Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Off-Topic > Other Games > Card Games
Card Games Including 'collectable' card games.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #49  
Old August 28th, 2009, 02:43 AM
nbxfan nbxfan is offline
 
Join Date: February 2, 2007
Location: CA - Anaheim
Posts: 420
nbxfan has disabled reputation
Re: Dominion.

I am a bit confused as to how the game gets setup. I have read the rules but not opened the cards. Waiting to do that at "game night" this weekend. What I don't get is for the Kingdom Cards area, do you litterally put out a stack of 10 of the same card? (unless the garden) This means that the curses don't get used during some games then? It mentions buying curses but, usually that doesn't happen. So, if you buy a curse and put it into your deck, does it affect you or, do you play it on someone else?

We're on the right trail. Flies and the undead go together like bullets and guns.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old August 28th, 2009, 02:49 AM
Drumline3469's Avatar
Drumline3469 Drumline3469 is offline
Assuming the Missionary Position
 
Join Date: June 13, 2006
Location: USA - KS - Wichita
Posts: 4,029
Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbxfan View Post
I am a bit confused as to how the game gets setup. I have read the rules but not opened the cards. Waiting to do that at "game night" this weekend. What I don't get is for the Kingdom Cards area, do you litterally put out a stack of 10 of the same card? (unless the garden) This means that the curses don't get used during some games then? It mentions buying curses but, usually that doesn't happen. So, if you buy a curse and put it into your deck, does it affect you or, do you play it on someone else?

Yes, you will have 10 stacks of 10 cards each. Each stack will be 10 of the exact same card. You will put out victory point cards equal to whatever number it says for the number of players you are playing with. Curse cards effect you. There is really no reason to buy them. Some cards in Intrigue will allow another player to trash one of your cards and purchase a new one for you. That's the only time I've ever seen Curses purchased. Or when I feel like being a jerk and gloating that I can buy curses and still win...


Drumline3469 is Doc Brown...
aboard <<<Oblivion>>> ...
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old August 28th, 2009, 02:51 AM
nbxfan nbxfan is offline
 
Join Date: February 2, 2007
Location: CA - Anaheim
Posts: 420
nbxfan has disabled reputation
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumline3469 View Post

Yes, you will have 10 stacks of 10 cards each. Each stack will be 10 of the exact same card. You will put out victory point cards equal to whatever number it says for the number of players you are playing with. Curse cards effect you. There is really no reason to buy them. Some cards in Intrigue will allow another player to trash one of your cards and purchase a new one for you. That's the only time I've ever seen Curses purchased. Or when I feel like being a jerk and gloating that I can buy curses and still win...
Ok, thanks. I also purchased the promo cards and thought that I was only getting one of each which is why I was confused. Apparently the promo cards come in sets of tens and a randomizer card.

We're on the right trail. Flies and the undead go together like bullets and guns.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old August 28th, 2009, 02:55 AM
Drumline3469's Avatar
Drumline3469 Drumline3469 is offline
Assuming the Missionary Position
 
Join Date: June 13, 2006
Location: USA - KS - Wichita
Posts: 4,029
Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbxfan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drumline3469 View Post

Yes, you will have 10 stacks of 10 cards each. Each stack will be 10 of the exact same card. You will put out victory point cards equal to whatever number it says for the number of players you are playing with. Curse cards effect you. There is really no reason to buy them. Some cards in Intrigue will allow another player to trash one of your cards and purchase a new one for you. That's the only time I've ever seen Curses purchased. Or when I feel like being a jerk and gloating that I can buy curses and still win...
Ok, thanks. I also purchased the promo cards and thought that I was only getting one of each which is why I was confused. Apparently the promo cards come in sets of tens and a randomizer card.
Yep! Let us know if there's anything else we can help you with. Hope you have fun!


Drumline3469 is Doc Brown...
aboard <<<Oblivion>>> ...
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old August 28th, 2009, 03:12 AM
RoninValentina's Avatar
RoninValentina RoninValentina is offline
Advocates Stripping (& Is 47.8% Right)
 
Join Date: October 8, 2007
Location: CA - San Jose
Posts: 2,286
RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Dominion.

Man. I need some down time so I can show Dominion to my friends who haven't played it yet. Maybe during PAX.


- Heroscape is a standing game. -
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old August 30th, 2009, 07:02 AM
nbxfan nbxfan is offline
 
Join Date: February 2, 2007
Location: CA - Anaheim
Posts: 420
nbxfan has disabled reputation
Re: Dominion.

Played our first game tonight. Everyone liked it but we did run into an issue we couldn't find an answer too.

Someone played Throne Room, allowing their next action to be played twice. They then played, I believe it was, Mining Village which has an either this action or that action. One being +1 Card +2 Action or Destroy the card and get +2 money. The player wanted to take +2 money and then another +2 money. The discussion occurred as to if this could be allowed. As the card would be trashed upon the first use, would it be able to be used a second time. Based on the wording we decided that the answer was no. However, no one was overly satisfied if this was done correctly. So looking for what others think. Thanks.

We're on the right trail. Flies and the undead go together like bullets and guns.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old August 30th, 2009, 11:42 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
Monokidnatic
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: MA - West Springfield
Posts: 5,111
Images: 2
Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Jim is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbxfan View Post
Played our first game tonight. Everyone liked it but we did run into an issue we couldn't find an answer too.

Someone played Throne Room, allowing their next action to be played twice. They then played, I believe it was, Mining Village which has an either this action or that action. One being +1 Card +2 Action or Destroy the card and get +2 money. The player wanted to take +2 money and then another +2 money. The discussion occurred as to if this could be allowed. As the card would be trashed upon the first use, would it be able to be used a second time. Based on the wording we decided that the answer was no. However, no one was overly satisfied if this was done correctly. So looking for what others think. Thanks.
I think it would be allowed, because even though the card is trashed, you get to do the next action twice. It doesn't say that you need to still have the card. As says about HeroScape cards, do what the card says, not what it doesn't.

Jim

Don't think of it as being outnumbered. Think of it as having a wide shot selection!
Scaper of the Week #17
How to get to Skyknight's house: Drive to the red light, then call him.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old August 30th, 2009, 02:06 PM
RoninValentina's Avatar
RoninValentina RoninValentina is offline
Advocates Stripping (& Is 47.8% Right)
 
Join Date: October 8, 2007
Location: CA - San Jose
Posts: 2,286
RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Dominion.

Got to introduce Dominion to a couple of my friends yesterday also, and it was a rousing success. Best moment of the three games was counting up victory points at the end of the second game- the player who seemed to be winning through Province purchase announced they had 42 Victory points. I had gone for a Garden VP strategy, and momentarily discovered I had 43 VP thanks to my 4 VP Gardens. I through my hands up in celebration just as the last player announced he had 50 VP. >< He didn't have as many gardens, but his were worth 5 VP apiece, and he had a few Provinces to rely on as well. Was a surprise ending, and a great cap to a good game.

Had a run also were I played something like Market, Village, Smithy, Cellar, Market, Cellar, Village, Cellar, Woodshop, and Mine, I think. Always awesome to go through half your deck in a single turn. Better if you end with a Chancellor, but he wasn't available in that game.


- Heroscape is a standing game. -
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old August 30th, 2009, 02:23 PM
Jexik's Avatar
Jexik Jexik is offline
Et tu, Jaxet?
 
Join Date: July 4, 2007
Location: IL - Elgin
Posts: 6,986
Images: 3
Blog Entries: 30
Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death! Jexik is hot lava death!
Re: Dominion.

Sounds like you need to get Intrigue if you like going through your deck. Great Hall/Nobles/Conspirator decks are pretty hilarious.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fomox View Post
(I've also played many matches with great, fun people who were using Q9. So using Q9 doesn't make you a tool. But being a tool sure seems to make you use Q9.)
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old August 30th, 2009, 02:24 PM
nbxfan nbxfan is offline
 
Join Date: February 2, 2007
Location: CA - Anaheim
Posts: 420
nbxfan has disabled reputation
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
I think it would be allowed, because even though the card is trashed, you get to do the next action twice. It doesn't say that you need to still have the card. As says about HeroScape cards, do what the card says, not what it doesn't.

Jim

That's exactly what I said but, they preferred the other interpretation based on wording from the book. We may have to discuss that further in our group. It stopped the game for 10-15 minutes as we tried to figure out the right thing to do. Technically had he been able to pick up the extra gold, he would have ended up winning a round or two later as he had planned to buy a VP card. That wasn't the contention as it was an after thought when he mentioned why he wanted to do it when we started up again.

Regardless, after reading the next post, winning with 40+ points...I won with a measely 10 points as three stacks of supply cards emptied while only one 6 point VP card had been taken the entire game.

We're on the right trail. Flies and the undead go together like bullets and guns.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old August 30th, 2009, 02:33 PM
RoninValentina's Avatar
RoninValentina RoninValentina is offline
Advocates Stripping (& Is 47.8% Right)
 
Join Date: October 8, 2007
Location: CA - San Jose
Posts: 2,286
RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness RoninValentina wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jexik View Post
Sounds like you need to get Intrigue if you like going through your deck. Great Hall/Nobles/Conspirator decks are pretty hilarious.
Funny you say that. I bought Dominion because Drumline introduced me to the game at GenCon- and he also showed me Intrigue the same night. What'd we run that game? Saboteurs, Theives(Not Intrigue), and a host of expensive cards with only one option for extra actions? It was a painful (though admittedly hilarious) game. So hard to make money, and so easy for your value to be stolen/destroyed. It was terrible! I decided I never wanted my friends to have access to that kind of power.*


* Actually I just couldn't afford both Dominion and the Expansion. I'll get Intrigue eventually, but not before I've squeezed Dominion nearly dry, which will take awhile.


- Heroscape is a standing game. -
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old August 30th, 2009, 03:28 PM
Drumline3469's Avatar
Drumline3469 Drumline3469 is offline
Assuming the Missionary Position
 
Join Date: June 13, 2006
Location: USA - KS - Wichita
Posts: 4,029
Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby! Drumline3469 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Dominion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbxfan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
I think it would be allowed, because even though the card is trashed, you get to do the next action twice. It doesn't say that you need to still have the card. As says about HeroScape cards, do what the card says, not what it doesn't.

Jim

That's exactly what I said but, they preferred the other interpretation based on wording from the book. We may have to discuss that further in our group. It stopped the game for 10-15 minutes as we tried to figure out the right thing to do. Technically had he been able to pick up the extra gold, he would have ended up winning a round or two later as he had planned to buy a VP card. That wasn't the contention as it was an after thought when he mentioned why he wanted to do it when we started up again.

Regardless, after reading the next post, winning with 40+ points...I won with a measely 10 points as three stacks of supply cards emptied while only one 6 point VP card had been taken the entire game.
My copy is in my trunk, but doesn't Throne Room say "The player play an action CARD twice"? It doesn't say take the action twice, it merely says play the card twice, I thought.


Drumline3469 is Doc Brown...
aboard <<<Oblivion>>> ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Off-Topic > Other Games > Card Games
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.