Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:06 PM
Zan Zan is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2007
Posts: 4
Zan has disabled reputation
Another Engagement Question

If you are engaged with a unit can you use special attacks and actions against units that you are not engaged with?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:11 PM
oracle92's Avatar
oracle92 oracle92 is offline
 
Join Date: July 20, 2007
Location: IL Hoffman Estates
Posts: 266
oracle92 knows what's in an order marker oracle92 knows what's in an order marker
no

The dice help those who help themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:16 PM
Zan Zan is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2007
Posts: 4
Zan has disabled reputation
Ok, fair enough. But now kind of a border case.

Let say you're using Captain America with his shield throw ability. It says specifically to target different units.

If he is engaged how does it work exactly then? Are the other targets ignored in this case? Or does this circumvent the normal engagement rules?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:18 PM
Zan Zan is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2007
Posts: 4
Zan has disabled reputation
Nevermind, I found the same question posted here:

http://heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=10482
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:20 PM
ProfessorDocker ProfessorDocker is offline
Most-CoNvincing Visionary
 
Join Date: December 24, 2006
Posts: 1,194
ProfessorDocker Woo who?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zan
Ok, fair enough. But now kind of a border case.

Let say you're using Captain America with his shield throw ability. It says specifically to target different units.

If he is engaged how does it work exactly then? Are the other targets ignored in this case? Or does this circumvent the normal engagement rules?
If he's engaged, he can only attack the figures he's engaged with. If there are only one or two figures engaged with him, he'll have to forfeit the remaining attacks. It's the same with Nilfheim.

Note that you can use a special power on anyone even if you're engaged.

Oh, and welcome to the site.

!Docker

ProfessorDocker is telling a story...
in the ALIZARIN CAVE...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:27 PM
Zan Zan is offline
 
Join Date: August 16, 2007
Posts: 4
Zan has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfessorDocker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zan
Ok, fair enough. But now kind of a border case.

Let say you're using Captain America with his shield throw ability. It says specifically to target different units.

If he is engaged how does it work exactly then? Are the other targets ignored in this case? Or does this circumvent the normal engagement rules?
If he's engaged, he can only attack the figures he's engaged with. If there are only one or two figures engaged with him, he'll have to forfeit the remaining attacks. It's the same with Nilfheim.

Note that you can use a special power on anyone even if you're engaged.

Oh, and welcome to the site.

!Docker

Thanks and thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 17th, 2007, 05:07 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Welcome to the boards, Zan!

On behalf of our disengaged and truly special community I extend to you a laurel and a hearty handshake.

As a new member, you can begin your journey on the path to the fellowship, praise and respect of your Heroscapers peers by checking out this announcement: http://heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=6970

~Aldin, happy to see you found a nice link

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 18th, 2007, 10:14 AM
sachsen sachsen is offline
 
Join Date: November 23, 2006
Location: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Posts: 243
sachsen Woo who?
Quote:
Originally Posted by oracle92
no
Whoa, hold on. The question asked about special attacks and actions. (Emphasis mine.) The answer to the special attacks portion of the question is 'no', but the the answer about actions is 'yes, depending on the card.'

For instance, Braxas can still use Acid Breath on other figures that she is not engaged with even if she is engaged.

Engagement rules only pertain to attacks, not special abilities.

EDIT: I just noticed ProfessorDocker mentioned the same thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.