Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Valhalla HeroScape > HeroScape General Discussion
HeroScape General Discussion General discussions of packaging, terrain, components, etc. If it doesn't fit in any other official category, put it here.

Notices

Old September 17th, 2007, 02:40 PM

DarkSpade Woo who?
Watching heroscape grow up

I've been doing wargaming for the last 10 years. I've been terrain building off and on during that time too. Since so many people in this community haven't done any wargaming outside of heroscape, it's been kinda funny watching this community grow up.

Face it guys, you've grown up. You're no longer board gamers. Your war gamers now.

But war gaming is expensive!

How much have you spent so far?

War games have long FAQs!

Last I checked, heroscape more than a few pages.

War games constently come out with new versions every few years!

Heroscape is only about 3 years old, and it's on its third rule book. We also get new rules everytime a new terrain set comes out.

War gaming requires painting and terrain building!

Not all of them any more. And, we do have an entire forum dedicated to painting and terrain making here.

"Y'know, I sort of assumed this hero of destiny thing would involve a lot less devastation in our wake."
Links to terrain making guides
http://www.heroscapers.com/community...c.php?p=280715
Old September 17th, 2007, 02:55 PM

bad_calvin is surprisingly tart
I have been "war gaming" for close to 20 years now and have never really had as much joy out of a game then I have with Heroscape. I use to love Rouge Trader (wh40k), Vor, Warzone, Battletech, etc.

The thing is (and it took a while to realize) the other games have more detail then I need to just sit down and play a fast game and enjoy. The selection of time periods and unit types in Heroscape is unmatched! I can have an orc horde vs the 4th Massachusetts. I can have giant mechs trying to take out werewolves.