Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #10717  
Old December 17th, 2017, 04:36 AM
iainmac97@gmail.com iainmac97@gmail.com is offline
 
Join Date: December 17, 2017
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 1
iainmac97@gmail.com is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Hello Iím happy to be aboard! Can I get a answer to a question? I was playing last night and a friend and I were in a dispute over who got 3rd or who got the dreaded 4th place! I killed his last character. He was out and then I was immediately killed the next turn (turn 2). Did I get 3rd or did we tie for 3rd since we both died in the same round? Thanks and Iím happy to join!



[]
Reply With Quote
  #10718  
Old December 17th, 2017, 06:37 AM
rednax's Avatar
rednax rednax is offline
Runa's favorite Minion
 
Join Date: August 6, 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 2,290
Images: 4
rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness rednax wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iainmac97@gmail.com View Post
Hello Iím happy to be aboard! Can I get a answer to a question? I was playing last night and a friend and I were in a dispute over who got 3rd or who got the dreaded 4th place! I killed his last character. He was out and then I was immediately killed the next turn (turn 2). Did I get 3rd or did we tie for 3rd since we both died in the same round? Thanks and Iím happy to join!



[]
I don't think there are any official rules governing who comes in third or fourth place, but if he died before you, it sounds like you should be in third place. For games that are a race to accomplish something (like first person to 20 points), it makes sense to do ties if you both achieve it on the same turn number. But for Heroscape, I don't really view turn numbers as that important. The object of the game is to survive longer than the other players, not to survive the most number of turns. Even if it were the latter, you lasted one more turn than your opponent, so I think it's fair to say that you were in third.
Reply With Quote
  #10719  
Old January 16th, 2018, 09:54 PM
Big Oldprankster Big Oldprankster is offline
 
Join Date: December 2, 2017
Location: USA-OH-Harrison
Posts: 3
Big Oldprankster Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

First time posting and just started playing the game about a month ago. I have a question but have not been able to find a definitive answer:
I have 2 squads of roman archers which have special attack of arrow volley. Both squads are adjacent to each other and each archer is adjacent to another. All are unengaged.

Questions
1. Do I need to identify which 3 belong to each card?
2. If an archer from each squad dies from an opponents range attack, can another archer from the other squad (which would be moved to be adjacent and on the same level be used to perform arrow volley?
3. Am I correct in saying an order marker needs to be placed on each squad card in order to perform 2 arrow volley special attacks?

I understand the positioning needed from other threads as well as the same level stipulation in order to perform the special attack.
Reply With Quote
  #10720  
Old January 16th, 2018, 10:15 PM
Taeblewalker's Avatar
Taeblewalker Taeblewalker is offline
Will Ultimately Face the Evil Black Dragon
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: Monticello, NY
Posts: 10,259
Images: 209
Blog Entries: 2
Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Oldprankster View Post
First time posting and just started playing the game about a month ago. I have a question but have not been able to find a definitive answer:
I have 2 squads of roman archers which have special attack of arrow volley. Both squads are adjacent to each other and each archer is adjacent to another. All are unengaged.

Questions
1. Do I need to identify which 3 belong to each card?
2. If an archer from each squad dies from an opponents range attack, can another archer from the other squad (which would be moved to be adjacent and on the same level be used to perform arrow volley?
3. Am I correct in saying an order marker needs to be placed on each squad card in order to perform 2 arrow volley special attacks?

I understand the positioning needed from other threads as well as the same level stipulation in order to perform the special attack.
You only need to use one army card to represent all of your archers. Activate any three figures when you reveal an order marker.

If you want to make a second arrow volley attack then yes you need a second order marker and have to wait until your next turn. But both order markers can go on the same card.



Reply With Quote
  #10721  
Old January 16th, 2018, 10:40 PM
Big Oldprankster Big Oldprankster is offline
 
Join Date: December 2, 2017
Location: USA-OH-Harrison
Posts: 3
Big Oldprankster Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Can you direct me to rules for multiple squads of same figures? Did not know anything about one card for 2 squads. Since starting a month ago, this is first time I have had opportunity to play with doubles of a group. Makes a little more sense now. Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #10722  
Old January 16th, 2018, 10:55 PM
Taeblewalker's Avatar
Taeblewalker Taeblewalker is offline
Will Ultimately Face the Evil Black Dragon
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: Monticello, NY
Posts: 10,259
Images: 209
Blog Entries: 2
Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Oldprankster View Post
Can you direct me to rules for multiple squads of same figures? Did not know anything about one card for 2 squads. Since starting a month ago, this is first time I have had opportunity to play with doubles of a group. Makes a little more sense now. Thank you for your help.
You can find the rulebook here . If the squad is common then you only need one card to represent two or more squads. The same goes for commoin heroes.



Reply With Quote
  #10723  
Old January 16th, 2018, 10:56 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 6,101
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Oldprankster View Post
Can you direct me to rules for multiple squads of same figures? Did not know anything about one card for 2 squads. Since starting a month ago, this is first time I have had opportunity to play with doubles of a group. Makes a little more sense now. Thank you for your help.
Good question.

If a squad is common, you can have multiple copies of that squad in your army. You only need one card for all of them. When you place Order Markers on that card, those allow you to take a turn with ANY of those figures (up to the number on the card, of course). So you don't have to keep track of which Deepwyrm Drow go in a set, for example. Just move any three (or two or four depending on the squad) and attack with those same ones.

Once you get that down, your army options will be a ton better. If you let us know which squads you're running multiples of, lots of people here would be willing to give some pointers.

customs/maps/c3v/sov/card tutorial/sell list

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"
Reply With Quote
  #10724  
Old January 17th, 2018, 01:03 AM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,945
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Oldprankster View Post
Can you direct me to rules for multiple squads of same figures? Did not know anything about one card for 2 squads. Since starting a month ago, this is first time I have had opportunity to play with doubles of a group. Makes a little more sense now. Thank you for your help.
In the FAQ, the first paragraph under Movement:
Quote:
Movement
Does each individual member of the squad move and attack before the next one, or do they all move, then all attack in turn?
First you may move any or all Squad figures shown on your chosen Army Card (up to the figure limit on that Army Card), if you want to. Then after all desired movement, you may attack with those figures.
In the D & D Rulebook, in the glossary under Common Figures:
Quote:
Common Figures: Each Army may have any number of a Common
Army Card with the same name. If your Army has two or more of the
same Common Army Card, you do not have to keep these figures
separate (that is, keep track of which figures belong to which card).
For example, if you are using two Army Cards of Deepwyrm Drow
figures, each order marker placed on either Army Card activates
any three of them. See also: Army Card, Unique Figures, and
Uncommon Figures.
You may also use a single card for all commons - you may use multiple cards, but you do not need to. There is no specific definition of "activate", but the interpretation (by the game designer and the players) has been that even if you don't move all the "figures shown on your chosen Army Card" (the number of figures), you have still "activated" the full number. The rule about movement says that those you did move are potential attackers. But that, since you did not move all you could, you have a "floating" activation for each un-moved figure that can be used for attacking also. And, in your specific case, any three can be activated for the special attack.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #10725  
Old January 17th, 2018, 10:06 AM
Big Oldprankster Big Oldprankster is offline
 
Join Date: December 2, 2017
Location: USA-OH-Harrison
Posts: 3
Big Oldprankster Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Thank you all for the answers. I am sure I will have more in the future. Does a group of you still play and meet at GenCon every year? If yes could the organizer add me to an emailing list to receive than info?

chrgof@cinci.rr.com
Reply With Quote
  #10726  
Old January 17th, 2018, 10:11 AM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 22,522
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

There’s no email list. You’re one of us now, and all info will be posted here, in the gencon sub-subforum, when it’s ready.

Welcome aboard!

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #10727  
Old February 3rd, 2018, 08:33 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,945
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Anybody know of a terrain cheat-sheet? A (single page?) reference sheet that explicates all the non-standard terrain effects?

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #10728  
Old February 3rd, 2018, 11:50 PM
Dr.Goomonkey's Avatar
Dr.Goomonkey Dr.Goomonkey is offline
On vacation...
 
Join Date: February 20, 2012
Location: USA - WA - Seattle(Marysville)
Posts: 1,394
Images: 183
Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
Anybody know of a terrain cheat-sheet? A (single page?) reference sheet that explicates all the non-standard terrain effects?

~Z
AliasQTip's Quick Start Guide includes what you're looking for at the bottom. It's a really nice sheet to have around if you're playing with new people often, or if you just like to check and make sure you're climbing over battlements properly.

Repaints My Maps Online Maps Customs
Autumn Custom Contest - CONGRATS ARCH-VILE!
Where do you find giant snails?
Spoiler Alert!

Last edited by Dr.Goomonkey; February 3rd, 2018 at 11:50 PM. Reason: Thought I'd put the link in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 11:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.