Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #49  
Old November 27th, 2010, 02:19 PM
Temprit's Avatar
Temprit Temprit is offline
 
Join Date: July 14, 2007
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 538
Temprit is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Looking East View Post
That's an interesting question. I think you would be allowed to overextend him.

What I wonder is if you did this same thing with Eldigrim and it was fatal, could you place his spirit or does your opponent get to?

When exactly does your turn you are taking with the enslaved hero end?
Well you Extend at the end of his turn, so I would think it would go to the original player, but maybe there is some hole of time there. I don't know. I was thinking of using Alastair in a team tournament, your teammate takes a turn then overextends then you take a turn with Alastair and overextend. That way, your team takes 4 turns with Alastair.


"Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old November 27th, 2010, 02:21 PM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickles Pickles
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 29,223
Images: 41
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheddarLimbo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hero9510 View Post
Ok, didn't see it so here goes:
I enslave my opponents Finn. I drop him into lava and kill him. The way I read the card, Finn's card reverts back to the original owner and he gets to place Finn. Is this correct or can I suicide him and put Finn on my own card?
It seems that since I never really come into possession of the card I can use it, but if someone has another thought I'd appreciate it.
You only gain temporary control of the figure, so no you do not get to use his Spirit Power.
This was all discussed last page. I'm gonna add an FAQ for this.

C3G Books of Index | C3G Sortable Index

Welcome to C3G | How to Lead a C3G Design | C3G Playtesting Sign Up | C3G Discord Server


Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmBatman View Post
At least you're pretty, though.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old November 27th, 2010, 03:56 PM
Xn F M's Avatar
Xn F M Xn F M is offline
Gets It!!!
 
Join Date: March 9, 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,145
Blog Entries: 7
Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looking East View Post
That's an interesting question. I think you would be allowed to overextend him.

What I wonder is if you did this same thing with Eldigrim and it was fatal, could you place his spirit or does your opponent get to?

When exactly does your turn you are taking with the enslaved hero end?
Well you Extend at the end of his turn, so I would think it would go to the original player, but maybe there is some hole of time there. I don't know. I was thinking of using Alastair in a team tournament, your teammate takes a turn then overextends then you take a turn with Alastair and overextend. That way, your team takes 4 turns with Alastair.
I'm reasonably certain that Overextend is only meant to be used once per round, no matter who controls Alistair. This is really more of a question for the Book of Alistair or Eldgrim though.

I don't need no instructions to know how to rock.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old November 27th, 2010, 04:31 PM
Temprit's Avatar
Temprit Temprit is offline
 
Join Date: July 14, 2007
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 538
Temprit is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xn F M View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looking East View Post
That's an interesting question. I think you would be allowed to overextend him.

What I wonder is if you did this same thing with Eldigrim and it was fatal, could you place his spirit or does your opponent get to?

When exactly does your turn you are taking with the enslaved hero end?
Well you Extend at the end of his turn, so I would think it would go to the original player, but maybe there is some hole of time there. I don't know. I was thinking of using Alastair in a team tournament, your teammate takes a turn then overextends then you take a turn with Alastair and overextend. That way, your team takes 4 turns with Alastair.
I'm reasonably certain that Overextend is only meant to be used once per round, no matter who controls Alistair. This is really more of a question for the Book of Alistair or Eldgrim though.
One more question, How about Enslaving Ulginesh to take a turn with two Elf Wizards you control?


"Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old November 27th, 2010, 04:34 PM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickles Pickles
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 29,223
Images: 41
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

That would mean you would have to draft a Mindflayer and at least 2 Elf Wizards without Ulginesh. If that were the case and you Enslaved him and your Elf Wizards were within 6 spaces of him then I suppose it would work.

C3G Books of Index | C3G Sortable Index

Welcome to C3G | How to Lead a C3G Design | C3G Playtesting Sign Up | C3G Discord Server


Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmBatman View Post
At least you're pretty, though.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old November 27th, 2010, 04:41 PM
Temprit's Avatar
Temprit Temprit is offline
 
Join Date: July 14, 2007
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 538
Temprit is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcglkn View Post
That would mean you would have to draft a Mindflayer and at least 2 Elf Wizards without Ulginesh. If that were the case and you Enslaved him and your Elf Wizards were within 6 spaces of him then I suppose it would work.
This is all with the thought of teams, that way your ally has Ulginesh and elves and then you have elves simply for this combo. It's all theory to get an idea of the Mindflayer's potential. Thanks for the help.


"Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old November 27th, 2010, 04:46 PM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickles Pickles
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 29,223
Images: 41
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcglkn View Post
That would mean you would have to draft a Mindflayer and at least 2 Elf Wizards without Ulginesh. If that were the case and you Enslaved him and your Elf Wizards were within 6 spaces of him then I suppose it would work.
This is all with the thought of teams, that way your ally has Ulginesh and elves and then you have elves simply for this combo. It's all theory to get an idea of the Mindflayer's potential. Thanks for the help.
No problem man, just remember he's only gonna hit his Enslave about 20% of them time so you want a good back up. Maybe both have Ulginesh and only try to Enslave if he dies for one of you?

C3G Books of Index | C3G Sortable Index

Welcome to C3G | How to Lead a C3G Design | C3G Playtesting Sign Up | C3G Discord Server


Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmBatman View Post
At least you're pretty, though.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old November 27th, 2010, 04:52 PM
Temprit's Avatar
Temprit Temprit is offline
 
Join Date: July 14, 2007
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 538
Temprit is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcglkn View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcglkn View Post
That would mean you would have to draft a Mindflayer and at least 2 Elf Wizards without Ulginesh. If that were the case and you Enslaved him and your Elf Wizards were within 6 spaces of him then I suppose it would work.
This is all with the thought of teams, that way your ally has Ulginesh and elves and then you have elves simply for this combo. It's all theory to get an idea of the Mindflayer's potential. Thanks for the help.
No problem man, just remember he's only gonna hit his Enslave about 20% of them time so you want a good back up. Maybe both have Ulginesh and only try to Enslave if he dies for one of you?
Also I've been thinking about how the Mindflayer could be used to take a turn with Sir Hawthorne and cause him to switch sides. Since the ruling for the Vikings is that after the fact the turn goes immediately to the original player, it could cause Hawthorne to go to your side.


"Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old November 30th, 2010, 01:06 AM
Looking East Looking East is offline
 
Join Date: November 5, 2009
Location: Somewhere beneath the stars
Posts: 204
Looking East knows what's in an order marker Looking East knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Ok, so the spirit abillities for the viking champions occurs outside of their turn?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old November 30th, 2010, 02:27 AM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,986
Images: 63
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
Also I've been thinking about how the Mindflayer could be used to take a turn with Sir Hawthorne and cause him to switch sides. Since the ruling for the Vikings is that after the fact the turn goes immediately to the original player, it could cause Hawthorne to go to your side.
No, they would nest and resolve in a last in-first out manner.

Mindflayer takes his turn and then enslaves Sir Hawthorne. In Sir Hawthorne's turn he switches sides (back to the original owner) who takes his turn and then Hawthorne reverts back to the Mindflayer's player. Then the Mindflayer's turn ends and Hawthorne reverts back to the original owner. All you accomplished was to give your opponent a free turn with his own Sir Hawthorne.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old November 30th, 2010, 02:31 AM
Temprit's Avatar
Temprit Temprit is offline
 
Join Date: July 14, 2007
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 538
Temprit is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
Also I've been thinking about how the Mindflayer could be used to take a turn with Sir Hawthorne and cause him to switch sides. Since the ruling for the Vikings is that after the fact the turn goes immediately to the original player, it could cause Hawthorne to go to your side.
No, they would nest and resolve in a last in-first out manner.

Mindflayer takes his turn and then enslaves Sir Hawthorne. In Sir Hawthorne's turn he switches sides (back to the original owner) who takes his turn and then Hawthorne reverts back to the Mindflayer's player. Then the Mindflayer's turn ends and Hawthorne reverts back to the original owner. All you accomplished was to give your opponent a free turn with his own Sir Hawthorne.

~Z
I don't understand. You enslave to take a turn with him. At the end of that turn you roll for Stab in the Back right? If you roll a 1 does control go to them or to you? Also I don't see how your opponent is taking a turn with him after the Enslave turn is over.


"Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old November 30th, 2010, 05:46 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,986
Images: 63
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temprit View Post
I don't understand. You enslave to take a turn with him. At the end of that turn you roll for Stab in the Back right? If you roll a 1 does control go to them or to you? Also I don't see how your opponent is taking a turn with him after the Enslave turn is over.
Sorry, I was thinking of Marcu's Eternal Hatred. After reading the Stab in the Back SA, when you Enslave and take a turn with Sir Hawthorne, at the end you will either roll a one, remove all the OMs, and give Sir Hawthorne's card to your opponent (the original owner) or, on any other roll, control reverts back to your opponent (the original owner). I guess there is a slight possibility of Dund-ing his Sir Hawthorne, but that's the only advantage I see. You don't end up with him either way.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mind Flayer Paradox wriggz HeroScape General Discussion 82 September 27th, 2010 12:59 AM
Mindflayer Mastermind pre-release discussion thread TheSparkleInYourWater Official Units 168 August 4th, 2010 03:32 AM
Hive Mind Validon Official Rules & FAQ's 14 March 29th, 2010 09:50 PM
Red Skull's Mastermind Army! Strange Competitive Armies Discussion 0 October 29th, 2007 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.