Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #49  
Old June 28th, 2015, 08:28 AM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,243
Images: 413
Blog Entries: 2
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

Rules Lawyer Question: Figures like Raelin read that she's not affected by her own Aura.

Moltenclaw's Army Card does not read that he is not affected by his own Burning Breath Special Attack. It reads, Moltenclaw is not affected by Burning Breath Special Attack. Since they left out "his own" does that mean he's not affected by enemy Burning Breath Special Attacks?

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old June 28th, 2015, 11:17 AM
hose hose is offline
 
Join Date: April 4, 2010
Location: usa pa indiana
Posts: 310
Blog Entries: 1
hose knows what's in an order marker hose knows what's in an order marker hose knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

This was discussed at some length on pages two through three, and I don't think there was an "official" answer. Thee wasn't anything that I could find in the FAQ either. It's a good question and I can see both sides of the conversation.

That being said, I *think* it is just an attempt to streamline the wording on the card. It's not like he is immune to Mimring's fire line attack. So it's not like he is immune to all fire based attacks or anything. But I understand those who use the strictest reading of the card.

Last edited by hose; June 28th, 2015 at 11:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old August 6th, 2018, 10:08 AM
Talyn's Avatar
Talyn Talyn is offline
 
Join Date: August 9, 2007
Location: Watertown, Wi
Posts: 438
Images: 42
Talyn knows what's in an order marker Talyn knows what's in an order marker Talyn knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

So, the "4 spaces in a straight line from the target figure", does that straight line have to be in the same direction from Moltenclaw, or as long as you hav eline of sight, can it make a 90degree turn? So your overall attack is a big "L"?

Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old August 6th, 2018, 01:15 PM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,243
Images: 413
Blog Entries: 2
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talyn View Post
So, the "4 spaces in a straight line from the target figure", does that straight line have to be in the same direction from Moltenclaw, or as long as you hav eline of sight, can it make a 90degree turn? So your overall attack is a big "L"?
That's how I read it. The L method

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old August 6th, 2018, 04:43 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 9,396
Images: 5
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

It could even be a line coming back towards Moltenclaw. Doesn't make much sense, but it's how it's written.

Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old August 6th, 2018, 04:47 PM
Talyn's Avatar
Talyn Talyn is offline
 
Join Date: August 9, 2007
Location: Watertown, Wi
Posts: 438
Images: 42
Talyn knows what's in an order marker Talyn knows what's in an order marker Talyn knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

Wow, so its the magic bullet that can make turns mid-air, lol. Alrighty then.

Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old August 6th, 2018, 04:50 PM
ollie's Avatar
ollie ollie is offline
Is a Quadradical
 
Join Date: March 19, 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 9,538
Images: 43
Blog Entries: 22
ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

Note that the first target doesn't have to be in a straight line of hexes from Moltenclaw---it can be anyone within four spaces. I see it as a fire-bomb-thingy that lands on the target and then shoots off in a straight line after that.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old September 7th, 2018, 11:24 PM
DoomCarrot's Avatar
DoomCarrot DoomCarrot is offline
 
Join Date: July 3, 2017
Location: USA - NJ - Hoboken
Posts: 95
DoomCarrot knows what's in an order marker DoomCarrot knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

An interesting issue came up at our most recent game night involving moltenclaw.

Can he attack the same figure twice? For instance, can he target a double spaced unit 4 spaces away, then attack in another line from the doule space figure’s second hex, and cross paths with his first line of attack? This allows a figure adjacent to the two space figure to be attacked twice. However, the special says to roll attack dice once for all affected figures.... but nothing about rolling defense dice only once
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old September 7th, 2018, 11:42 PM
Astroking112's Avatar
Astroking112 Astroking112 is online now
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 2,166
Images: 21
Blog Entries: 41
Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

I'm not sure that I quite understand the scenario. You only choose one straight line of hexes, so if it's a double-spaced figure, then you'd have to pick one hex as the start of your line (much like Mimring). I don't think it's possible to "cross paths" as a result.

If you were referring to the double-spaced figure (by targeting one hex and extending the line in a way that it encompasses the other one), then the figure would still only be affected by the attack once.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old September 8th, 2018, 12:51 AM
DoomCarrot's Avatar
DoomCarrot DoomCarrot is offline
 
Join Date: July 3, 2017
Location: USA - NJ - Hoboken
Posts: 95
DoomCarrot knows what's in an order marker DoomCarrot knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

No, no, for instance:

0 = Hex
d = double spaced figure
F = figure
(M)m = (Moltenclaw) and his line of attack

000d00000
.00dF00000
00000m000
.000000m00
00000000M

and the second line of attack:

000d00000
.00dFmmm0
000000000
.00000000
00000000M

therefore hitting single space figure F twice. Would figure F roll defense twice because the path crosses it twice? The card doesn't say defending figures only roll once
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old September 8th, 2018, 12:57 AM
Astroking112's Avatar
Astroking112 Astroking112 is online now
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 2,166
Images: 21
Blog Entries: 41
Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

I think I see the problem. The spaces between the targeted figure and Moltenclaw are not also affected by the attack; instead, it is simply like you are using Mimring's Fire Line Special Attack from a different figure within 4 spaces of Moltenclaw. As a result, he can only draw one of those lines per attack, so there's no need to worry about him crossing over the same figure twice.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old September 8th, 2018, 11:08 AM
DoomCarrot's Avatar
DoomCarrot DoomCarrot is offline
 
Join Date: July 3, 2017
Location: USA - NJ - Hoboken
Posts: 95
DoomCarrot knows what's in an order marker DoomCarrot knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Moltenclaw

Oh, ok. We were all under the impression that moltenclaw was able to use the attack to the targeted figure, then four spaces from it. This makes a lot more sense. Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mimring vs Moltenclaw Mrspy Official Units 89 August 15th, 2011 01:10 PM
Moltenclaw- What's your army idea? chief Competitive Armies Discussion 19 December 4th, 2010 08:32 AM
D3: Moltenclaw’s Invasion Summary lefton4ya Official Units 7 November 11th, 2010 01:04 PM
Moltenclaw fig.? NilfheimPwns Official Units 11 July 20th, 2010 09:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.