Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2665  
Old November 11th, 2010, 03:45 PM
kpucblek's Avatar
kpucblek kpucblek is offline
 
Join Date: June 3, 2006
Location: USA - CO - Arvada
Posts: 565
kpucblek knows what's in an order marker kpucblek knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

A question about Sharwin Wildborn's Arcane Bolt Special Attack. I've searched the BOOKS for the answer to my question. Still, my son swears by this (He says the guys at the NHSD told him).

First, I know that an engaged figure must attack figure(s) it is engaged with, whether with a Normal Attack or Special Attack.
I also know that a figure like Braxas can use her Acid Breath (which is neither a Normal Attack, or a Special Attack) on figures she is not engaged with even if she is engaged with other figures.

My son swears that Sharwin Wildborn can also attack figures with her Arcane Bolt SA even if she is engaged with OTHER figures. I know the answer is NO. Does anyone know why someone may have told him this?

Thanks!

Always rummaging through garage sale bins, hoping that someone is dumping their kid's Heroscape treasures.
Reply With Quote
  #2666  
Old November 11th, 2010, 03:56 PM
Hogg's Avatar
Hogg Hogg is offline
 
Join Date: September 3, 2006
Location: Midgard - North Carolina
Posts: 3,673
Blog Entries: 1
Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

If engaged, Sharwin has to attack an adjacent figure with her special attack. If she inflicts a wound she may attack a figure that is adjacent to the first attacked figure, but doesn't have to be adjacent to Sharwin.

Similarly, an engaged blue dragon may attack a non-adjacent figure as well as the figure he's engaged with.

That's all I got.

Last edited by Hogg; November 11th, 2010 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2667  
Old November 11th, 2010, 03:58 PM
AliasQTip's Avatar
AliasQTip AliasQTip is offline
 
Join Date: October 17, 2008
Location: USA - MD - Sharpsburg
Posts: 1,249
Images: 194
Blog Entries: 49
AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla AliasQTip is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Um. No she doesn't need to be adjacent. It says "Range 5."


EDIT: Okay, reread the first post. If she's engaged she's gotta attack that figure first.
Reply With Quote
  #2668  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:00 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,843
Images: 176
Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AliasQTip View Post
Um. No she doesn't need to be adjacent. It says "Range 5."


But, if she is engaged, she has to attack the one she is engaged with. Basic attack rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2669  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:00 PM
xraine69's Avatar
xraine69 xraine69 is offline
Scenariographer
 
Join Date: September 6, 2006
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 2,569
Images: 8
Blog Entries: 1
xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpucblek View Post
A question about Sharwin Wildborn's Arcane Bolt Special Attack. I've searched the BOOKS for the answer to my question. Still, my son swears by this (He says the guys at the NHSD told him).

First, I know that an engaged figure must attack figure(s) it is engaged with, whether with a Normal Attack or Special Attack.
I also know that a figure like Braxas can use her Acid Breath (which is neither a Normal Attack, or a Special Attack) on figures she is not engaged with even if she is engaged with other figures.

My son swears that Sharwin Wildborn can also attack figures with her Arcane Bolt SA even if she is engaged with OTHER figures. I know the answer is NO. Does anyone know why someone may have told him this?

Thanks!
It is a special attack, not an ability, so you would have to attack a figure you are engaged to. All the same rules apply, nothing on her card let's her break those rules.

If you are just looking to get into Scape, I have plenty of terrain to get you started!
Reply With Quote
  #2670  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:11 PM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,397
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Actually that is a great question and I don't think AliasQTip, Cav, or Xraine understands it. Say the Sharwin Wildborn is engaged to a hero who is adjacent to squad figure (that is not adjacent to you). Obviously Sharwin must target the engaged hero, but then if after the figure is wounded (but not destroyed), is the Arcane Bolt allowed to choose the squad figure? Technically special attacks are only allowed to target adjacent figures, but like explosion attack or Mimring's fire line, other figures may be attacked in a special attack. So I think Arcane Bolt is like the explosion attacks where other figures may be attacked, as they are not really targeted for attack and still meets the limitation when engaged it means you can only target engaged figures for a normal or special attack.
Reply With Quote
  #2671  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:11 PM
kpucblek's Avatar
kpucblek kpucblek is offline
 
Join Date: June 3, 2006
Location: USA - CO - Arvada
Posts: 565
kpucblek knows what's in an order marker kpucblek knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Yep. That's totally what I was saying. Ok, I just wanted to make sure I wasn't losing it. Thanks.

Always rummaging through garage sale bins, hoping that someone is dumping their kid's Heroscape treasures.
Reply With Quote
  #2672  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:20 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,984
Images: 63
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lefton4ya View Post
Actually that is a great question and I don't think AliasQTip, Cav, or Xraine understands it. Say the Sharwin Wildborn is engaged to a hero who is adjacent to squad figure (that is not adjacent to you). Obviously Sharwin must target the engaged hero, but then if after the figure is wounded (but not destroyed), is the Arcane Bolt allowed to choose the squad figure? Technically special attacks are only allowed to target adjacent figures, but like explosion attack or Mimring's fire line, other figures may be attacked in a special attack. So I think Arcane Bolt is like the explosion attacks where other figures may be attacked, as they are not really targeted for attack and still meets the limitation when engaged it means you can only target engaged figures for a normal or special attack.

I disagree here (bolded above). The wording of the ability says
Quote:
... you may choose a figure that was adjacent to the defending figure at the beginning of that attack and attack that chosen figure with Arcane Bolt Special Attack ...
This puts the continuation to a second (etc.) figure as a separate attack with all the limitations that implies.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #2673  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:29 PM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,397
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

As Hogg pointed out, I think this can apply to Sharwin to be a definitive answer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiteofthedice View Post
The Book of the Blue Wyrmling
_________________________________________________________________
-Rulings and Clarifications-
Q. A Shocking Encounter: Can the Blue Wyrmling use FLEDGLING LIGHTNING SA on an adjacent figure and then choose a non-adjacent figure to be affected by the attack?
A. Yes.
_________________________________________________________________
Although the wording of that power is :
Quote:
Choose a figure to attack. You may also choose one other figure within 3 clear sight spaces of the targeted figure to be affected by Fledgling Lightning Breath Special Attack. Roll attack dice once for both figures. Each figure rolls defense dice separately. Fledgling Lightning Breath Special Attack does not affect destructible objects.
So I could be persuaded this is different for:
Quote:
... you may choose a figure that was adjacent to the defending figure at the beginning of that attack and attack that chosen figure with Arcane Bolt Special Attack ...
But think of the power reasonably. I know it is a game not a simulation, but a "bolt" to me can go through figures and is not restricted by who you are next to only that the bolt must go from person to person starting with the first person the bolt hit. I just assume the designers meant to emulate this so kinda go by the spirit of the power when I am in doubt about minute letter of the rules.

Last edited by lefton4ya; November 11th, 2010 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2674  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:37 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,843
Images: 176
Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Looks like this one should be sent to the Rules Team, but it looks to me like it is just like Nilf, if you are engaged, you have to attack the one you are engaged with, if you attack an engaged unit, but did not destroy it and there are no other engaged units, the attack is over.
Reply With Quote
  #2675  
Old November 11th, 2010, 04:41 PM
xraine69's Avatar
xraine69 xraine69 is offline
Scenariographer
 
Join Date: September 6, 2006
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 2,569
Images: 8
Blog Entries: 1
xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla xraine69 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Ok, I fully understand now. If you attack a hero you are engaged to, but don't destroy it, you can continue to attack another figure adjacent to the hero. The card does say, CHOOSE a figure.

If you are just looking to get into Scape, I have plenty of terrain to get you started!
Reply With Quote
  #2676  
Old November 11th, 2010, 11:47 PM
TartanDoc TartanDoc is offline
 
Join Date: April 25, 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 14
TartanDoc has disabled reputation
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

The crux of the argument, as I see it, is whether the 2nd, etc. affected figures are 'targeted' or not. As I understand the previous rulings of this type, you are able to affect non-adjacent figures if they are not targeted. The wording is a little bit equivocal on this power: It says the 'first target of this attack' implying that each affected figure is a target, and therefore targeted. However, it then says 'choose a figure adjacent to the defending figure and attack that', implying that they are not targeted, and therefore legal. My bias is for option 2, but I suspect this does actually warrant a referral to the rules team.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 11:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.