Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 14th, 2007, 01:39 PM
t1m t1m is offline
 
Join Date: February 14, 2007
Posts: 2
t1m has disabled reputation
Q9 Special attack

My friend got me into this game, now I own more heroScape sets than he does. =)

:Issue:

I looked for a rule regarding "Special" attacks and "Height Advantage". I seem to recall that it only stated that you get your +1 die if your base is higher than the base of the figure you will be attacking. I do not remember the rule stating that it could only be used on "Normal" attacks, so we have been using it with "Special" attacks too.

:Question:

When using "Major Q9" and the "Special" on this army card, how should we play with "Height Advantage" rules? Major Q9 gets 9 dice. What if the base of my Major Q9 is higher than the base of the figure Major Q9 is attacking? Does Major Q9 get 10 attack dice, or does each attack receive the additional +1 die for the height?

If each attack works with a +1 die, then I would ALWAYS shoot with 1 dice at a time, effectively wielding an attack of 18 dice.

:Closing:

I suppose what I'm hoping for is that someone will tell me that "Height Advantage" does not work with special attacks. I have looked through a good many of the posts here and tried searching also, but returned nothing explaining this combo.

Thank you very much for reading my wordy post,
t1m =)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 14th, 2007, 01:49 PM
ChaosChild's Avatar
ChaosChild ChaosChild is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: IN - Elkhart
Posts: 1,227
Images: 1
ChaosChild has disabled reputation
Page 15 of the 2nd edition rulebook under Special Powers.

Special Attacks can never be modified by glyphs, other special powers, or height advantage.

Kumiko is not impressed with your sculpt, either.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 14th, 2007, 01:54 PM
rehlers rehlers is offline
 
Join Date: November 25, 2006
Location: AZ - Phoenix (Ahwatukee)
Posts: 780
rehlers is surprisingly tart
Just an FYI, the defender still rolls an extra dice if he has a height advantage on Q9 when Q9 does a special attack.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 14th, 2007, 02:00 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,544
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Welcome to the boards, t1m!

On behalf of our unusually smiley'd and #1 community I extend to you a laurel and a hearty handshake.

~Aldin, rolling skulls when he needs shields

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 14th, 2007, 02:04 PM
bluekitsune13 bluekitsune13 is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: OH - Cleveland (Parma)
Posts: 694
bluekitsune13 has disabled reputation
Also, another thing in case you're wondering, a special attack must have the words "SPECIAL ATTACK" written on the card. Other characters, like Ne Gok Sa's Mind Shackle are special powers, and thus different than special attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 14th, 2007, 02:15 PM
t1m t1m is offline
 
Join Date: February 14, 2007
Posts: 2
t1m has disabled reputation
awesome. thank you.

Thank you very much for the warm welcome. Thank you, also, for the expedient replies. =)

I was downstairs this morning testing Q9 against other figures. I had to stop because I did not understand the rule in question.

Silly me though, I should have figured there would be more rules when the "Second Edition" was released. I'm going to have to grab a cup of java and download the PDF and get to reading before my old lady comes home and tries to kill me with her dragon queen.

Once again, thank you very much.
t1m =)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 14th, 2007, 02:45 PM
Tholarthemag Tholarthemag is offline
 
Join Date: November 14, 2006
Location: NC - Asheville
Posts: 260
Tholarthemag has disabled reputation
Hey, don't feel bad. I read these boards for months before I realized there was a 2nd edition MS. I kept reading about this rule says this and this rule reads that, and I said what the heck? Also you won't believe how obsessed these guys are with sparkly water in the first set. If you're savvy you can trade sparkly water hexes for anything. I also will extend a welcome to the boards and a little jealousy that you can get your wife to play. Mine is happy that I have a "little hobby" that gets me and my 2 year old downstairs out of her hair for awhile. HS is still cheaper than golf!
(Not by much).

Braxas can be killed by peanut butter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 14th, 2007, 05:44 PM
Ketch Ketch is offline
Arbiter of Peace
 
Join Date: September 25, 2006
Location: * Canada - Waterloo, ON
Posts: 881
Ketch is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tholarthemag
Hey, don't feel bad. I read these boards for months before I realized there was a 2nd edition MS. I kept reading about this rule says this and this rule reads that, and I said what the heck? Also you won't believe how obsessed these guys are with sparkly water in the first set. If you're savvy you can trade sparkly water hexes for anything. I also will extend a welcome to the boards and a little jealousy that you can get your wife to play. Mine is happy that I have a "little hobby" that gets me and my 2 year old downstairs out of her hair for awhile. HS is still cheaper than golf!
(Not by much).
I have 5 sets of sparkly water..
I got them all when I got master sets.. no paying big for them.
I do like them, but would people really trade anything for them?

::Nathan Hoel::
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 17th, 2007, 03:18 PM
jcb231 jcb231 is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: May 13, 2006
Location: Here, There, and Everywhere
Posts: 6,015
jcb231 is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tholarthemag
Hey, don't feel bad. I read these boards for months before I realized there was a 2nd edition MS. I kept reading about this rule says this and this rule reads that, and I said what the heck? Also you won't believe how obsessed these guys are with sparkly water in the first set. If you're savvy you can trade sparkly water hexes for anything. I also will extend a welcome to the boards and a little jealousy that you can get your wife to play. Mine is happy that I have a "little hobby" that gets me and my 2 year old downstairs out of her hair for awhile. HS is still cheaper than golf!
(Not by much).
I have 5 sets of sparkly water..
I got them all when I got master sets.. no paying big for them.
I do like them, but would people really trade anything for them?
I'll trade you solid water for them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 19th, 2007, 09:11 AM
Tholarthemag Tholarthemag is offline
 
Join Date: November 14, 2006
Location: NC - Asheville
Posts: 260
Tholarthemag has disabled reputation
Sorry, to respond so late ketch. But yeah, ask around. Some of these guys love the sparkly. I've traded for some figs I didn't have before. Be warned however, the plain water is really plain. It definitely doesn't look as cool as the sparkly. But, if your'e like me, I didn't care so much.[/quote]

Braxas can be killed by peanut butter.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 8th, 2020, 06:06 PM
Zanile Zanile is offline
 
Join Date: July 2, 2019
Location: USA - Alabama - Mobile
Posts: 6
Zanile is surprisingly tart
Re: Q9 Special attack

Another question on Major Q9's special attack. If he attacks the same target each time, does the unit re-roll defense dice for each attack?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 8th, 2020, 06:21 PM
NecroBlade's Avatar
NecroBlade NecroBlade is offline
"our design team knows what it's doing"
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Location: KY - Shepherdsville
Posts: 20,702
Images: 104
Blog Entries: 21
NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth
Re: Q9 Special attack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanile View Post
Another question on Major Q9's special attack. If he attacks the same target each time, does the unit re-roll defense dice for each attack?
You rang?

Each attack is a separate attack and therefore is met with a separate defense roll.


Arena of the Valkyire - Help create Heroscape's next Master Set!
317-149
C3V Brainstorm
Pepperony - 14/09/13
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.