Guess now I swallow my pride and tell my friend he was right.

Stupid Charos.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:53 PM
wisinger's Avatar
wisinger wisinger is offline
Nipple Rings
 
Join Date: May 26, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas (McKinney)
Posts: 579
wisinger Woo who?
Can I throw my 4th affirmation that they are still engaged? Or is this a violation of Man Law?

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:54 PM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Naw, you're good, wis.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:54 PM
netherspirit's Avatar
netherspirit netherspirit is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: May 8, 2006
Location: OH - Cleveland
Posts: 8,771
Blog Entries: 5
netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisinger
Can I throw my 4th affirmation that they are still engaged? Or is this a violation of Man Law?
No fruit in beer. Man Law? Man Law!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:58 PM
wisinger's Avatar
wisinger wisinger is offline
Nipple Rings
 
Join Date: May 26, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas (McKinney)
Posts: 579
wisinger Woo who?
Whew!!! I was starting to sweat it a bit. But I have divine affirmations, followed up with Admin affirmation. I now Cackle in my manliness while I go and move my 2Hex base figures around 1 hex engaged figures (except for Major X17) and taunt them with discusions on the value of shrubs in france.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:41 PM
ASmiles's Avatar
ASmiles ASmiles is offline
 
Join Date: August 28, 2006
Location: MA - Mass.
Posts: 454
ASmiles Woo who?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisinger
Whew!!! I was starting to sweat it a bit. But I have divine affirmations, followed up with Admin affirmation. I now Cackle in my manliness while I go and move my 2Hex base figures around 1 hex engaged figures (except for Major X17) and taunt them with discusions on the value of shrubs in france.
9 of the 19 double based figures are HUGE, so you half the time you can still cackle while you move around X17.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 21st, 2006, 03:31 PM
jcb231 jcb231 is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: May 13, 2006
Location: Here, There, and Everywhere
Posts: 6,015
jcb231 is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Quote:
Originally Posted by netherspirit
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisinger
Can I throw my 4th affirmation that they are still engaged? Or is this a violation of Man Law?
No fruit in beer. Man Law? Man Law!
That one was a lame man law. All the others should be man laws, but that one was clearly just to bash Corona (lime wedges) and Blue Moon (orange slices), both of which are decent beers sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 21st, 2006, 03:31 PM
auralerogeny's Avatar
auralerogeny auralerogeny is offline
 
Join Date: October 10, 2006
Location: NC - Greenville
Posts: 633
auralerogeny is surprisingly tart
SO, to further this discussion, and just to get confirmation on something that I already think to be true:

Can you walk completely around an opposing figure if you began the move engaged and still end the move engaged? This comes into play when seeking higher ground quite often on two figures that are just going to hash it out until one of them dies.

I'm not talking about leaving the engagement to get on the other side, I'm talking about if the player stays IN the engagement the entire move, just moves from one side of the figure around to the other, for height advantage.

Click to see more...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.