Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #37  
Old May 27th, 2008, 07:23 PM
its me lol's Avatar
its me lol its me lol is offline
 
Join Date: May 14, 2008
Location: USA - OH - Youngstown (Boardman)
Posts: 258
its me lol is surprisingly tart
Re: A Coward's Reward

I think you are supposed to do it together. The master guide shows an exapmle with zetian guards rolling 2 instead of 1, because of multiple engagements. But in most cases it wont matter.

'Cause nothin' lasts forever
And we both know hearts can change
And it's hard to hold a candle
In the cold November rain
-Axl Rose
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old May 27th, 2008, 07:56 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Re: A Coward's Reward

Quote:
Originally Posted by its me lol View Post
I think you are supposed to do it together. The master guide shows an exapmle with zetian guards rolling 2 instead of 1, because of multiple engagements. But in most cases it wont matter.


I guess it could be interpreted either way, but as I read it, each unit rolls it's die seperately.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old May 27th, 2008, 08:41 PM
MI_Tiger's Avatar
MI_Tiger MI_Tiger is offline
 
Join Date: May 3, 2007
Location: MI - Sterling Heights
Posts: 604
MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby! MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby! MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby! MI_Tiger rolls all skulls baby!
Re: A Coward's Reward

I always played it that each figure rolls separately, but the wording of Sir Dupuis' power made me wonder if that was wrong. It mentioned the possibility of receiving more than 1 wound from a leaving engagement attack and I couldn't think of any way that was possible unless you rolled combined attacks from multiple figures. But this thread reminded me of A Coward's Reward which would allow one figure to inflict 2 wounds.

So, I don't think it is absolutely clear, but I think that my original method was correct and each figure rolls separately. This seems the most "real world" logical, but that isn't always right.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old May 27th, 2008, 09:15 PM
rym's Avatar
rym rym is offline
Who Bummed Woo
 
Join Date: September 9, 2007
Location: TX -Arlington
Posts: 3,025
Blog Entries: 25
rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla rym is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: A Coward's Reward

Quote:
Originally Posted by MI_Tiger View Post
I always played it that each figure rolls separately, but the wording of Sir Dupuis' power made me wonder if that was wrong. It mentioned the possibility of receiving more than 1 wound from a leaving engagement attack and I couldn't think of any way that was possible unless you rolled combined attacks from multiple figures. But this thread reminded me of A Coward's Reward which would allow one figure to inflict 2 wounds.

So, I don't think it is absolutely clear, but I think that my original method was correct and each figure rolls separately. This seems the most "real world" logical, but that isn't always right.
That's how I interpret it, too, MI_Tiger. I think the 'multiplicity' of wounds on Sir Dupuis probably comes from his leaving engagement from more than one opponent at the same time.

"Chewie should move 6, lumbering or not. He's got long-ass legs"-
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old May 27th, 2008, 09:30 PM
its me lol's Avatar
its me lol its me lol is offline
 
Join Date: May 14, 2008
Location: USA - OH - Youngstown (Boardman)
Posts: 258
its me lol is surprisingly tart
Re: A Coward's Reward

This is confusing. Wlould some one asked wizards, or hasbro? (preferably Hasbro, seeing as it was them who wrote the words)

'Cause nothin' lasts forever
And we both know hearts can change
And it's hard to hold a candle
In the cold November rain
-Axl Rose
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old May 27th, 2008, 11:22 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Re: A Coward's Reward

Quote:
Originally Posted by its me lol View Post
This is confusing. Wlould some one asked wizards, or hasbro? (preferably Hasbro, seeing as it was them who wrote the words)
Hasbro isn't involved anymore, so they won't be answering questions.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old May 27th, 2008, 11:27 PM
theGuru's Avatar
theGuru theGuru is offline
It's a large Dagger, not a Small Sword

 
Join Date: June 8, 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 917
Images: 120
Blog Entries: 11
theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: A Coward's Reward

They are individual attacks, but technically rolled at the same time (or one right after another). not sure what on Dupuis' card implies they are a combined attack....

the "one or more wounds" part is because of the power discussed in this thread specifically. Cowards reward allows for an extra die for leaving engagement (thus the 2nd possible wound).

Wizards of the Coast Tabletop Games Designer

Latest FAQs 13.4 (10/6)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old May 27th, 2008, 11:29 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Re: A Coward's Reward

Quote:
Originally Posted by theGuru View Post
They are individual attacks, but technically rolled at the same time (or one right after another). not sure what on Dupuis' card implies they are a combined attack....

the "one or more wounds" part is because of this thread specifically cowards reward allows for an extra die for leaving engagement (thus the 2nd possible wound).
Thank you, Mr. theGuru. No need to ask anyone now.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old May 28th, 2008, 12:09 AM
theGuru's Avatar
theGuru theGuru is offline
It's a large Dagger, not a Small Sword

 
Join Date: June 8, 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 917
Images: 120
Blog Entries: 11
theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla theGuru is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: A Coward's Reward

Always here to help

Wizards of the Coast Tabletop Games Designer

Latest FAQs 13.4 (10/6)
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old May 28th, 2008, 01:04 AM
dragon's Avatar
dragon dragon is offline
 
Join Date: March 13, 2008
Location: Hurst TX
Posts: 20
dragon has disabled reputation
Re: A Coward's Reward

Keep in mind that some units such as Einar Imperium, Cyprien, Reavers, (to name just a few), never take disengagement strikes.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old May 28th, 2008, 07:44 AM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Re: A Coward's Reward

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon View Post
Keep in mind that some units such as Einar Imperium, Cyprien, Reavers, (to name just a few), never take disengagement strikes.
I do try to keep this in mind. It is one of the key personal philosophical underpinnings of my very being, in fact. <grin>
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old May 28th, 2008, 07:54 AM
rdhight's Avatar
rdhight rdhight is offline
Embraces the Suck
 
Join Date: June 1, 2007
Location: crawling through holes.
Posts: 2,678
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 4
rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: A Coward's Reward

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon View Post
Keep in mind that some units such as Einar Imperium, Cyprien, Reavers, (to name just a few), never take disengagement strikes.
'Reavers never take disengagement strikes. Einar Imperium and Cyprien take strikes when walking, but not when flying.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coward's Reward Question dragonfire9788 Official Rules & FAQ's 1 September 26th, 2006 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.