Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #8725  
Old July 15th, 2013, 06:18 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is online now
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,456
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 39
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Shhhhhh! Don't tell everyone I'm filthy rich royalty! =P

Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
That is clarification, Kiova. Figures cannot see themselves on the battlefield.
Eh, there is a difference between the two terms in HS and aren't really meant to be interchangeable.

Thus, the clarification. ^_^

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.

Last edited by flameslayer93; July 15th, 2013 at 06:19 PM. Reason: LOS =/= Clear Sight
Reply With Quote
  #8726  
Old July 15th, 2013, 06:20 PM
MegaSilver's Avatar
MegaSilver MegaSilver is offline
Online HS Season 12 Champ, But Still Three-N-Two
 
Join Date: April 13, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Caneyville
Posts: 13,467
Images: 103
Blog Entries: 39
MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth
Re: Shhhhhh! Don't tell everyone I'm filthy rich royalty! =P

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
That is clarification, Kiova. Figures cannot see themselves on the battlefield.
Eh, there is a difference between the two terms in HS and aren't really meant to be interchangeable.

Thus, the clarification. ^_^
I know that. But a figure cannot see itself!
Reply With Quote
  #8727  
Old July 15th, 2013, 06:23 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is online now
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,456
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 39
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
BRB ;}

Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
That is clarification, Kiova. Figures cannot see themselves on the battlefield.
Eh, there is a difference between the two terms in HS and aren't really meant to be interchangeable.

Thus, the clarification. ^_^
I know that. But a figure cannot see itself!
I dunno, I still think that Raelin (and other Kyrie) suggests they can. I'll look in the FAQ's (and BftU's rulebook) and post back when I ind out.

Edit: Well I didn't see anything stating otherwise in either text. It appears as though sight in general is only used as a determining factor for other figures (the only official instance of this appears to be Sonlen's Dragon with its Healing ability, but that is a figure on a figure who is not used to check sight).

As such, use this information as you wish.

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.

Last edited by flameslayer93; July 15th, 2013 at 06:32 PM. Reason: Confusing, isn't it? =P
Reply With Quote
  #8728  
Old July 16th, 2013, 04:09 AM
scream81 scream81 is offline
 
Join Date: August 1, 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 11
scream81 Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

1) 1 water tile and 1 land tile, are they consider same level ? Can a 2hex figure land on 1 water tile and 1 land tile ?

2) 1 water tile stack on 1 land tile and beside 1 land tile. are they consider same level ? Can a 2hex figure land on 1 water tile and 1 land tile ?

thanks pls advice =)
Reply With Quote
  #8729  
Old July 16th, 2013, 07:46 AM
pieface!'s Avatar
pieface! pieface! is offline
 
Join Date: April 30, 2013
Location: Heh, heh, heh... I'll never tell!
Posts: 35
pieface! is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

1. No, 1 water is considered no level, I believe. No. The base must be on equal elevation.

2. Yes, but a 2 hex figure still can't be placed there.
Reply With Quote
  #8730  
Old July 16th, 2013, 09:10 AM
MegaSilver's Avatar
MegaSilver MegaSilver is offline
Online HS Season 12 Champ, But Still Three-N-Two
 
Join Date: April 13, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Caneyville
Posts: 13,467
Images: 103
Blog Entries: 39
MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scream81 View Post
1) 1 water tile and 1 land tile, are they consider same level ? Can a 2hex figure land on 1 water tile and 1 land tile ?

2) 1 water tile stack on 1 land tile and beside 1 land tile. are they consider same level ? Can a 2hex figure land on 1 water tile and 1 land tile ?

thanks pls advice =)
1. No, a water tile is considered zero height and a land tile one height, so a 2 hex figure cannot stand on one of each.

2.Yes, they are considered the same level in that case, so YES, a 2 hex figure can stand on it.

Last edited by MegaSilver; July 16th, 2013 at 09:11 AM. Reason: pieface may have got confused by your question, I'm not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #8731  
Old July 17th, 2013, 10:45 AM
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
SuperflyTNT SuperflyTNT is offline
Sheeple of the Codex of Ultimate Wisdom and Morality
 
Join Date: August 7, 2008
Location: At the Superfly Circus, of course!
Posts: 5,123
Images: 20
Blog Entries: 10
SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

...unless two water tiles are stacked on top of one another, in which case it's even height.

I was famous, once...
http://www.heroscapers.com/community/blog.php?b=1715
Visit my site:
http://www.superflycircus.com
"I'm not cute...I'll mess you up!" ~Jake The Dog
Reply With Quote
  #8732  
Old July 17th, 2013, 10:48 AM
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
SuperflyTNT SuperflyTNT is offline
Sheeple of the Codex of Ultimate Wisdom and Morality
 
Join Date: August 7, 2008
Location: At the Superfly Circus, of course!
Posts: 5,123
Images: 20
Blog Entries: 10
SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death!
Re: Shhhhhh! Don't tell everyone I'm filthy rich royalty! =P

Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flameslayer93 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
That is clarification, Kiova. Figures cannot see themselves on the battlefield.
Eh, there is a difference between the two terms in HS and aren't really meant to be interchangeable.

Thus, the clarification. ^_^
I know that. But a figure cannot see itself!
It's easier to remember this:
1. Line of Sight must pass through at least one hex, but you always have LOS on adjacent models.
3. Clear sight must pass through at least one hex, but you always have LOS on adjacent models.

If you always remember that sight of any kind must pass through one hex, it saves you a lot of "rule-membering".

I was famous, once...
http://www.heroscapers.com/community/blog.php?b=1715
Visit my site:
http://www.superflycircus.com
"I'm not cute...I'll mess you up!" ~Jake The Dog
Reply With Quote
  #8733  
Old July 17th, 2013, 11:11 AM
LoganTO's Avatar
LoganTO LoganTO is offline
 
Join Date: June 24, 2013
Location: Canada - ON - Toronto
Posts: 276
LoganTO is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperflyTNT View Post
...unless two water tiles are stacked on top of one another, in which case it's even height.
But if you would do that, you might as well just stick another hex there and put a water tile on top since water tiles don't stack well.

Or would 2 on top of each other be deep water and have possible damaging side effects... roll 20 sided die, if you roll a 20, you drown :P


Historyscape

Spoiler Alert!
Reply With Quote
  #8734  
Old July 17th, 2013, 11:41 AM
R˙chean's Avatar
R˙chean R˙chean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,328
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperflyTNT View Post
...unless two water tiles are stacked on top of one another, in which case it's even height.
This isn't accurate.

Under no circumstances is water or any zero height tile considered to have a height, even if stacked. Zero plus zero equals zero.

Furthermore, the stacking of zero height tiles is not allowed within the official rules. Using the Thalenk Tundra rule book, it says that "ice tiles cannot be stacked on water tiles, other ice tiles, or any other tiles that are considered to have no height." This is also referenced in the Volcarren Wasteland rule book and the Battle for the Underdark rule book.

Stacking of zero height tiles is completely a custom use of the terrain and there is no official rules or scenarios that support doing so nor how to count the height if you did.

Since this is a thread in the official rules area of the forum, I would be remiss if I did not point out that stacking zero height tiles is not an official way to build terrain.


A must read for all 'Scapers!

Last edited by R˙chean; July 17th, 2013 at 01:44 PM. Reason: Change level to height As per cmgames clarification in post 8737
Reply With Quote
  #8735  
Old July 17th, 2013, 12:33 PM
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
SuperflyTNT SuperflyTNT is offline
Sheeple of the Codex of Ultimate Wisdom and Morality
 
Join Date: August 7, 2008
Location: At the Superfly Circus, of course!
Posts: 5,123
Images: 20
Blog Entries: 10
SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death! SuperflyTNT is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

If you put a water tile on top of a land tile, it's not a zero level tile, though. It assumes the level of the tile below it, correct?

Quote:
Furthermore, the stacking of zero level tiles is not allowed within the official rules. Using the Thalenk Tundra rule book, it says that "ice tiles cannot be stacked on water tiles, other ice tiles, or any other tiles that are considered to have no height." This is also referenced in the Volcarren Wasteland rule book and the Battle for the Underdark rule book.
And that applies to ice and shadow and lava, but is there any reference to WATER or SWAMP WATER in either master set rules? Not being a smart ass, genuinely curious. I've done this specifically because I don't have all that many 1-hex tiles so I do it to save tiles.

I was famous, once...
http://www.heroscapers.com/community/blog.php?b=1715
Visit my site:
http://www.superflycircus.com
"I'm not cute...I'll mess you up!" ~Jake The Dog
Reply With Quote
  #8736  
Old July 17th, 2013, 12:46 PM
R˙chean's Avatar
R˙chean R˙chean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,328
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Nope..nothing about swamp or water..but there is also no rules or scenarios for it being alowed. There is a previous incarnation of FAQ stating that zero *height* tiles never have height. If they never have height, how does stacking them give them height?

We all do it. I'm just pointing out that it isn't supported by the rules.

A must read for all 'Scapers!

Last edited by R˙chean; July 17th, 2013 at 01:45 PM. Reason: Change level to height As per cmgames below
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 11:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.