Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards > C3V and SoV Customs
C3V and SoV Customs A place for C3V and SoV customs


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 29th, 2020, 09:57 AM
bmon's Avatar
bmon bmon is offline
 
Join Date: April 10, 2016
Location: USA - MN - Northfield
Posts: 331
Images: 14
bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness
The Book of Millerson

The Book of Millerson

C3V Wave 9 (Wave 22) - Scourge of Apollyon - Heroes of Crooked Isle



PDF Download

The figure used for this unit is a Dungeons and Dragons figure from the Tomb of Annihilation set. Its name is Artus Cimber.


Character Bio: Loyalty's a funny word, ain't it? Soldiers are loyal, right? All the King's subjects should be loyal. Bald faced lie, that.

Half the people sayin' folk should be loyal don't know what it means. Real loyalty is puttin' your life down. Real loyalty is not givin' up your friends. I'm not a smart man, God knows. The good Lord done blessed me with other gifts. A strong arm, a good eye. I can take a punch. Real loyalty is puttin' your skills on the line for someone else. He says Millerson, go do this, an' I put me mind to it. All of me. My body, my heart, my soul. That's real loyalty, it is.


Quote:
HONOR AMONG THIEVES
When a Rogue you control who is adjacent to Millerson is attacked by an opponent's figure that is not adjacent to that Rogue and receives one or more wounds from that attack, you may place the same number of wound markers on this Army Card to ignore any wounds that Rogue just received.

GRIT
When Millerson attacks, he may attack one additional time for every two wound markers on this Army Card.
_________________________________________________________________
-Rulings and Clarifications-

Quote:
Q: Could Honor Among Thieves be used to save a Rogue from wounds inflicted by Sonlen's Dragon Swoop?
A: No.
Honor Among Thieves can only be used to prevent damage caused by an attack. Auto-wound powers such as Dragon Swoop are not attacks.

Q: If a Rogue is hit by Shurrak and moved next to Millerson due to Knockback, could Millerson use Honor Among Thieves to prevent the damage?
A: No.
Even though Shurrak would no longer be adjacent to the Rogue, the damage from the attack has already been inflicted prior to Knockback. Millerson also could not prevent falling damage wounds due to Knockback, since those wounds are due to falling, not the actual attack.

Q: If a Rogue you control is hit by an attack that would inflict three wounds but the Rogue only has one Life, if Millerson was adjacent how many wounds would he have to take to save the Rogue?
A: Three.
Figures can and do receive more wounds than they have total Life. In this example, the Rogue would receive three wounds, even though he or she only has a single Life point. Millerson would have to take three wounds to prevent all three wounds to save that Rogue.

Q: If a Rogue you control adjacent to Millerson receives wounds from spillover damage from Rail Gun Special Attack, can Millerson use Honor Among Thieves to protect that Rogue?
A: Yes. The spillover damage from Rail Gun Special Attack is still part of the attack.
_________________________________________________________________
-Combinations and Synergies-

Synergy Benefits Received:
NOTTINGHAM BRIGRAND : ROGUE HERO BONDING
As a Rogue Hero, Arthur of Sherwood may benefit from the Nottingham Brigands' ROGUE HERO BONDING activation bonus.
ACOLARH : ULLAR'S AMULET
As a unit that follows Ullar, Arthur of Sherwood may benefit from Acolarh's ULLAR'S AMULET movement bonus.
Synergy Benefits Offered:
HONOR AMONG THIEVES: Rogues
- Arthur of Sherwood
- Bol
- Cormin the Dark
- Darrak Ambershard
- Elaria the Pale
- Kha
- Locksley
- Nottingham Brigand
EBON ARMOR : ANIMATED MATERIEL / ETERNAL WAR
As a Unique Human, a destroyed Ebon Armor you control may be placed on Millerson's Army Card to replace Millerson upon his own destruction.
_________________________________________________________________
-Heroscapers Community Contributions-

Power Ranking and Master Index
- TBD


Unit Strategy Review
- TBD



Last edited by bmon; September 18th, 2020 at 09:23 AM. Reason: Updated bio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 29th, 2020, 03:06 PM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is online now
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 10,365
Images: 477
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Millerson

The C3V Rules Team would like to add the following R&Cs:
Quote:
Q: Could Honor Among Thieves be used to save a Rogue from wounds inflicted by Sonlen's Dragon Swoop?
A: No.
Honor Among Thieves can only be used to prevent damage caused by an attack. Auto-wound powers such as Dragon Swoop are not attacks.

Q: If a Rogue is hit by Shurrak and moved next to Millerson due to Knockback, could Millerson use Honor Among Thieves to prevent the damage?
A: No.
Even though Shurrak would no longer be adjacent to the Rogue, the damage from the attack has already been inflicted prior to Knockback. Millerson also could not prevent falling damage wounds due to Knockback, since those wounds are due to falling, not the actual attack.

Q: If a Rogue you control is hit by an attack that would inflict three wounds but the Rogue only has one Life, if Millerson was adjacent how many wounds would he have to take to save the Rogue?
A: Three.
Figures can and do receive more wounds than they have total Life. In this example, the Rogue would receive three wounds, even though he or she only has a single Life point. Millerson would have to take three wounds to prevent all three wounds to save that Rogue.

Q: If a Rogue you control adjacent to Millerson receives wounds from spillover damage from Rail Gun Special Attack, can Millerson use Honor Among Thieves to protect that Rogue?
A: Yes. The spillover damage from Rail Gun Special Attack is still part of the attack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 17th, 2020, 04:08 PM
Pumpkin_King's Avatar
Pumpkin_King Pumpkin_King is offline
A Happy Extradimensional Horror
 
Join Date: August 4, 2006
Location: VA-Culpeper
Posts: 7,926
Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death! Pumpkin_King is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Millerson

OP or a mod, please update with the official bio.


Quote:
Loyalty's a funny word, ain't it? Soldiers are loyal, right? All the King's subjects should be loyal. Bald faced lie, that.

Half the people sayin' folk should be loyal don't know what it means. Real loyalty is puttin' your life down. Real loyalty is not givin' up your friends. I'm not a smart man, God knows. The good Lord done blessed me with other gifts. A strong arm, a good eye. I can take a punch. Real loyalty is puttin' your skills on the line for someone else. He says Millerson, go do this, an' I put me mind to it. All of me. My body, my heart, my soul. That's real loyalty, it is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 18th, 2020, 09:24 AM
bmon's Avatar
bmon bmon is offline
 
Join Date: April 10, 2016
Location: USA - MN - Northfield
Posts: 331
Images: 14
bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness bmon wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Millerson

Updated with new bio, replacing the snippet from the homepage release.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 16th, 2021, 06:08 PM
Just_a_Bill's Avatar
Just_a_Bill Just_a_Bill is offline
 
Join Date: December 31, 2007
Location: *
Posts: 1,598
Images: 59
Blog Entries: 7
Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Millerson

Q: If Millerson receives any wounds during his own attack(s), such as from Counter Strike, does his new wound marker total potentially increase the number of additional attacks he is allowed?

Example: The rogue has already made his first attack and he currently has 3 wound markers, so he gets one more attack (since he bears only one complete pair of wound markers). He chooses to attack one of the Izumi Samurai, who rolls one excess shield and thereby inflicts a wound upon Millerson. Since the rogue now has a total of 4 wound markers, does he get a second additional attack? Or were we supposed to check Millerson's wound total only once, before he ever started using GRIT?


Good traders: tdemirji, AbsintheAddict, Blubberguy22, Toa Matoro, SuperSamyon, Bl1ndsn1per, Ericth74,
Clipper423, Oh Freek, Nikkomon, DarthBaggins, quizzcode, Astroking112 & more on my trade list
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 16th, 2021, 08:50 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,909
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Millerson

Check whenever he attacks. So the third attack is allowed.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 16th, 2021, 09:56 PM
Just_a_Bill's Avatar
Just_a_Bill Just_a_Bill is offline
 
Join Date: December 31, 2007
Location: *
Posts: 1,598
Images: 59
Blog Entries: 7
Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun Just_a_Bill is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Millerson

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
Check whenever he attacks. So the third attack is allowed.
How should I have answered this question for myself ... is there a general rule for it? If not, it seems like a good opportunity for an R&C.


Good traders: tdemirji, AbsintheAddict, Blubberguy22, Toa Matoro, SuperSamyon, Bl1ndsn1per, Ericth74,
Clipper423, Oh Freek, Nikkomon, DarthBaggins, quizzcode, Astroking112 & more on my trade list
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 17th, 2021, 12:54 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 23,208
Images: 110
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Millerson

General answer is that triggered abilities are checked at the time they trigger. I often point to this post by R˙chean as the clearest "official" articulation of this point. Check trigger, power takes effect.

You're correct that this would be a good case for a R&C, mainly because Grit follows the unfortunate precedent of Double Attack. Due to the wording of DA, the timing window for when Grit triggers is fairly ambiguous. But our understanding of these abilities is that they are triggered after attacking and check against the total attacks made that turn.

EDIT: for precedent, see the counterstrike vs. Fen Hydra ruling.

Last edited by dok; June 17th, 2021 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 17th, 2021, 09:44 PM
heroscaper2010's Avatar
heroscaper2010 heroscaper2010 is offline
HoSSpitable little wookiee (apparently "wookiee" has 2 E's, who knew?)
 
Join Date: September 19, 2010
Location: USA - OH - Sugarcreek
Posts: 8,523
heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Millerson

Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
General answer is that triggered abilities are checked at the time they trigger. I often point to this post by R˙chean as the clearest "official" articulation of this point. Check trigger, power takes effect.

You're correct that this would be a good case for a R&C, mainly because Grit follows the unfortunate precedent of Double Attack. Due to the wording of DA, the timing window for when Grit triggers is fairly ambiguous. But our understanding of these abilities is that they are triggered after attacking and check against the total attacks made that turn.

EDIT: for precedent, see the counterstrike vs. Fen Hydra ruling.
Wouldn't the Hydra precedent say that Millerson can attack a 2nd or 3rd time if Counterstrike wounds push him past a threshold?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiteofthedice View Post
HYDRA HEADS vs. COUNTERSTRIKE
Q: [/B]If the Fen Hydra has at least two attacks, attacks a figure with counterstrike, and takes wounds, does it lose its remaining attack(s)?
A: Yes. "The effect is instantaneous and you lose whatever number of attacks you took in wounds." (Well-put, Fourshadow). So, you know, be careful.

My Maps
Tournament Record: 28-28: .500!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 17th, 2021, 10:51 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 23,208
Images: 110
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Millerson

Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Wouldn't the Hydra precedent say that Millerson can attack a 2nd or 3rd time if Counterstrike wounds push him past a threshold?
Yes, that's exactly what we're saying.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 17th, 2021, 10:54 PM
heroscaper2010's Avatar
heroscaper2010 heroscaper2010 is offline
HoSSpitable little wookiee (apparently "wookiee" has 2 E's, who knew?)
 
Join Date: September 19, 2010
Location: USA - OH - Sugarcreek
Posts: 8,523
heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun heroscaper2010 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Millerson

Quote:
Originally Posted by dok View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by heroscaper2010 View Post
Wouldn't the Hydra precedent say that Millerson can attack a 2nd or 3rd time if Counterstrike wounds push him past a threshold?
Yes, that's exactly what we're saying.
Ok I was confused there.

EDIT: Ah I missed superfrog's post.

My Maps
Tournament Record: 28-28: .500!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards > C3V and SoV Customs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Book: Inheritance Trilogy by Christopher Paolini - Book 3 tmacdagreat Books 132 May 15th, 2012 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.