Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #397  
Old July 20th, 2017, 01:59 PM
Airborne Elite 5's Avatar
Airborne Elite 5 Airborne Elite 5 is offline
Opps. He did it again.
 
Join Date: January 18, 2014
Location: USA - WA - Puyallup
Posts: 294
Airborne Elite 5 is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by obfuscatedhippo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airborne Elite 5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by raXas1516 View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can you enchant creatures that have not been summoned yet?
Yes, you can.

Sorry - I disagree. I think the answer is "No" you cannot play spells on creatures that are not summoned yet.

Per the rule book, at the start of the game your Planeswalker is placed in front of you and the army card and figures for other units are placed to the side in your Reserve.

Army cards/figures are only moved into play when Summoned (from the Reserve). With this in mind, I think of the cards in Reserve as out of the game until summoned - and therefore cannot be affected until they enter the battlefield.
It appears you are correct.

Never tell me the odds, because I already know 'em...

Also a sucker for anything Warforged...
Reply With Quote
  #398  
Old July 20th, 2017, 04:50 PM
chas's Avatar
chas chas is offline
 
Join Date: June 23, 2008
Location: USA- NY - New York City
Posts: 4,524
Blog Entries: 64
chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: AotP Question Dump

I say yes, the answer is no!
Reply With Quote
  #399  
Old July 21st, 2017, 03:32 PM
Kajoq Kajoq is offline
 
Join Date: August 31, 2015
Location: USA - GA - Atlanta
Posts: 209
Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by obfuscatedhippo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airborne Elite 5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by raXas1516 View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can you enchant creatures that have not been summoned yet?
Yes, you can.

Sorry - I disagree. I think the answer is "No" you cannot play spells on creatures that are not summoned yet.

Per the rule book, at the start of the game your Planeswalker is placed in front of you and the army card and figures for other units are placed to the side in your Reserve.

Army cards/figures are only moved into play when Summoned (from the Reserve). With this in mind, I think of the cards in Reserve as out of the game until summoned - and therefore cannot be affected until they enter the battlefield.
2nd this. Figures cannot be enchanted until they're on the battlefield.

M:TG analogy, You couldn't cast Unholy Strength to enchant a creature that's still in your hand.
Reply With Quote
  #400  
Old July 22nd, 2017, 11:54 AM
raXas1516's Avatar
raXas1516 raXas1516 is offline
 
Join Date: November 4, 2014
Location: Canada - Ontario - Hamilton
Posts: 134
raXas1516 is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

Ok, so the consensus is no, you cannot enchant creatures in your reserve. Another sort of related question that popped up: if a squad is unsummoned, are face up and face down enchantments on that squad destroyed?
Reply With Quote
  #401  
Old July 25th, 2017, 05:51 PM
HeroTempest HeroTempest is offline
 
Join Date: November 2, 2015
Location: Brazil - Paraná - Curitiba
Posts: 43
HeroTempest knows what's in an order marker HeroTempest knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by raXas1516 View Post
Ok, so the consensus is no, you cannot enchant creatures in your reserve. Another sort of related question that popped up: if a squad is unsummoned, are face up and face down enchantments on that squad destroyed?
Yes, If none figure of an army card is on play anymore, all enchantments go to graveyard. Doesnt matter If all the squad was destroyed or unsummoned.
Reply With Quote
  #402  
Old January 12th, 2018, 10:43 AM
Hawkfire Hawkfire is offline
 
Join Date: January 12, 2018
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 1
Hawkfire is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

1) Do you become engaged/disengaged when you just move through a space next to an opponent during your move and don't start or finish there (hoping no)?

2) Do squads keep enchantments if their Planeswalker dies?

3) The Eldrazi Ruiner has something like +3 defense in the in box scenario for Zendikar. Thats just an ability for that one scenerio to make him tougher, yes? Saving them putting it on the card as just a higher defense because it wouldn't apply outside that scenario?

Please and thank you
Reply With Quote
  #403  
Old January 12th, 2018, 12:41 PM
bradtato bradtato is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2012
Location: USA - Virginia - Glen Allen
Posts: 60
bradtato knows what's in an order marker bradtato knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkfire View Post
1) Do you become engaged/disengaged when you just move through a space next to an opponent during your move and don't start or finish there (hoping no)?

2) Do squads keep enchantments if their Planeswalker dies?

3) The Eldrazi Ruiner has something like +3 defense in the in box scenario for Zendikar. Thats just an ability for that one scenerio to make him tougher, yes? Saving them putting it on the card as just a higher defense because it wouldn't apply outside that scenario?

Please and thank you
1) Yes, occupying a space adjecent to an opponents figure causes the figures to become engaged. Moving from an engagement will result in a disengagement roll, even if it all happens through your normal move phase.

2) Without rereading the rules manual, I'm pretty sure yes, enchantments stay active event after a Planeswalker is destroyed. Wizards is usually pretty thorough with the wording on their cards, and if they didn't stay active, there would probably be text on the card dictating otherwise.

3) Correct, the Eldrazi Ruiner has it's card's abilities and only it's card's abilities outside the in-box scenario. Keep in mind, house rules, as long as all players agree to them, can make for a fun way to change things up
Reply With Quote
  #404  
Old January 15th, 2018, 01:02 PM
Dhaphaos's Avatar
Dhaphaos Dhaphaos is offline
 
Join Date: December 31, 2008
Location: USA - Illinois - Chicago(South Side, Beverly)
Posts: 119
Dhaphaos rolls all skulls baby! Dhaphaos rolls all skulls baby! Dhaphaos rolls all skulls baby! Dhaphaos rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

I've read through the game manuals and through several pages here. I'm not finding an answer though. Is there a cap to how many squad auras can be active on a single squad at once? I had a game Saturday night where Nissa was one shotted from full health (amazing roll) by a Blazing Firecat due to +4 attack from 3 separate auras. Firebreathing +2, power of fire +1 and sure strike +1. She rolled full swords (7) attack which ended up being 8 due to the intense strike ability. I rolled one shield.... toasty.
Reply With Quote
  #405  
Old January 15th, 2018, 04:36 PM
HEROSCAPERMTL HEROSCAPERMTL is offline
 
Join Date: March 14, 2017
Location: Canada - QC- Montréal
Posts: 118
HEROSCAPERMTL knows what's in an order marker HEROSCAPERMTL knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhaphaos View Post
I've read through the game manuals and through several pages here. I'm not finding an answer though. Is there a cap to how many squad auras can be active on a single squad at once? I had a game Saturday night where Nissa was one shotted from full health (amazing roll) by a Blazing Firecat due to +4 attack from 3 separate auras. Firebreathing +2, power of fire +1 and sure strike +1. She rolled full swords (7) attack which ended up being 8 due to the intense strike ability. I rolled one shield.... toasty.
My memory is a bit hazy but I'm pretty sure there isn't a limit to the amount of enchantments one can place on an army card.
Reply With Quote
  #406  
Old January 15th, 2018, 04:42 PM
japes's Avatar
japes japes is offline
A Man of Taste
 
Join Date: August 3, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Austin (SW)
Posts: 10,757
Images: 15
japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkfire View Post
1) Do you become engaged/disengaged when you just move through a space next to an opponent during your move and don't start or finish there (hoping no)?

2) Do squads keep enchantments if their Planeswalker dies?

3) The Eldrazi Ruiner has something like +3 defense in the in box scenario for Zendikar. Thats just an ability for that one scenerio to make him tougher, yes? Saving them putting it on the card as just a higher defense because it wouldn't apply outside that scenario?

Please and thank you
I have only glanced at the rules for AotP but #1 is a most assuredly a YES. That is the same through out AotP and Heroscape.

2. I thought once your Planewalker was dead you lost, your game was over?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmBatman View Post
It was a great idea that really brought this concept to the next level and now I just have to convince you of your own brilliance.
Reply With Quote
  #407  
Old January 15th, 2018, 04:52 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is online now
Silly Promo Pro, Dinosaurs are for Orcs
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 20,097
Images: 121
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth quozl is a man of the cloth
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by japes View Post
I thought once your Planewalker was dead you lost, your game was over?
No, that's a common scenario rule but not a game rule.
Reply With Quote
  #408  
Old January 15th, 2018, 04:53 PM
japes's Avatar
japes japes is offline
A Man of Taste
 
Join Date: August 3, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Austin (SW)
Posts: 10,757
Images: 15
japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer japes is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by quozl View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by japes View Post
I thought once your Planewalker was dead you lost, your game was over?
No, that's a common scenario rule but not a game rule.
Ahhh...gotcha.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmBatman View Post
It was a great idea that really brought this concept to the next level and now I just have to convince you of your own brilliance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 10846 Yesterday 09:21 AM
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 432 April 5th, 2018 07:11 AM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 247 May 11th, 2017 02:20 PM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 12 January 2nd, 2015 12:28 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 10:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.