Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Valhalla HeroScape > HeroScape General Discussion
HeroScape General Discussion General discussions of packaging, terrain, components, etc. If it doesn't fit in any other official category, put it here.

Notices

Old July 25th, 2010, 11:20 AM

Wheelockian is surprisingly tart
Permanent Boards?

Hi, Guys

Okay, so I've been coming to Heroscapers pretty much everyday for the last two years, content to just read all the great posts and admire the passion everyone here has for this incredible game that I too have fallen in love with. Thanks to all of you--it's been a wonderful experience and I've learned an incredible amount. So now I've finally decided to register and start adding my voice, starting with a rather mundane question.

I just bought some extra terrain (a couple ROTV set's worth) and am considering using at least some of it to make a permanent board. Though I've spent many wonderful hours putting maps together and enjoy that part of the game, I play mostly with my brother and many of those games are spur of the moment, pick-up games after a long day of work with only an hour or two to play. In other words, on many occasions, it would be nice to have a pre-made board to grab, throw a few trees and such on, and have at it.

I'm debating whether to create a two-player map (or maybe two!) that isn't too big but offers some nice variety for play or to create a bunch of modules--maybe eight 24-hex pieces, each with it's own terrain features--that I could quickly put together.

So here are my questions:

Have any of you done this? If so, has it been worth it? (Part of me wonders if this really is as much of a time-saver as I think it will be...but if it means we'll end up playing more 'Scape...)