Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 23rd, 2015, 02:51 PM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 24,798
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
AotP Question Dump

Here's a place for you to ask questions about the rules of Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG. I won't be answering them, at least for the moment, because I don't actually *know* the rules. But somebody else will probably take a stab at it.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 23rd, 2015, 06:35 PM
Ninja Status's Avatar
Ninja Status Ninja Status is offline
...Something unique
 
Join Date: July 12, 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,715
Images: 21
Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: AotP Question Dump

Shouldn't there be a "Other Customizations & AotP Additions" section? I suspect some people will want to repaint the miniatures or customize the terrain in the future. Just a thought.

W
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 23rd, 2015, 09:51 PM
elvenwizard9's Avatar
elvenwizard9 elvenwizard9 is offline
 
Join Date: July 29, 2010
Location: USA - LA
Posts: 962
elvenwizard9 rolls all skulls baby! elvenwizard9 rolls all skulls baby! elvenwizard9 rolls all skulls baby! elvenwizard9 rolls all skulls baby! elvenwizard9 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

I have a quick question:

How many people jumped when they saw the new subforum? I did.

"elvenwizard9." Now that's a username I've not heard in a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 24th, 2015, 11:56 AM
chas's Avatar
chas chas is offline
 
Join Date: June 23, 2008
Location: USA- NY - New York City
Posts: 4,870
Blog Entries: 64
chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun chas is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: AotP Question Dump

Maybe you weren't following the Magic The Gathering Strategy Board Game discussion thread, which is now up to 82 pages. The need for this subforum is discussed at length and was implemented based on the discussion there. The thread was formerly in "Other Board Games." Clearly it was in a location that was too obscure for this hot topic.

Last edited by chas; July 24th, 2015 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 25th, 2015, 01:37 PM
obfuscatedhippo's Avatar
obfuscatedhippo obfuscatedhippo is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2009
Location: USA - WA - Seattle
Posts: 1,402
Images: 28
obfuscatedhippo has disabled reputation
Re: AotP Question Dump

Clarification question:

Planeswalkers are not creatures, right?

For example on Incinerate: "Deal 3 damage to target creature .. "


You cannot use Incinerate to damage an opponent's Planeswalker?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 25th, 2015, 02:26 PM
vegietarian18's Avatar
vegietarian18 vegietarian18 is online now
Online HS Season 10 Champion
 
Join Date: September 5, 2011
Location: USA - IL - Peoria
Posts: 4,393
vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death! vegietarian18 is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

I would assume you cannot use anything that says Creature can't be used on a Planeswalker just because Incinerate + Dual Casting + Overheat is an automatic instakill on all Planeswalkers if legal. Someone with an MtG background can probqbly confirm that Creature means it cannot target w planeswalker.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 25th, 2015, 03:08 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,537
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

Planeswalkers are NOT creatures (unless some abilty or effect makes them a creature).

~Aldin, creature featuringly

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 27th, 2015, 03:04 PM
Leotheanimal87's Avatar
Leotheanimal87 Leotheanimal87 is offline
 
Join Date: August 12, 2010
Location: USA-CA-Fullerton
Posts: 272
Leotheanimal87 is surprisingly tart
Re: AotP Question Dump

Something my brother and I have been wondering, since you can play a spell card and summon before you move a planeswalker, does it matter which you do first?

What I learned from NHSD 2017: “If you have height advantage, don’t use stinger drain.”
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 27th, 2015, 04:18 PM
Ninja Status's Avatar
Ninja Status Ninja Status is offline
...Something unique
 
Join Date: July 12, 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,715
Images: 21
Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun Ninja Status is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: AotP Question Dump

According to the rulebook, if your Planeswalker is on the battlefield, you must draw a card first.

W
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 27th, 2015, 05:32 PM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,537
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leotheanimal87 View Post
Something my brother and I have been wondering, since you can play a spell card and summon before you move a planeswalker, does it matter which you do first?
After drawing a card and selecting your Planeswalker for a turn and before moving that Planeswalker you can, in any order, summon up to two squads and play up to three spell cards. After moving the Planeswalker (and optionally attacking), you can play up to three spell cards, less any number you played before movement on this turn.

Here's a weird example:

As Liliana, you have not summoned any squads. You draw a spell card and select Liliana for a turn. Before doing anything else, you play Killing Wave, destroying the two annoying Rhox Veterans that were adjacent after Gideon summoned them last turn.

Next, returning the favor, you summon your Restless Zombies adjacent to Gideon.

Wanting to keep them safe from squads, you play Strangling Root on the Restless Zombies and move forward to attack Gideon from adjacent height.

With lousy luck, not only did Liliana miss Gideon, but his nasty counterattack inflicted a whopping 4 wounds!

Fortunately, she is adjacent to one of her Restless Zombies and plays her third and final spell card for the turn, Altar's Reach, destroying a Zombie and recovering four life.

~Aldin, suboptimally for anything but exampleishness

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old August 4th, 2015, 10:55 AM
Targanth's Avatar
Targanth Targanth is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2008
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 593
Targanth knows what's in an order marker Targanth knows what's in an order marker Targanth knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

A comment on BGG about summoning squads has raised a question in my mind. Squads can be summoned to empty spaces within 5 spaces of the PW that in clear sight. Figures can not be summoned onto glyphs since they are not empty.

A height 4 PW would have clear sight to the top of a stack of terrain 1, 2, or 3 tiles high. A 4 height PW can not climb the side of a 4 high stack of tiles because of his height. Should a 4 high PW be able to summon a squad figure onto the top of a stack of terrain that is higher than their height?

If so, how much higher of a stack?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 4th, 2015, 01:07 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 23,285
Images: 121
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

As high as they can see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 11289 November 11th, 2019 02:44 AM
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 522 October 20th, 2019 02:55 AM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 252 March 17th, 2019 10:17 AM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 12 January 2nd, 2015 01:28 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.