Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 19th, 2008, 11:32 PM
KevinWC's Avatar
KevinWC KevinWC is offline
 
Join Date: August 5, 2007
Location: USA-MO-Kansas City
Posts: 254
KevinWC Woo who?
Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

The Engagement Strike states:

If an opponent's small or medium figure moves adjacent to Arkmer, roll the 20-sided die. If you roll a 13 or higher, the opponent's figure receives one wound. Figures may be targeted only as they move into engagement with Arkmer

My question came up in my first game with wave 8. My brother had Arkmer and the elf wizards on the highground. I had the Wolves of Badru and Otonashi left. All my other biggies (Zelrig, Sujoah, and Gurei One-Eye) could not roll any shields. I decided to pounce my wolves right into the middle of his elves and take out Kyntela Gwyn and Arkmer in a "do or die" attack to save the game. The wolves pounced and one easily killed Kyntela Gwyn, thus landing next to Arkmer. Thus we had a dilema. Does Arkmer get to use his Engagement Strike? The wolf did not really move into engagement, he was landed their by a special attack. We decided that this being the case he did not get Engagement Strike.

I would like to know what the community's take on this is. Other power's such as Spear of Summoning and Jotun's Throw ability could also cause this problem.

So here it is: Can Arkmer use Engagement Strike on figures that became adjacent to him by any means other than normal movement?

Thank You.

A KC Heroscaper who is Not in Kansas Anymore...
____________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 19th, 2008, 11:35 PM
tdavid6's Avatar
tdavid6 tdavid6 is offline
 
Join Date: July 19, 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 280
tdavid6 is surprisingly tart
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

I would beleive so, yes.

Good traders: Scape_Scrub11, Eckels, Eirikr, and Hilo-Scaper.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 19th, 2008, 11:44 PM
KevinWC's Avatar
KevinWC KevinWC is offline
 
Join Date: August 5, 2007
Location: USA-MO-Kansas City
Posts: 254
KevinWC Woo who?
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdavid6 View Post
I would beleive so, yes.
Could you explain why you think so?

A KC Heroscaper who is Not in Kansas Anymore...
____________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 19th, 2008, 11:50 PM
LilNewbie's Avatar
LilNewbie LilNewbie is offline
Site Admin & Master Custom Creator
 
Join Date: May 8, 2006
Location: NM - Albuquerque
Posts: 5,593
LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Quote from Grungebob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grungebob
Quote:
Originally Posted by fejkl
Originally Posted by fejkl
A nice way around the Engagement Strike is to summon or carry someone adjacent to the Nakitas. Since the figure isn't moving into adjacency (it's being placed), there should be no ES.
wrong. The designers have stated that moving and placing are synonymous basically.
Hope this helps,
Newb.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 19th, 2008, 11:52 PM
Troll Warrior Troll Warrior is offline
Best Marvel Role-Player ('07 CoNny Award)
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: MN - St. Paul
Posts: 937
Troll Warrior is surprisingly tart
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

I would say yes as well. I'm too lazy to find the link, but it has been established that Jotun can throw a figure adjacent to an Egagement Striker, who could then roll for the Strike.

If thrown figures can be subject to the Strike, I see no reason figures moving of their own accord should not be subject to the same rules.

As a general rule, it's not the "how" that's important. Do what the card says, not what it doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:01 AM
KevinWC's Avatar
KevinWC KevinWC is offline
 
Join Date: August 5, 2007
Location: USA-MO-Kansas City
Posts: 254
KevinWC Woo who?
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Thank you for the response everyone. Mystery Solved.
I am glad though that we didn't know the this at the time. My wolf pounce was the only highlight of the game for my army. I took out Arkmer with my next two wolves.

A KC Heroscaper who is Not in Kansas Anymore...
____________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:05 AM
Troll Warrior Troll Warrior is offline
Best Marvel Role-Player ('07 CoNny Award)
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: MN - St. Paul
Posts: 937
Troll Warrior is surprisingly tart
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Well, since the Wolf didn't become adjacent to Arkmer until after it killed Kyntella and replaced her, Arkmer wouldn't have rolled against a Wolf in mid-leap.

As far as I'm concerned, your win is still legit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:20 AM
KevinWC's Avatar
KevinWC KevinWC is offline
 
Join Date: August 5, 2007
Location: USA-MO-Kansas City
Posts: 254
KevinWC Woo who?
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troll Warrior View Post
Well, since the Wolf didn't become adjacent to Arkmer until after it killed Kyntella and replaced her, Arkmer wouldn't have rolled against a Wolf in mid-leap.

As far as I'm concerned, your win is still legit.
Well, what I meant was the way my brother was rolling that wolf would have died after killing Kyntella Gwyn. My brother still won the game even after losing Gwyn and Arkmer. He still had Jordawn, Ulginesh, and Ullar's ninja (can't remember name ). My wolves almost killed Jordawn before they perished. The encounter at least gave me one last HURRAH before I was defeated.

A KC Heroscaper who is Not in Kansas Anymore...
____________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:30 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Quote from Grungebob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grungebob
Quote:
Originally Posted by fejkl
Originally Posted by fejkl
A nice way around the Engagement Strike is to summon or carry someone adjacent to the Nakitas. Since the figure isn't moving into adjacency (it's being placed), there should be no ES.
wrong. The designers have stated that moving and placing are synonymous basically.
Case closed. Nothing to see here, move on.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:31 AM
Nooblar's Avatar
Nooblar Nooblar is offline
is late for dinner.
 
Join Date: May 11, 2006
Location: MN - (Southwest)
Posts: 2,484
Blog Entries: 13
Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby! Nooblar rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Sounds like a fun game, despite the loss. I have yet to try the elves, but the wolves were a lot of fun to pounce with!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:33 AM
Jaz1597's Avatar
Jaz1597 Jaz1597 is offline
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: Acton, MA
Posts: 965
Images: 143
Blog Entries: 2
Jaz1597 knows what's in an order marker Jaz1597 knows what's in an order marker Jaz1597 knows what's in an order marker
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

FYI, this is also in the new FAQ!

LOTR Customs
I'm sure of your ability
To become my perfect enemy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:39 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Arkmer's Engagement Strike 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz1597 View Post
FYI, this is also in the new FAQ!
Where?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nakita & Engagement Strike Question(s) Bixby Official Units 22 May 15th, 2008 08:43 PM
Counter Strike? MattMan5 Official Rules & FAQ's 2 March 22nd, 2008 08:51 AM
Please let the writer's strike end soon! netherspirit Other Media 51 February 10th, 2008 01:37 PM
Counter-Strike bigmick Official Rules & FAQ's 18 January 10th, 2007 09:53 AM
Engagement and Leaving engagement attacks questions. Pumpkin_King Official Rules & FAQ's 4 January 8th, 2007 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.