Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #13  
Old August 4th, 2015, 05:30 PM
designer designer is offline
 
Join Date: August 1, 2015
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 17
designer is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Targanth View Post
A comment on BGG about summoning squads has raised a question in my mind. Squads can be summoned to empty spaces within 5 spaces of the PW that in clear sight. Figures can not be summoned onto glyphs since they are not empty.

A height 4 PW would have clear sight to the top of a stack of terrain 1, 2, or 3 tiles high. A 4 height PW can not climb the side of a 4 high stack of tiles because of his height. Should a 4 high PW be able to summon a squad figure onto the top of a stack of terrain that is higher than their height?

If so, how much higher of a stack?
I think it could, but only on the edge of a stack of terrain.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old August 4th, 2015, 05:57 PM
designer designer is offline
 
Join Date: August 1, 2015
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 17
designer is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

I have few stupid questions which could be not so stupid.

1) Can Planeswalker summon only one figure from his squad reserve? Because, sometimes it looks like it will be smart move

eg. or

Most of the time these ^ Units should be summoned by one unit from all squad to maximize benefit .
(eg. if you will summon one "Kor Hookmasters" (and something for defense) it will disable whole squad and after that you could attack with you Planeswalker. Next turn, you will make the same: summon one "Kor Hookmasters" and attack with your planes walker)

2) Could Planeswalker target a squad with spell card out of his range ? (eg.: could I target opponent squad using :


if opponent squad is for 15 spaces away? For me, there is no logic at all, especially if they are behind the wall or mountain)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old August 4th, 2015, 07:00 PM
Targanth's Avatar
Targanth Targanth is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2008
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 593
Targanth knows what's in an order marker Targanth knows what's in an order marker Targanth knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
As high as they can see.
I guess that was my real question - just how high CAN they see? Must they be able to see the top of a tile to know that it is an empty tile?

My original thought was that if the tile stack was within 5 spaces and the player could see that there was nothing on the space, that would be a valid location. But should it be the sight of the player or the sight from the perspective of the figure?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old August 4th, 2015, 11:31 PM
nate the dawg's Avatar
nate the dawg nate the dawg is offline
 
Join Date: March 3, 2010
Location: USA - TX - Wichita Falls
Posts: 1,514
nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness nate the dawg wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Targanth View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
As high as they can see.
I guess that was my real question - just how high CAN they see? Must they be able to see the top of a tile to know that it is an empty tile?

My original thought was that if the tile stack was within 5 spaces and the player could see that there was nothing on the space, that would be a valid location. But should it be the sight of the player or the sight from the perspective of the figure?
Well, this sorta relates...

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddrew View Post
The only limit on how high (or low) Jotun can throw another figure is that he must have a clear line of sight on that figure where it lands. Battlements could be an issue in your example, but as long as Jotun can see the figure where it lands, it's okay.
Then again,

Quote:
Originally Posted by AotP rulebook
Summoned figures must be placed on empty spaces within 5 clear sight spaces of your Planeswalker.
I wonder if the rulebook should read, "Summoned figures must be placed on empty spaces and within 5 clear sight spaces of your Planeswalker." That would then jive with the previous example provided in Jotun's book.

WORST. PALADIN. EVER.

Overall Tourney Record: ....I don't even remember anymore!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old August 5th, 2015, 03:05 PM
designer designer is offline
 
Join Date: August 1, 2015
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 17
designer is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

Does someone know how "sprint" works?



Does "Sprint" cost additional for higher spaces or it is like teleportation (and at the end of your turn you may place your squad/Nissa on 6 hight mountain)?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old August 5th, 2015, 03:13 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,537
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

It should be a move of 3, so you would pay for height or stop in water.

~Aldin, moving on

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old August 5th, 2015, 03:13 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 23,243
Images: 121
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

You move like normal, like if you had a Move of 3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old August 5th, 2015, 11:33 PM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 24,581
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

Ok, we played a game and enjoyed it. Stupid questions incoming:

What are the numbers (some say 10; one or more said 30) on the corner of spell cards *for*? I saw they have a name in the instruction book, but their function eludes me.

When placing a 2 space unit within 5 spaces of the PW, do both hexes have to be within 5 hexes? Or just one?

Can you resummon a dead squaddie as long as the whole squad isn't yet dead?

Can you summon something onto a glyph (I doubt it, because the space is not empty, but asking anyway)?

KidScaper played a sorcery that let him move and attack with one creature after he'd already finished attacking with his PW. I suppose that's ok, but it was annoying. So this is not technically a question.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old August 6th, 2015, 01:53 AM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 23,243
Images: 121
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

The numbers are the point cost of the spell card, used when building decks.

Only one space needs to be within 5 hexes.

You can't resummon dead figures (unless a power says you can).

The space has to be empty so no glyphs.

It's not annoying - it's new strategy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old August 6th, 2015, 01:57 AM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 24,581
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

Thanks, Q!

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old August 6th, 2015, 04:52 PM
designer designer is offline
 
Join Date: August 1, 2015
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 17
designer is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by designer View Post
I have few stupid questions which could be not so stupid.

1) Can Planeswalker summon only one figure from his squad reserve? Because, sometimes it looks like it will be smart move

eg. or

Most of the time these ^ Units should be summoned by one unit from all squad to maximize benefit .
(eg. if you will summon one "Kor Hookmasters" (and something for defense) it will disable whole squad and after that you could attack with you Planeswalker. Next turn, you will make the same: summon one "Kor Hookmasters" and attack with your planes walker)

2) Could Planeswalker target a squad with spell card out of his range ? (eg.: could I target opponent squad using :


if opponent squad is for 15 spaces away? For me, there is no logic at all, especially if they are behind the wall or mountain)
???
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old August 6th, 2015, 05:11 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 23,243
Images: 121
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

1) no

2) yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 11289 Yesterday 02:44 AM
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 522 October 20th, 2019 02:55 AM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 252 March 17th, 2019 10:17 AM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 12 January 2nd, 2015 01:28 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.