Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 7th, 2007, 11:31 PM
dnutt99 dnutt99 is offline
 
Join Date: September 7, 2006
Location: CA - Oakland
Posts: 1,287
dnutt99 has disabled reputation
The Book of Krug

The Book of Krug
Utgar's Rage - Collection 2 - "Heroes of Barrenspur"

If you cannot see the Army Card graphic, check Hasbro's Unit Page for stats and special powers, plus "character biography" and other non-game unit info.

Character Bio: Bred to battle, Krug was recruited to serve in Utgar's front line. His sheer size and foul disposition make him a formidable opponent but it is his thirst for blood that makes him the legend he is. Stomping across the battlefield, Krug will decimate anything in his path. Krug knows no defeat. When wounded, he battles more fiercely. He has sworn his allegiance to Utgar and will give his life if necessary. He is feared for Skelblade, a massive weapon cast from the armor of the enemies he has taken in battle. He swings Skelblade as a true swordsman but the power behind it is unmatched by any other known warrior. Each cast of the sword deals two deadly blows as he hits with an initial swing and then again with a massive secondary backswing. (Hasbro)
_________________________________________________________________
-Rulings and Clarifications-
  • - DOUBLE ATTACK : Attacking Different Figure
    How does Krug's Double attack work? Does he have to attack the same opponent?
    No, once Krug attacks one opponent, you can choose any figure adjacent to Krug and attack again. The second figure can be the same figure you attacked the first time, or a different one. (Hasbro FAQ)

    - MOVEMENT : Fitting On Hexes
    Figures normally have to fit completely on a space in order to move onto it, but Krug’s sword is too low when standing on the bridge and it causes him to lean and not stand completely on the space. Can he still move there?
    No. You must fit completely on the space. (Hasbro FAQ)
_________________________________________________________________
-Combinations and Synergies-

Synergy Benefits Received
  • - ARROW GRUTS : Beast Bonding
    As a beast, Krug may benefit from Arrow Gruts’ BEAST BONDING activation bonus.

    - KHOSUMET THE DARKLORD : Relentless Assault
    Having a relentless personality, Krug may benefit from Khosumet the Darklord’s RELENTLESS ASSAULT attack bonus.

    - ORNAK : Red Flag of Fury
    As a unique hero that follows Utgar, Krug may benefit from Ornak’s RED FLAG OF FURY activation synergy.

Synergy Benefits Offered
  • - N/A
C3V and SoV Custom Synergies
Spoiler Alert!

_________________________________________________________________
-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
  • - TBA

_________________________________________________________________
-Heroscapers Community Contributions-

Power Rankings

Jexik: Krug- They just don't make them like they used to. Although tons of fun, more people seem to have access to enough squads to bring the old angry teddy bear down these days. B+

OEAO: B+

Cleon: Tier 8 (41/208)

dok (VC inclusive): A-

Master Index
Unit Strategy Review
  • - TBA

Last edited by superfrog; March 20th, 2019 at 12:33 PM. Reason: vc added
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 8th, 2007, 05:12 PM
Aranas's Avatar
Aranas Aranas is offline
 
Join Date: May 17, 2006
Location: * Canada - Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 924
Aranas has disabled reputation
An important thing to remember:

Double Attack is a Special Power NOT a Special Attack.

Thus, Syvarris, Krug, Einar Imperium or any other figure with that special power gets two distinct normal attacks.


Aranas

Things you might have missed in the rulebook:
Figures can't pass through friendly engaged figures.
Figures can't attack themselves.

SITE D'HEROSCAPE FRANCOPHONE, C'EST PAR ICI
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 8th, 2007, 07:07 PM
Sargent_Drake_8 Sargent_Drake_8 is offline
 
Join Date: February 13, 2007
Location: In the Chrome cave fighting crossdresser ghosts
Posts: 1,030
Sargent_Drake_8 has disabled reputation
The exception to that rule being Kaemon, who has a double attack special attack.

Sarge is Torch...
aboard STARSHIP GAMMA...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 9th, 2007, 09:44 AM
Aranas's Avatar
Aranas Aranas is offline
 
Join Date: May 17, 2006
Location: * Canada - Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 924
Aranas has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sargent_Drake_8
The exception to that rule being Kaemon, who has a double attack special attack.
NO please!!! Don't mix people more!!!


Kaemon Awa doesn't have Double Attack Special Power. It is something else, a Special Attack with a different name:
Quote:
Kaemon Awa
Quick Release Special Attack
Range 4. Attack 4.
When Kaemon Awa attacks with his Quick Release Special Attack, he may attack one additional time.

Aranas

Things you might have missed in the rulebook:
Figures can't pass through friendly engaged figures.
Figures can't attack themselves.

SITE D'HEROSCAPE FRANCOPHONE, C'EST PAR ICI
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 10th, 2007, 01:08 PM
TheRealQ TheRealQ is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: TX - Taylor
Posts: 737
TheRealQ has disabled reputation
Krug is drafted over 50% of the time at my house. He is the counter to every other large/huge figure. In addition, he can wade through a hail of ranged attacks getting stronger as he approachs allowing him to do some serious damage once he is engaged with the enemy.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 25th, 2007, 01:20 PM
lonewolf's Avatar
lonewolf lonewolf is offline
GenCon General Wars & DW9K Jumpstart Champ 2008
 
Join Date: August 1, 2006
Location: AZ - North PHX
Posts: 2,208
lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
I have a question about Krug, and since I can't search anymore, I'm not sure if it had already been asked/answered.

Can Krug (or any other figure) disengage and reingage as many times as their move permits. Obviously this strategy is to incur extra wounds and increase attack.

Example:
Krug is currently engaged....

Move-1
Move away from engagement to receive passing swipe
Move-2
Re-engage
Move-3
Move away from engagement to receive another passing swipe
Move-4
Re-engage
Move-5
Not used
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 25th, 2007, 01:23 PM
netherspirit's Avatar
netherspirit netherspirit is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: May 8, 2006
Location: OH - Cleveland
Posts: 8,771
Blog Entries: 5
netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer netherspirit is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonewolf
I have a question about Krug, and since I can't search anymore, I'm not sure if it had already been asked/answered.

Can Krug (or any other figure) disengage and reingage as many times as their move permits. Obviously this strategy is to incur extra wounds and increase attack.

Example:
Krug is currently engaged....

Move-1
Move away from engagement to receive passing swipe
Move-2
Re-engage
Move-3
Move away from engagement to receive another passing swipe
Move-4
Re-engage
Move-5
Not used
That would work except that passing swipes are optional and your opponent isn't required to roll for it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 25th, 2007, 01:23 PM
NecroBlade's Avatar
NecroBlade NecroBlade is offline
"our design team knows what it's doing"
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Location: KY - Shepherdsville
Posts: 20,899
Images: 154
Blog Entries: 21
NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth
Since he's a double spaced figure, it'll take 2 move to fully diengagae, so he'll only be able to do it once per activation (and still get back in attack position). [EDIT: Actually, there are situations you could do it twice, my mistake.] Also, disengaging strikes are optional, so your opponent can just let you dance around without providing Krug extra attack dice.


Arena of the Valkyire - Help create Heroscape's next Master Set!
317-149
C3V Brainstorm
Pepperony - 14/09/13
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 25th, 2007, 01:25 PM
lonewolf's Avatar
lonewolf lonewolf is offline
GenCon General Wars & DW9K Jumpstart Champ 2008
 
Join Date: August 1, 2006
Location: AZ - North PHX
Posts: 2,208
lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla lonewolf is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Quote:
Originally Posted by NecroBlade
Since he's a double spaced figure, it'll take 2 move to fully diengagae, so he'll only be able to do it once per activation (and still get back in attack position). Also, disengaging strikes are optional, so your opponent can just let you dance around without providing Krug extra attack dice.
I might not take 2 move to fully disengage. He could be engaged on the end of his figure. With K's being krug and O being the Opponent. He could back up one space and then move forward one space right?

KK O
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 25th, 2007, 01:36 PM
MattserTruckRally's Avatar
MattserTruckRally MattserTruckRally is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2007, 2009, & 2012
 
Join Date: September 25, 2006
Location: OH - Columbus
Posts: 813
MattserTruckRally rolls all skulls baby! MattserTruckRally rolls all skulls baby! MattserTruckRally rolls all skulls baby! MattserTruckRally rolls all skulls baby! MattserTruckRally rolls all skulls baby! MattserTruckRally rolls all skulls baby!
Yeah I almost never give passing swipes to Krug early in the game. You are usually better off ignoring him and hopefully having a decent ranged unit to finish him off later in the game.


Krug has some great unit choices though that synergize well. Ideally your army should have some way to deal with ranged threats. Once the ranged threats are gone Krug is nearly unstoppable.

Arrow Gruts - this one is pretty obvious

Eldgrim - Helps offset his 5 movement a little

Saylind - This'll get Krug way into enemy territory before they even know what hit em.

Braxus - Kill pesky ranged units like KMA, Marro Warriors before they have a chance to wreck you.

Grenade lobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 25th, 2007, 01:42 PM
IAmBatman's Avatar
IAmBatman IAmBatman is online now
Best There Is! - C3G Con 2020 Champ
 
Join Date: February 15, 2007
Location: USA - AL - Montgomery
Posts: 110,435
Images: 110
IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer IAmBatman is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Best for the points value melee figure in the game, IMO. As said above, when ranged figures are down, this is the go-to guy.
Also easily my favorite sculpt. I love this guy.
I'm toying around with the idea of this army for competitive purposes:
Q9 x180
Nakitas x120
Raelin x80
Krug x120

Nakitas and Raelin protect Q9 while Q9 and Nakitas take out the enemy ranged figures. Then Krug bats clean up (or engages any melee figures that move up to attack Q9 - though if Krug's unwounded at the time, it might be better to let Q9 just take care of himself).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 25th, 2007, 02:03 PM
Tholarthemag Tholarthemag is offline
 
Join Date: November 14, 2006
Location: NC - Asheville
Posts: 260
Tholarthemag has disabled reputation
If you really need Krug to be powered up, you can pound him with your own arrows before he attacks. Yes, it sounds crazy, but I have wasted many a hero and army doing this.

Braxas can be killed by peanut butter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.